We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shaby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mankato City Center Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here during our yearly trip to Mankato to enjoy the fall colors and relive our youth (we both went to college around here). Our usual hotel was full, as was pretty much everything else due to it being "parents" weekend at MSU Mankato. The room was small, but the a/c worked well, the windows opened! (A rare find in a hotel), had a fridge and microwave. It has been updated nicely for a more modern look than the candid photos show- the ones the hotel posted are accurate. Linens smelled faintly of bleach (which makes me happy!) Bed is pretty hard- but I am spoiled by my bed at home, pillows excellent, gave a buy one get one free drinks at the bar coupon, has a continental breakfast with real food, Price was comparable to everything else this weekend- which did seem high at 115 +tax for the size of the room, but when it's this busy its a supply and demand. Staff has been very friendly, love the underground parking. Room was fairly quiet for the number of people I saw wandering the halls... My biggest complaint is a location issue- when the trains go by next to the building and whistle for what seems like 20 mins at 5am it's hard to fall back asleep. (Possibly our fault for the open window too). I would stay here again, no complaints against the hotel at all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess2212b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattie E, General Manager at Mankato City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed here twice in 2 years, always around the same dates in March. My husband and I play in the dart tournament that takes place at the Verizon Civic Center and since this hotel is connected it is quite convenient. The rooms were always fairly clean and the beds have been on the better side of those that we have slept in at hotels. When the hotel is booked to capacity it is quite noisy. The staff have been friendly, but parking is very tight in the parking ramp. The room rates have always been too high for my liking, but I guess you pay for the convenience of being right downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzenga31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Mankato City Center Hotel is a former Holiday Inn. Rooms are small but clean. Stairway smells like a farm yard. We used the conference room which were load when the air system turned on. You could also smell the farm yard when the air moved in the room. Food was excellent. Nice location.

Room Tip: It's an ok Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scot U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The name and the rather high price suggest that the management wants to present the Mankato City Center Hotel as a sophisticated downtown hostelry. Really, now, it's Mankato, and the hotel is a chain motel in just about every respect, from the beds to the tackiest 1970s hallway carpet I've ever seen. Free self-parking isn't in a surface lot but in a ramp under the hotel. The restaurant was closed when I was there, but there was meal service in the bar (dark, noisy, hot; the fish was surprisingly good, though). Breakfast was what breakfast is in chain motels. It's worth taking two minutes to cross the street, both to gaze at the Minnesota River and to visit the tiny Reconciliation Park, the site where 38 Dakota Indians were hanged in 1862 after skirmishes on what was then the frontier.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were in Mankato for the RibFest and Loverboy concert at Vetterstone Amplitheater. We asked for a quiet area of hotel since we are not party people. They put us on top floor (4th). Nice quiet end room that was a king bed. the room was very modern and clean. We were impressed with the updated furniture. They give you a ticket for 2 for 1 in their lounge. The free breakfast in the restaurant was very nice.
Free underground parking in their ramp.
The hotel is in a great location for Ribfest or the concerts at the outdoor VetterStone Amplitheater. There were the Vikings fans, cheerleading practice and a wedding, etc. going on in the hotel, but not a bad crowd. Very good stay. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: This is a great hotel. Ask for which room you want to be in they are accommodating. Pool side, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattie E, General Manager at Mankato City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I hope you will decide to stay with us again next time you are in the Mankato area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came to town to see the fireworks at the Riverfront Park in Mankato. We wanted a hotel close to that attraction. I'm so glad we picked this one. We got the queen suite for a sweet deal as most people camping on the 4th of July. I just asked if we could get a lower rate and the manager on duty was glad to negotiate with me. Amanda was professional and friendly. The room was huge and we loved it! The spa and pool area was large and well maintained. The restaurant and lounge were closed due to the holiday but we knew that in advance and had no trouble finding places to eat downtown. The cleanliness of the room was adequate, not excellent. Small details make the difference, The room attendants could be paying more attention to those details like drips on chair legs spots on the walls, dirt behind the toilet...For that reason, I will give my rating a 4 rather than a 5. Breakfast was OK, the usual continental fare. Overall, great stay!

Room Tip: We loved our queen suite Room 301!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyLynn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Styaed here for a wedding weekend. Very disappointed in value for the price. Having stayed in a variety of hotels over time I was intersted to see what kind of place this was for the money. I was very disappointed! Teh continental breakfast was something that I would normally see at a low end hotel with do it yourself waffles, milk, juice, small mini donuts, tiny danish pieces and oranges for the only fruit. The syrup for the waffles was empty and it took over 5 min. for ther staff to bring another bottle ( not in a dispener but full bottle) once told of it (this happened an hour before the end of it).
Had our 1 free drink in the bar (buy one and get one), ordered chips and cheese to snack on the chips were stale!
The decor of the room seemed dark and dated. Pool was nice but more on the order of an older Holiday Inn (which it used to be ).
Front desk staff was friendly which was the best part of the whole stay!

I would stay at one of the other hotels in the city nex time, which for about the same price, I heard was much better!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mankato hotels
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mankato Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mankato
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mankato City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mankato City Center Hotel

Address: 101 E Main St, Mankato, MN 56001-3502 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Price Range: $84 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mankato City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mankato City Center Hotel has a rich history in the downtown community and is the perfect choice when visiting Greater Mankato. Our award-winning Mankato hotel and its staff is committed to your total satisfaction. The Mankato City Center Hotel in Downtown Mankato has a large banquet & meeting facility with seating for up to 500 guests. Our hotel also features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and exhibit space, with the ability to accommodate up to six separate meeting rooms. Within our Mankato Hotel, guests will find the 101 Main Restaurant, a locally-owned restaurant. Also visit the Blazer Lounge, which offers a full bar with 30 varieties of beer and a fine selection of wines. Our hotel in Mankato has 150 sleeping rooms featuring complimentary high speed Internet. We also offer a business center in the lobby and complimentary City-Side continental breakfast available every morning. The indoor recreation area features a large swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center with a wide variety of exercise equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mankato City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mankato City Hotel Mankato
Holiday Inn Mankato
Mankato Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing