We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel used to be Top Notch ....WHAT HAPPENED...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahnomen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shooting Star Casino & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mahnomen
canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This Hotel used to be Top Notch ....WHAT HAPPENED...”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Shooting Star for gambling and golf for many years and have always enjoyed it so much...but this time...we were so disappointed...What happened to the courteous. friendly staff...they were few and far between.... we so appreciated the ones that went out of their way to help us....Thankyou

The Whispering Wind . again. was chaotic and the wait for meals was really too long... as was evident with most people who were waiting with us....Perhaps there is trouble with staffing etc..but we were down in the Spring and there has been no improvement...used to be a bustling . busy , friendly place....Most staff tried so hard but quess there just wasn't enough of them....?????

Our room was in better condition ( vacuumed rugs and clean bathroom ) BUT the beds were just horrible..The sheets still had a smell to them...hope it wasn't perfume from someone else...did NOT look or feel clean at all.. No sleep for sure.....UGH...

There still is Good Things ......The hotel lobby looks fabulous with it's gift shop and pool area and lovely furniture in select areas to rest ....kept clean ..

We appreciated the price of rooms and use of coupons ..But that is not enough to get us back....
.
This Hotel needs some serious updates , mostly to the rooms and BEDS and BEDDING and cleanliness on the whole....Please..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank go2beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    45
    34
    37
See reviews for
36
63
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The second desk clerk gave us a better room price. Our room appeared dark and old, yet clean. It was on the 3rd floor and quite some distance from the casino. The mattress definitely needed replacing! The casino, itself, was large with many unfamiliar new games. I was quite impressed with the size of the non-smoking room. It appeared that the pool was quite large and nice and the gift shop was neat and attractive. The parking was adequate. The RV park looked to be well laid-out.

Room Tip: Hopefully, if you have come to play... your room can be a bit closer than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 325Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Shooting Star Casino for the one and only time. Stayed in a ground floor room in the annex. Carpet was dirty. Beds were way too soft and needed replacing. Left in a.m. and realized we both had bites on our ankles - I am sure they had bugs!!!!!
Check in was a nightmare! One clerk and about 10 people waiting in line to check in!
Food in the restaurant was so terrible, neither of us could finish our meal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Wanda1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahnomen hotels

Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to the Shooting Star Hotel & Casino in August and were surprised at what a large property it was. We had read some of the unsatisfactory reviews so were a little leery of what we'd find. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. Our room in the Stardust bldg was spacious with 2 beds, non smoking. We were next to the walkway to the main bldg. We had the lunch and the supper buffets & found them to be excellent in quality & price. The band was good... Our only complaint was that the slots weren't in our favor that night. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've been to this casino a few times over the years. This trip was similar to most. We had the $30 mid-week room special and were happy with the room and the bed. The room was clean and the bed was small (twin) but comfortable.
My brother and I went for a late supper on our arrival night. The waiter was very friendly, took our order and said he was going on his break and pointed out the girl taking over for him. We had a lot to talk about and weren't in a hurry so didn't complain that they were very slow delivering our meal. We joked that the original waiter would be back before we got our order and that's what happened. When he found out he immediately got our orders which came out hot. He apologized and offered us each a free drink. They later came by to say there would be no charge for the meal. It was nice not to have to be the squeeky wheel and complain to be compensated for their mistake.
Our only complaint was loud neighbours in the middle of the night who seemed to have friends drop by for a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Dismissive, curt, unfriendly, not helpful, the check-in experience was beyond comprehension!!! Do they always ignore white people?? Or just ALL people? The room walls, floor and ceiling are far from soundproof. NOT worth $109. After the checkin, I am hesitant about staying here at all. Do they spit on your sheets??

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is pretty nice. It has a wonderful gift shop with many Native American items. My room was clean and quiet. I missed the rush when I checked in and out, but I walked by later and saw huge lines for those things. The buffet was average. We were on the third floor, and we took the elevator up. We got off, turned to the left, and then had to go down a flight of stairs. We had a hard time with our luggage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shooting Star Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Casino & Hotel

Property: Shooting Star Casino & Hotel
Address: 777 SE Casino Rd, Mahnomen, MN 56557-5014
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mahnomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mahnomen
Number of rooms: 380
Also Known As:
Shooting Star Hotel Mahnomen
Shooting Star Casino And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing