We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Applewood Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applewood Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Aberdeen, SD
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Decent buffet but not really worth the drive it took for us to find the place. The fresh cut fruit was on the verge of spoiling. The fruit salad was very good. The only choices for hot vegetables were corn and mashed potatoes. There was a pasta dish which I think was Broccoli Alfredo, but the sauce was all on the top, so if you weren't one of the first ones to get the pasta, the sauce was gone. Service was a little slow. Very good sherbet for dessert, but no choice of flavor. It would be a nice place for a banquet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phrogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I met here for brunch. We'd never been before and were not disappointed. The buffet was old-fashioned, American cuisine, which included ribs, fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and a variety of salad options. Everything was very reasonably priced and was a great location for a family get-together. There is also a bar, though we didn't try it on that particular day. The staff was friendly, and the interior was clean and nicely decorated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericanRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good meal , good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wife and I ate there last night and I thought it was just fine.......I had the fishermans platter and the scallops/shrimp and walleye were cooked perfectly......Fairly prompt service , although place was fairly quiet as we ate early......Waitress was prompt and pleasant. Wife had buffet and she was happy with what she ate. Place is in a nice country setting and was clean. I used the restroom on way out to wash my hands and it was clean...Its not 5 star , but what 5 star has a buffet??? It was what its supposed to be...decent food and a very good value.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walleyeWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DON'T LET HARRY MUSSER PAY FOR YOUR BUFFET!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

DON'T LET HARRY MUSSER PAY FOR YOUR BUFFET! Trust me its not free, you will be repaying him for the rest of your life! Any time you go any where else with him and get the tab, he will bring up the time he bought you the meal at his parents restaurant! I've bought him over 100 free meals because of that one time he payed for my meal at applewood! !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great quiet place to enjoy a good meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is located in the country side just outside of town - beautiful surroundings and the food is outstanding. The buffet is well worth the visit - and if you want something more, check out their great menu, everything at a very reasonable price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applewood Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing