We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed twice, won't be a third time” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shooting Star Casino & Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahnomen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shooting Star Casino & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mahnomen
winnipeg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“stayed twice, won't be a third time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

On this trip we were there to use a coupon we received in the mail for a free room, having spent a lot of money there before I guess. We were only staying for one night as we were just passing through on our way home from Minneapolis so we did not upgrade the room when asked. Boy were we sorry we didn't! The room turned out to be in basement-type area with very loud door slamming all around us. At around 2 in the morning our neighbor came home turned on his t.v. and coughed for at least an hour which we could hear because of adjoining doors.
To be fair we were here in a jacuzzi suite the last trip which was pretty nice so of course the free room would be a let-down. However even in the jacuzzi suite I had a problem where the bathroom tiles were so slippery I had a very bad fall and cut my leg which ruined the trip.
In regards to food, we noticed the quality of the buffet has gone downhill over the last couple of years, seems to be chock full of carbohydrates (potatoes, rice, noodles, stuffing) and not a whole lot else. In general the whole establishment seems ready for a refurb so won't be back again until we hear it has improved.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsrtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    43
    32
    34
See reviews for
33
61
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

Our Family from Australia was visiting us in Winnipeg.They had been here in 2006,and we all went down to the shooting star for a few days.They wanted to go again this year as they had enjoyed it so much before.My Husband and I have been club members for many years.As usual the rooms were great,as was the service in all areas, and the food in all dining rooms.We all had a fun visit and congratulate you on your consistant good service.My Husband and I will be back again soon.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieWinnipegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

Booked this hotel by calling the property directly. Upon checking in, the desk clerk told us we could get a $20/night discount by going to the casino and signing up for the Star Rewards card. This apparently is used in the cascino for gambling. After getting settled in the room, went to the cascino floor, found the rewards area and received the Star Rewards card. Showing this to the hotel desk clerk immediately gave us $20 off per night. Nice!. I was surprised that the hotel did not have Wi-Fi access. The room was quiet and the beds were good. Great fireworks on the Fourth!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

We've stayed at a few Minnesota, Wisconsin and Michigan casinos and seeing that this one was way up in Northwestern MInnesota, we weren't expecting a lot. We pack up a couple of motorcycles for a long Memorial Day weekend motorcycle trip and headed up to Mahnomen, MN from the Twin Cities, it was about a 5 hour or so drive.

We stayed 2 nights and had a great time. The casino property is huge and very nice. The rooms were average casino rooms and the restaurants were average to above average. The casino was very nice and each of us did our share of winning, with 2 of four coming home winners and 2 coming home breaking even or losing some. The casino bars were top notch and great help with the main bar being sunken and a stage on top of it with the tables and bar booths situated on stadium type levels looking at the stage and bar. It was really fun.

I recommend this casino to anyone thinking of going. You'll have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Briansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2005

Loved the progressive train slots. Hotel was immaculate, service was excellent. Will go back soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2004

We really enjoyed our 2 day stay a couple of weeks ago.We are looking forward to going again.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shooting Star Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Casino & Hotel

Property: Shooting Star Casino & Hotel
Address: 777 SE Casino Rd, Mahnomen, MN 56557-5014
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mahnomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mahnomen
Number of rooms: 380
Also Known As:
Shooting Star Casino And Hotel
Shooting Star Hotel Mahnomen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing