We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot tub nights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarry Walk Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarry Walk Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hot tub nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the quarry walk lodges,We just wanted a nice place to chill out as a nice pre xmas break.We booked the badger lodge 32 as we were taking our dog with us.This place is well hidden,So thank god for the sat nav luckily it took us straight there no problems.The check in was a doddle,Remember you have to leave £10 deposit for the remote controls.The cabin was the middle one of 3 and very spacious,Everything you would want is here T.V,DVD player,washer/dryer which was a bit tempremental as the dryer would be a bit hit and miss as times.Cooker,microwave,toaster and all utensils are here along with pans,plates ect so you really don`t need to bring anything like that with you.A lovely big corner sofa really comfy to watch the odd DVD.The bed was a little on the small side for me but didn`t affect me having a good nights sleep,Probably something do do with the wine my wife and i were drinking in that fabulous hot tub every night.Our dog loved the walk round the quarry just up the road from the lodges.Anyone wanting Alton towers it is not far so would be ideal for that.Many places of intrerest a short drive away.Just a slight niggle about the screenings between the lodges not been fantastic,As you could see your neighbours through them which affected our privacy a little.But it hasn`t stopped us booking a return trip next september for a week this time,So we will be able to explore a bit more next time.Everyone we spoke to was so friendly and it has a nice feel to the park.Anyone wanting a nice park with nice log cabbins and hot tubs to die for look no further than quarry walk lodges.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisfrumtarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    107
    29
    16
    24
See reviews for
124
185
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked 4 nights at the Quarry Walk Lodges to coincide with the Alton Towers Fireworks at the beginning of November.

Check in was efficient where we were given our keys, TV remote and directions to our lodge. We paid £10.00 cash deposit which was returned to us when checking out.

Our family of 2ad/2ch stayed in a Squirrel cabin with one double and one twin room. The lodge was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed and more. Electrical appliances included a small flat screen TV, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. Glassware, pottery & eating utensils were all matching and clean.

We did move the furniture around slightly to make it more beneficial for our family which also allowed us to appreciate the woodland view.

Within 30 minutes of our arrival, a member of staff visited to check that everything was ok. We were then instructed on how to use the hot tub which was kept to a constant temperature of 38 degrees. It was very cold during our visit and the warmth of the hot tub was very welcoming. Our hot tub was not undercover but it was at the back of the lodge and very private.

Being cold during our visit, the warmth of the lodges were excellent with temperature controls in both bedrooms and the lounge area.

The only downside to mention in relation to the Quarry Walk Lodges, are that you can only check in from 4pm. As a family travelling some distance it would be appreciated if check-in could be earlier, allowing us time to unpack and prepare for our first evening. Because of the time of year, it would also have been nice to see some of our surroundings before darkness set in.

There is a play area within the site that the children used and enjoyed one afternoon.

WIFI is available at a charge. Please note that due to the location a phone signal may be difficult.

The location is remote with no signs until you arrive at the lodges. Do a little map homework online before you go as this may help with directions.

We booked well in advance and managed to get a reasonable price for this accommodation. Looking at next year the rates are more. At other times of the year they can be over double what we paid. Unfortunately we have already booked elsewhere for a trip to the same area in 2013. Tip: To get the best rates, check direct with Hoseasons and direct with Quarry Walk Lodge as both seem to offer different rates.

We planned and took many food provisions with us. If you need groceries though, Cheadle is within 5 miles where there are two leading supermarkets and plenty of take away’s.

Our family enjoyed this holiday accommodation and everything it had to offer. Thank you to Quarry Walk Lodge for giving us some wonderful family memories.

Room Tip: Tips: To get the best rates, check direct with Hoseasons and direct with Quarry Walk Lodge as both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaicalightning, Manager at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
So pleased your whole family had a wonderful experience here and hope to see you again sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I often read lots of reviews on tripadvisor, but I have never written a review myself. However my stay at Quarry Walk has prompted me to make sure everyone is aware of how fantastic this place is.

I had booked my stay at Quarry walk for my husband and I's honeymoon. We arrived on Monday and were greeted very happily by a lovely recptionist. She explained everythign very clearly and said that somebody would be down to our lodge to explain the hot tub. Sure enough half an hour later we were greeted byt he same woman who made the instructions very simple to follow.

The lodge itself was beautiful! We stayed at Woodpecker 44. It was so clean and cosy we never wanted to leave! I had even sent some confetti and banners to the park to put up for us to welcome us on our honeymoon and they had done this no problem. The confetti was on the tables and the bed and the banner above the hot tub. it was such a lovely touch to our honeymoon.

Although the location fo park isn't brilliant if you'd rather walk to towns/villages, it is the perfect location for a drive to lots of very pretty rural towns. the near by town of Cheadle was a great resource for supermarket shopping and a quick coffee.

The nearby Raddle Inn, was by far the best country pub I have been to. The meals were delicious and the atmosphere so quaint! The steak and ale pie was massive but sooooo tasty!

The hot tub was by far the best asset to the lodge. We spent hours and hours in there each night! Overall our expereince was so good that we are inviting family with us next year. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaicalightning, Manager at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Glad you had a great honeymoon and hope to see you on all your future anniversaries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in a Fox lodge (6) during the October break. carpets had just been cleaned. place was very clean, excellent facilities and well maintained. excellent that hot tub and picnic table were just outside in the large covered porch area. Had a problem with the boiler that was fixed straight away, staff very helpful. accidently left item in lodge when we left. we were phoned re this and item was posted to us with no hassle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just got back from quarry walk, 2 adults, 2 kids. Stayed in badger + lodge and we couldn't believe the quality of the lodge. Everything about it deserves full marks, and the icing on the cake....... waking up in the morning and jumping in the hot tub. We're all looking forward to going back, and will be recommending to friends and family .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is our second stay at Quarry Walk. We again stayed in the woodpecker lodge which is a one bedroom for 2 people. Very clean and warm as always. This time we tried the wifi too, it's not that fast and can be on and off however it was only £10 for 7 days so for what we paid for it it was fine and kept us in touch with the outside world as there is no phone signal. Quarry Walk is the perfect place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mu55in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We absolutely loved it! We went for 3 nights and stayed in a badger plus lodge (no.27) which was only a month old. It had everything we needed including comfy beds, lovely showers and the amazing hot tub which lit up and u could plug your iPhone in to play music. It was very clean and was presented very well upon arrival! It was a little pricey at £550 for 3 nights but split 4 ways wasn't too bad. I'm sure we will be returning! Make sure u take plenty of towels as the heated towel rails didn't get very hot so we struggled to dry our towels but that was our only complaint!

Room Tip: Badger plus is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freehay
12.5 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
20.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Walk Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Walk Lodges

Property: Quarry Walk Lodges
Address: Coppice Lane, Freehay, Cheadle ST10 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle > Freehay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Freehay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For self-catering accommodation near Alton Towers, the Peak District, our lodges are set in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the Staffordshire Moorlands. Quarry Walk with its luxurious new Log Cabins each with there own Hot Tub is the ideal base to take a break with the family or for the romantic getaway to stay in a cabin complete with a four poster bed. This quiet, secluded area of woodland, grass and heather has a variety of woodland trails within its 46-acre boundary allowing you to fully appreciate the surrounding scenery and is home to an abundance of wildlife including rabbits, squirrels, woodpeckers, badgers and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quarry Walk Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarry Walk Hotel Cheadle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing