We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to camp & close to Alton Towers”
Review of Quarry Walk Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quarry Walk Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose to camp at Quarry Walk as it was only four miles from Alton Towers. We were very glad that we stayed here. We were lucky that there were other young families staying and so in the evenings our kids had other kids to play with.

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The facilities were kept clean and tidy with working showers!!!

As we camped I cannot comment on the lodges but would definately recommend camping here and will do so again when we visit Alton Towers next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippingMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 487 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We chose Quarry Walk Lodges expecting a relaxing break in lovely surroundings. Our first impression was that the site was drab and unattractive, we were there on one of the hottest and sunniest weeks of the year but the patio area was gloomy throughout - we had to sit almost in the road to get some sun! The outside seating was wooden picnic bench - uncomfortable to say the least ... Luckily we took our own garden chairs - otherwise sitting in the sun would have been impossible!

Although we expected no mobile reception in lodge - we did not expect the electronic barrier to be locked from midnight to 8am! We could not get phone signal even at the reception area (orange and virgin mobile) In fact we had to drive about 1-2 miles before we got a signal. This concerned us because in the event of an emergency we had no method of telephoning for help (since we could not get the car through the barrier after midnight) there was no public call box on site. My partner was unwell during our holiday which brought home the feeling of total isolation. We left early for this reason.

On the plus side the interior of the lodge was OK and the staff were very good and helpful. The hot tub was clean and well maintained.

On the whole a disappointing experience - we will not return!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank AnnGrace43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Rant, Manager at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you liked the lodge but were sorry to hear about your concerns. We have wardens/managers on 24 hours a day in case of emergencies who live on site so there would have been no issue if you had to get anywhere. Sorry you missed out on the sun but we are situated in woods as advertised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked in for Badger Plus cabin no 47. We were bitterly disappointed of the location of the cabin. Instead of 'nestling amongst woodland trails...'' etc etc no 47 was at the end of a one way system surrounded by dusty roads, a high ditch wall covered with brambles at the rear, we were overlooked on the balcony at the front where the hot tub is, cars rolling past, dust coming through the fence, people playing and walking past on the other side of the fence. The advert implied peace and quiet..Admittedly this was in the Easter period and the fauna was not at it s best but roads do not move nor does the cabin's location. I booked through Hoseasons, luckily I did as although I complained immediately the Manager refused to hold themselves responsible. Hoseasons did. Saying that the cabins themselves are delighful, spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Insist on a cabin with the hot tub on the outer edges of the park, Insist on seeing a site plan. Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angelaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent a week here with my other half sue to the proximity to alton towers. The cabins are excellent i can not recommend them highly enough. The are a great size and ideal for a weekend away. They r located deep in a forest which is great you get peace and quiet and even no phone signal which was an added bonus. WIFI is avaliable but at a cost, its by no means quick but its does for checking emails etc.
Love this place and am heading back again for a week in spetember

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Guy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a good place to go away from it all. It is a bit secluded so it is best to have a car to get there and also to get to the local attractions which are all a drive away. The lodges are all really well maintained. Even the water in the hot tubs is drained and refilled between occupants; what you expect, but it was nice to watch them actually doing it as we left.

A lot of the lodges are screened by the trees and its deep location, so don't expect to lie in the sun on the decking when the sun does actually shine.

Room Tip: Ask about WiFi availability - we had none. Also ask for a cabin in the sun if you want that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a amazing place super friendly staff, superb accommodation, word can not describe how good this place is, back yesterday booked for October today I have stay in a number of the autograph lodges and this is the best

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an excellent place. Good value for money. Very romantic. Accommodation in the lodges is really impressive and very well stocked. Lovely few bits to welcome you.

The hot tub is a real bonus and added to the holiday.

The one down point was the wifi which we paid for and was hit and miss. But only a minor point.

Really recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rokardphu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freehay
4.4 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
3.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Cross Inn
The Cross Inn
#2 of 2 in Cauldon Low
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
0.6 mi away
Raddle Inn Log Cabins
3.1 mi away
Enchanted Village Lodges, Alton Towers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Walk Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Walk Lodges

Address: Coppice Lane, Freehay, Cheadle ST10 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle > Freehay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Freehay
Price Range: $81 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For self-catering accommodation near Alton Towers, the Peak District, our lodges are set in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the Staffordshire Moorlands. Quarry Walk with its luxurious new Log Cabins each with there own Hot Tub is the ideal base to take a break with the family or for the romantic getaway to stay in a cabin complete with a four poster bed. This quiet, secluded area of woodland, grass and heather has a variety of woodland trails within its 46-acre boundary allowing you to fully appreciate the surrounding scenery and is home to an abundance of wildlife including rabbits, squirrels, woodpeckers, badgers and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, PitchUp, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quarry Walk Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarry Walk Hotel Cheadle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing