We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, better than average food. ”

Bonfire Wood Fire Cooking
Reserve with OpenTable
Bonfire Wood Fire Cooking is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 144 Restaurants in Mankato
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good service, better than average food. ”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We ordered four apps as our meal, and our son ordered a steak. All were very good. Server Meaghan was great. Ambiance was something less than formal, but more than shorts. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank scodougle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    24
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flavorful food, we would definitely go back!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Comfortable atmosphere, friendly staff & management, excellent food--must try a dish with their chicken, it's so tender!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria43286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some good items, but limited menu, not a lot of options...”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been there numerous times... They have some good food items. Great ribs, delicious side items... Some great apps (bull bites are amazing). However, the prices are high for the food you get. they seem to think they are upscale but it really isn't. They also have some management issues which leads to poor services. For example the last time we went we were told we had a 25 minute wait and it seemed fairly busy but not overly.. We then noticed several groups of 3 or 4 being seated and we figured maybe because they had tables more that size while waiting for a smaller table for the 2 of us. However when we were finally seated we were led to a section that had 5 empty booths. This is just an example of the type of weird service you get there. Add high prices to a limited menu and it is reason for me to not go back there and I wouldn't advise it to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purplemania56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't go on a weekend unless you want the buffet!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We decided to try the Bonfire for a quick, early Sunday lunch. Got there at around 11:30 and there were quite a few people there already. Come to find out, they have a brunch on Saturdays and Sundays, which we were not interested in having, but still decided to stay and try out their menu. Not a huge variety, but good enough for lunch. I had the combo lunch of a salad and personal pizza and my husband had the combo lunch of soup and 1/2 prime rib sandwich with a side of fries. It took quite a long time for our food to come and once it did, my pizza was just luke warm...salad was just salad, what can you say about salad! My husband liked the soup and the sandwich was OK...didn't like all the "stuff" that was on it. The server was attentive at first, but as it got busier, we seen her less and less. Atmosphere was great though. Very warm and inviting. Would still go back and give it another try during the week when there is no buffet going on. We are not buffet fans.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooterpieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small menu limited choices”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great service but not much variety on the menu. The atmosphere seems a little dull as well. The prices are average. Okay if you don't feel like going out in your car as its attached to the Country Inn and Suites.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly7832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonfire Wood Fire Cooking also viewed

 

Been to Bonfire Wood Fire Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing