We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Courtyard Mankato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Mankato
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Van Horne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

You can definitely tell this was a new hotel. We decided to stop in Mankato, on our random road trip this summer. The GPS was leading us to Fairfield Inn, but I decided to stop at Courtyard instead. It was a little tricky getting to the place, I had to drive around a shopping mall, going on a hunch (I'm sure there was an easier way, but I went by "sight"). I think this is the first time we stayed in a NEW hotel. The rooms were very nice, comfy beds, roomy bathroom... The kids loved that we were just a couple doors down from the pool and spent a good amount of time there. It was SO nice to sleep in a room where you couldn't here all the comings and goings of other guests, as well. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Mankato901, General Manager at Courtyard Mankato, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Michelle B,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott on your recent visit to Mankato, MN. Our hotel is not even 11 months old and just as everyone likes a new car, I'm glad to hear you liked the new hotel! Compared to a traditional Courtyard we expanded the pool and whirlpool area and upgraded our outdoor area for more soft seating and green space. We are very family friendly and love children here. Please tell your friends and family to consider our Hotel if needing lodging in the area.

Enjoy the rest of summer!

Preston Lougheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    40
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
94
29
9
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

As a business leader, we use hotels all the time. We were all very impressed with the level of detail the hotel staff exemplified. The friendly and professional service, the food, the facilities and the flexibility were all excellent. And the outdoor area impressed our clients with the water feature, fireplace and well appointed furniture. We will be using the Marriott a lot more. Tim

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Mankato901, General Manager at Courtyard Mankato, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Tim S.

Courtyard is a hotel brand built by business travelers for business travelers and were excited to hear that our facility met and exceeded your expectations. Our outdoor Courtyard is the only of its kind in the Greater Mankato area and I pleased you and your clients enjoyed yourselves in that space.

Thank you for choosing our hotel!

Preston Lougheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here in May of this year for 2 of my best friends wedding. We live outside of Mankato a few miles, but still always choose to stay in a hotel for weddings. This is by far the nicest hotel in Mankato, brand new. We have stayed at other Courtyard's before and this is no different. Excellent clean room, nice decor, beatiful bar and lobby. The only complaint I can think of is from the bride and groom, not from me. If you are thinking of having a wedding here, be sure and be frank with the bar staff!!!! Promised the couple 2 kegs of Busch Light and then 2 kegs of an imported beer, I can't remember the name.. the 4 kegs were paid for bu they didn't have taps for the other beer. Then they told the couple they would swap out another 2 kegs of Busch Light in exchange, even though busch light was WAY less expensive. Also they wouldn't serve wedding guests until the bride and groom arrived at the reception...?! and made the GROOM go to the BACK OF THE LINE at the bar at the reception! I was shocked! He PAID for it! I am hoping that due to the newness of this hotel and ballroom they were just learning and taking things easy, but I know they were very dissapointed in that. But from me, again the hotel stay was great and I reccomend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Mankato901, Sales & Events Manager at Courtyard Mankato, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear dreay,

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. We always value feedback from our guests whether staying in our hotel or attending an event in our Event Center. I was not aware of the issues stated, I will certainly look into these issues and make sure they never happen again. This is certainly not Marriott Standard. We strive to make sure that we achieve excellent service, and unfortunately we may have fell short in that area. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
I am glad you enjoyed the wedding you attended and we hope to see you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Rachel Mattison
Sales & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our frequent travels to see family members brought us to Mankato and we again enjoyed the service and atmosphere at this property. We stayed in an upper room this time and enjoyed the modern decor and the clean facilities. The room was well-appointed and the front desk staff were friendly and called us by name several times during our check-in.

We did not eat a meal here and the only sub-standard event during the stay involved the Starbucks staff who had some difficulty creating a regular coffee with steamed skim milk. After several failed attempts, my wife finally received her coffee and off we went. We will always stay at this property, it is the very best in this community!

Room Tip: We love the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Mankato901, General Manager at Courtyard Mankato, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear GOmaha,

Anytime a guest stays a second or more nights at any hotel it is a strong indicator that they enjoyed their previous stay. All of our associates really appreciate your repeat business and look forward to having you as our guest again and again.

We have had some turnover in our Baristas and I can ensure you we are learning and getting better every day and do appreciate feedback we get from our guest to improve your Starbucks experience.

Thanks for your feedback and your business!

Preston Lougheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Lake, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at the Mankato Courtyard by Marriott in Mankato, MN last weekend for a wedding reception that was at the hotel. We had a double queen room. The hotel room was very nice and modern in this new hotel. The staff was friendly and fun. Beds were comfortable and clean. Glad that there was a small refrigerator and coffee maker in our room. Will definately stay again. Walking distance to the Mankato shopping mall.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the courthyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Mankato901, General Manager at Courtyard Mankato, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jo C,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and also glad you could attend the wedding we had on site here in our Event Center. All of our rooms do have refrigerator, microwaves and a coffee maker so other readers that read your review will now know this.

Thanks for the review and for staying at our hotel!

Preston Lougheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just spent the weekend here for a swim meet - excellent hotel and highly recommend it! As noted in prior reviews, it's very new, modern, clean and quiet and night (even during a busy weekend with many swim families & a wedding!). The staff is quite professional, friendly and accommodating. Inner courtyard with fire pit and lots of comfy furniture was great - we could also keep an eye on the kids in the indoor pool from there. Made-to-order breakfast food was delicious. We had the one-bedroom suite which was very spacious and beds were comfortable. The only minor complaint we have is that the fire pit was malfunctioning all night, which created an unpleasant gas smell after a while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRSAPPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Mankato901, General Manager at Courtyard Mankato, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear KRSAPPLE,

We very much enjoyed having the swimmers and their families stay with us!

In regards to the fire pit, someone had unfortunately threw something into the fire pit which melted over the burner which resulted in the flame going on and off. We have since fixed the problem.

Myself and the entire staff really appreciate your business and hope to see you next year

Preston Lougheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ended up staying in Mankato after a concert. We arrived later in the evening, fronk desk staff was very friendly and welcoming as we checked in.
Our room was on the third floor towards the end of the hallway (away from elevator.) Room was nice, had fridge, microwave, small couch which was very comfortable, and quickly cooled down. Bathroom was very roomy with a nice glass shower. Bed was okay, a little hard for us, but we are picky.
This was just a quick trip for us so we didn't check out the pool or restaurant. Location seems to be great, plus it's next to the mall (Although we didn't get a chance to check that out on this trip.)
We will definately stay again on future trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewls74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_Mankato901, General Manager at Courtyard Mankato, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear jewls74,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel online with other visitors that use Trip Advisor and thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear everything went well during your stay, our beds are brand new so they are a little firmer than most hotels.

Our Bistro which is our in house restaurant is very delicious and affordable so I would recommend giving that a try next time you stay with us. If you are a coffee drinker we do Proudly Serve Starbucks coffee 24 hours a day.

Travel safe and thanks for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott!

Preston Lougheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mankato hotels
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mankato Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mankato
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mankato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Mankato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Mankato

Property: Courtyard Mankato
Address: 901 Raintree Rd, Mankato, MN 56001-6934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Mankato 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mankato's newest and Minnesota's first LEED certified hotel, the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel & Event Center welcomes you. We are conveniently located off of hwy 14, next to Scheels All Sports at River Hills Mall. We are within minutes of the Verizon Wireless Center, Minnesota State University Mankato, Mt. Kato, and many other great places. Our 93 deluxe hotel rooms have pillow-top Serta mattresses, refrigerator, microwave and 32" flat screen TV's, with 100 HD channels featuring Direct TV. We offer free wired and wireless internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Located in our comfortable and spacious lobby we have our Bistro Restaurant & Bar, where you can EAT, DRINK, and CONNECT. It is open for breakfast and 5-10pm for dinner. We proudly serve STARBUCK'S COFFEE 24hrs a day for your convenience. After a long day you can relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool. Grab a drink and hang out by the fire pit located in our enhanced courtyard. In our 24hr workout facility we feature Life Fitness equipment, with flat screen TV's on each machine also with Direct TV. Our Event Center is prefect for weddings, small events and meetings. Our Event Center can accommodate up to 400 people, and can be divided into 4 smaller sections to accommodate your group. Whether you're in town for business, leisure, an event, or just want to get away for a night. Call and make a reservation today, our professional and friendly staff would love to help you enjoy your stay in Mankato, Minnesota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Mankato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing