We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and hospitality”
Review of Olives

Olives
Ranked #2 of 144 Restaurants in Mankato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and hospitality”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We love going to Olives. We live in Mankato, thus it is a popular choice with us. The food is always excellent. The staff are inviting, cordial, and helpful. We have been there for Sun. brunch, weekday lunch, and weekend 8 PM drinks and snacks. Each time has been great. Also planned a major event (class reunion) at this sight and was an excellent experience.
MH

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KandM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    62
    19
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the better restaurants in Mankato”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have had nothing but very good meals there. The Sunday breakfast is quite good. the lunch buffer is interesting and fresh.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaBHO43286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge Center MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Olives is a true find! The food is amazing, the staff are fun to talk to, it felt like we were meeting family every night for dinner. And you must try the Schwarma pizza!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlucas04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
“the food is amazing!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stopped here on the way back from the twin cities. We were looking for something different and we sure did find it!

The food was fantastic. I ordered the caramelized onion and feta pizza and it really was the best thing I have ever eaten. The onions were so sweet and the feta cheese had the tart contrast that was absolutely marvelous.

I've never felt the need to compliment the chef, but I did so today! My only regret was it is far from my home so I cannot go there anytime I want.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phoenixqv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at Olives for lunch on our way to the Twin Cities. Since we only ate the lunch buffet our review is only based upon that. Our server was very friendly and the ambiance is nice. The buffet had an assortment of middle eastern items, with maybe a few Mediterrean options. Overall the food was just ok, some items were delicious and flavorful, but other items were cold, or a bit bland. And several dishes were over salted. But, due to the great reviews, intersting menu and service we would definitely eat here again, but would order off the menu next time. If you are looking for an excellent Middle Eastern buffet, Sanaa's in Sioux Falls is the best!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationqueen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing