We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Weekend. will definatitely be going back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarry Walk Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarry Walk Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Weekend. will definatitely be going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and i stay here for valentines weekend (14-17th).
when we arrievd the lady on reception was very helpful & said a man would be down in a little while to show us how everything worked which he did no problem. explained the hotub, the heating and advised of the complimentry tea coffee & milk.

the lodge its self (Squirrel #50) was gorgeous. fully kitted kitchen (inc utensils, dishwasher tablets bin liners & washing up liquid) the sofas were really comfy, the tv and dvd player were great. there was no phone signal which was great...but also don't bother getting wifi as the signal just didn't work (we got it because we had out laptop and was going to watch love film) but we'd taken lots of dvds.

the hotub was a great size and cleaned daily. (although i didnt go in due to being pregnant but hubs loved it), bathroom had towel (which i didnt think there would be as states bring your own). the lodge was clean, warm (underfloor heating was delightful) and bed was really comfy.

we are planning to go back again next year for my birthday as think the set up would be great for baby as the hottub is right next to the only entrance in and out so very safe.

there is cheadle near by for supplies (2 super markets) and uttoxter a little bit further out.

we went to blackbrook zoological park which was a nice trip out :)

(follow them on FB and they seem offer late deals)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrstwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    106
    29
    16
    23
See reviews for
124
183
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dudley,westmidlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from a 4 night break at badger (30) 4. The cabin was lovely, very welcoming.
When we got there the woman on the reception Showed us where to go and said a man would be at the cabin very shortly to show us how to use the hot tub and anything we weren't sure of inside I.e heating.
The hot tub was great although I couldn't use it much as I'm pregnant but the other we were with loved it it was cleaned every day in the morning without fail.
The kitchen bathroom living area, bedroom were brill, spacious, they even left us, a carton of milk, tea and coffee to get us started.
Towels and bed linen was provided.
The beds were a bit firm but nothing major.
I couldn't sleep very well because where our bedroom was there was a generator or heater directly behind which kept coming on and off and woke me up! But my husband who was in the same room didn't find it a problem! Probably just the pregnancy!
We went into stoke one of days which was about 25 mins away and had a large shopping centre the potteries, and cheadle which is a lovely little village with a few shops, morrisons Asda weatherspoons and nik nail shops!
Overall was a brill log cabin hot run was very private nobody around you could see you in it! Facilities are good and staff very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was my 2nd visit and on my first had highlighted problems with the Squirrel 45 which I was assured would be repaired and on my next visit I would be in an alternative lodge. On arrival I discovered that I was in the same lodge with the same faulty TV, broken blind, jets were blocked in the hot tub causing noise. Q came to see us and was great at trying to resolve the problem but could fix the hot tub and tried to get us in an upgraded lodge which was STUNNING! When we visited reception to ask about the upgrade they did not seem all that bothered that they couldn't upgrade us it was a simple no its not available. The park is nice and quite but Squirel 45 is POORLY laid out the TV is basically in the kitchen and cant be properly viewed from the living area and the hot tub has no canapy to shelter you from the rain unlike many of the other cabins. we had one 3 seater sofa to accomodate 4 people sharing?? I would stay here again but definately not in a squirel cabin and I was quoted over £600 for a better cabin for 3 nights ?? I dont feel that is any where near value for money

Room Tip: Not a squirel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with hubby and 3 kids in Feb mon-fri. stayed in fox 22. Other than the odd cobweb it was clean and plush. Got snowed in and it was great, just went out for treks with kids and made use of hot tub. Cheadle is a few mins away and has supermarkets and shops so no big deal if you run out of things. Guy who checks hot tub each day was very friendly and helpful. A small kids play park on site but my kids age 7, 10 and 12 too old. We took xbox and ipad so kids were entertained even in bad weather. complimentry tea, coffee and milk left along with washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets. Will be going back at some point as was a bargain compaired with centre parcs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanna83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a romantic valentines weekend stay and all we can say is....WOW!!!
We stayed in Badger 32 which was actually labelled as a pet friendly cabin but you would never have known. The whole place was immaculately clean, fresh smelling, warm and toasty and had everything you could have possibly needed for your stay. Tv's in Lounge area and in both bedrooms, All kitchen utensils including dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, complimentary beverages and even a carton of milk in the fridge. Could not have asked for a more pleasant welcome experience.

Upon arrival, we were given our key and remotes and shown where our cabin was. True to their word, someone was down within 10 minutes to show us how everything worked and the to do's and not to do's. The welcome pack was a godsend (including the local takeaway and restaurant information) Perfect location for all ages and groups with plenty of attractions locally to keep you entertained.

All i can say to anyone wanting to come here is....do! Thanks to Quarry Walk lodges, my valentines treat for the GF went down a treat and i cant recommend it enough :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkiSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Rant, Manager at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that is was everything you hoped for and more.So pleased your welcome pack went down well and we do like the photos of the lodge you took. Hope to see you again in the future sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from staying in the owl garden over valentines week. Absolutely outstanding place to stay.

It was definitely 5*!! The cabin was clean and tidy on arrival and the hot tub was amazing!!

To top our holiday off my partner proposed to me by the hot tub! Couldn't of asked for a better place for this to happen.

It's definitely a place to go just to relax and be away from everything! And our cabin was right at the bac away from everyone, even better :))

Only downfall we had was the wi fi, we paid for it but the server kept going down, but they refunded our money straight away!

Snow was amazing, sitting in the hot tub with white all around us!!

We can't wait to book again as we enjoyed it that much!! Very highly recommended :)!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megzz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from our 5th year to Quarry Walk. Having previously stayed in Woodpecker twice and Fox lodge twice we decided to try Badger! We stayed in Badger 30 Monday to Friday and it was our best stay yet! Valentines day was absolutely perfect! Snow on the Wednesday made it even more amazing! Q and Phil were as lovely as we remembered from last year! In the last few mins we have just booked to come back in November! The hardest part was trying to decide which cabin to stay in! Ignore all the bad reviews on this site...its peaceful and secluded and the hot tub is more than clean..it sparkles! Cant wait to return for our 6th time! Rachel and Craig....26 Manchester X

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach4298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Rant, Manager at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review , we are glad you had a great time and that we shall be seeing you again, you never know we may be able to book some snow for you in November !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freehay
12.5 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
20.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Walk Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Walk Lodges

Property: Quarry Walk Lodges
Address: Coppice Lane, Freehay, Cheadle ST10 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle > Freehay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Freehay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For self-catering accommodation near Alton Towers, the Peak District, our lodges are set in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the Staffordshire Moorlands. Quarry Walk with its luxurious new Log Cabins each with there own Hot Tub is the ideal base to take a break with the family or for the romantic getaway to stay in a cabin complete with a four poster bed. This quiet, secluded area of woodland, grass and heather has a variety of woodland trails within its 46-acre boundary allowing you to fully appreciate the surrounding scenery and is home to an abundance of wildlife including rabbits, squirrels, woodpeckers, badgers and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quarry Walk Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarry Walk Hotel Cheadle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing