We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice relaxing break”
Review of Quarry Walk Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarry Walk Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
doncaster
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice relaxing break”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

we went here to relax for a few days. Stayed in the fox lodge, which was lovely, our party consisted of me hubby, daughter, boyfriend and 12 year old son. oh and not forgetting the dog. The cabin was plenty big enough. We walked the dog daily, walks were lovely, then we tended to go back to cabin and chill in hot tub, which was lovely.
Can't say my son was impressed with having no wifi or phone signal ;-/ but we were glad to get away from all of that.
A let down if i was to mention would be the lack of cooking utensils, if you were to cook a big meal we would of struggled with pans etc.
But over all had a great relaxing time with the family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiaDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    118
    36
    16
    27
See reviews for
136
199
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Literally got back from our weekend break at Quarry Walk. What a stunning place. My husband and our 6year old thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in a badger plus cabin. First impressions when we arrived was 10 out of 10. Staff we're very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness was second to none . The open plan living was great and the hot tub well what a luxury. We used as often as we could. The only downside (not for me may I add) was the wifi, to be honest what do you expect when you're in the middle of nowhere. Don't hesitate just book if you want a relaxing stress free break then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise23607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night break at Quarry Walk lodges (we stayed in badger+). It really is a great location for a peaceful, relaxing and romantic break. The lodge was immaculately presented and had everything we needed for a luxury stay. The hot tub was fantastic and a perfect way to spend an evening with a glass off fizz! We did have a bit of a problem with the controls of the tub though, it tended to have a mind of its own in terms of switching on and off, we also couldn't get the underwater lights to work on our final evening but still a fantastic touch of luxury- we certainly made the most out of it. The cabin was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Definitely 10/10 and we will certainly be back!
One slight complaint - the wifi was terrible as expected due to the location so how about making it FREE rather than £3 per day when it doesn't work anyway?
You will not be disappointed if you stay here, it really has everything you need for a relaxing break (apart from the wifi)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

we stayed in squirrel 43 and it was just perfect, very quiet and secluded, very clean and very friendly staff, although all the lodges were occupied we did see or hear anyone which made it very relaxing, the hot tub made it a lovely experience being able to jump in when ever we wanted, with everything you could possible need in the lodge even a washer, couldnt ask for more, will be booking again thats for sure !!

Room Tip: choose squirrel they are more secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have just got back from an enjoyable and relaxing stay in the Woodpecker lodge. The log cabin was cute and cosy, with the hot tub being a perfect way to help us unwind for a couple of days away. The surrounding environment was also relaxing - very quiet and peaceful. The staff were also really friendly and helpful.

Although we had a pleasant stay, we do feel that the cabin could have been a little cleaner. While we could tell the cabin had been tidied and cleaned ready for our arrival, it appeared that it had only been done half-heartedly. The place smelt of dog, as we do not have pets at home we found this quite uncomfortable at times. We presumed this must have been from previous guests who brought their dog along (as our cabin was "pets allowed"), later, we noticed a couple of dog biscuits under the sofa which confirmed this. Also, we found a bottle of half used Durex lube under the bed which must have also been left from the previous guests. We did see the funny side of this and just threw it in the bin, but we could see that other guests may not have seen the funny side to this...

Despite this, we do feel that the holiday was definitely worth the value for money and we had such a lovely 3 nights away. We just suggest that if you stay here you go in not expecting it to be absolutely immaculate! And perhaps request a cabin that is strictly no pets allowed if you are allergic to animals. (Please note that the bathroom and kitchen were very clean and hygienic... it just seemed that the place had not had a thorough clean and some things had been missed/swept to one side).

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sinae92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed in FOX55 Lodge which was wonderful. Very clean and as usual had everything you needed to have a relaxing week.
Arrived on 24th Jan 2014 until 30th.
Everything and everyone there was wonderful and Phil continues to do a sterling job.

Our third visit and we will be back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnaroadshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

stayed in September last year absolutely loved our stay so much have booked again for February so peaceful hot tub was amazing. everything you need, stayed in badger plus not overlooked by anyone. perfect if you are going to alton towers as only a 10 min drive. if you want an amazing getaway then look no further as this is the place to go.thank you quarry walk lodges.

Room Tip: go for badger plus or fox lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freehay
1.6 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
20.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,126 reviews
11.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
3.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Walk Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Walk Lodges

Property: Quarry Walk Lodges
Address: Coppice Lane, Freehay, Cheadle ST10 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle > Freehay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Freehay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For self-catering accommodation near Alton Towers, the Peak District, our lodges are set in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the Staffordshire Moorlands. Quarry Walk with its luxurious new Log Cabins each with there own Hot Tub is the ideal base to take a break with the family or for the romantic getaway to stay in a cabin complete with a four poster bed. This quiet, secluded area of woodland, grass and heather has a variety of woodland trails within its 46-acre boundary allowing you to fully appreciate the surrounding scenery and is home to an abundance of wildlife including rabbits, squirrels, woodpeckers, badgers and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Quarry Walk Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarry Walk Hotel Cheadle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing