We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quarry Walk fab, can't fault it”
Review of Quarry Walk Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarry Walk Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Quarry Walk fab, can't fault it”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband, mother-in-law, 4yr old son and 9mth old daughter stayed for 3nights fri-mon. We were in Owl lodge for first night then Badger Plus for 2 nights [our choice] and we had a fantastic time, cannot fault the accomodation, staff or location, in particular Zoe in Reception and Phil Assistant Manager, the Managers Angela and Andrew were also very nice too. Hot tubs clean and checked daily and lush!! Good play area for the children too. Our only point would be a cafe of some type would have been nice on site but local pubs easy to get to and not far from park. Overall great stay and will definately go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samnjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    118
    36
    16
    27
See reviews for
136
199
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

me and my partner and son stayed in the owl 1 lodge which we were the second people to use this lodge.the lodge was very nice clean and fresh.it was a beautiful lodge made from canadian wood that we loved staying in.the kitchen had all the amenities even foil on the bakin trays in the oven ready to use.you just need to take a spare bin bag for the bin but everything else was there for us to use.the bedrooms were very nice with tellys on the wall to watch a dvd even stick ur ipod in.beds were so comfatable with extra fluffy pillows.my son had his own room and the choice of 2 beds which he found amusing being only 3.there was plenty of towels for us to use and half way though the week we were given clean towels even though we had been washing the other ones and clean bedding was put on for us.hotub was amazing with different types of bubbles an changing colour lights it is lovely to chill in at night with the woods literally right beside you!its a breath of fresh air.our arrival was very swift and we went to our lodge and within half hour a man came to show us how to use the hotub and he came bk most days to check chemicals in the hotub and give it a clean.when coming out of the hotub the lodge has underfloor heating so your feet are not wet for long!.we went to the monkey forest during our stay which my son liked but beware the monkeys roam free around you and ul be hearing arrrh every now and again from ppl cuing at the babies.we also went to the raddle in for food which was nice and of big portions!.overall a very nice stay here me and my partner have agreed that we had the best lodge because we was so close to the woods and enjoyed every minite.would recommend this to anyone wanting apeaceful time away.staff were friendly and helpful to.the picture of the lodge is the one we stayed in.

Room Tip: best lodge for 4 ppl owl lodge 1...sun in garden, private,woods next to hotub.we were second ppl to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxy3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom squirrel lodge. It was situated in beautiful surroundings surrounded by trees and countryside. The lodge was well equipped and very comfortable. Clean towels were provided as well as washing up clothes and dish towels. We also had a hot tub and barbeque. The staff were extremely friendly and the chap was round within five minutes of our arrival to show us the workings of the hot tub. Alton towers was 10 minutes away by car. Beds were extremely comfortable and came away feeling very refreshed after a very peaceful stay. Would highly recommend this campsite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona_haggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just back from staying in Fox Lodge 2 for a week. Stayed with family - two kids aged 10 and 13 so the seperate bedrooms were ideal. Check in was swift and very straight forward, lodge was easy to find and staff member appeared within half an hour to show us around the lodge and the safety and workings of the hot tub.
The site was always quiet , a great place to unwind, perfect location for Alton Towers and exploring the sights of Staffordshire.
Relaxing in the hot tub every evening was fantastic, our daughter loved it.
We hope to return again soon. Many thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addij1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaicalightning, Owner at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thanks for your comments, we appreciate feedback, maybe try one of our winter breaks at christmas or half term, glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We camped here end of June originally booking 2 nights to go to Alton Towers (8 mins away) but enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra 2. We stayed in tent field 2 and due to it being during the week we were the only one's in this field (which was perfect) and a handful of others spread out in the other fields - note: fields 6 & 7 were quite out of the way from anything. The facilities were very good, showers and toilets cleaned daily and plenty of hot water (very hot!) which is rare! Though we didn't have any children with us the play area looked great, log cabins looked fab. Staff were very friendly and helpful apart from the guy who decided to come and mow our field whilst we were sat outside the tent enjoying the sun whilst we realise he has a job to do there really is no need to mow quite literally a foot around us, not even making any conversation or eye contact. The lady on reception gave us a great recommendation for a scenic picnic area along side the river in Alton called Dimmingsdale which also has a delightful cafe called The Ramblers Retreat. Would also highly recommend Dovedale Valley near Ashbourne, it's great for kids as there's lovely shallow river with a large grassed area to sit and watch the world go by or for the more adventurous (than us) plenty of walks around too. Was a little disappointed with The Queens as not quite was you'd expect looking from the outside, very small and modern inside we didn't eat here but did have a peek at what people were eating and the chips were clearly bought in frozen, not what you'd expect from the prices displayed. Can highly recommend the Raddle Inn for food and drink, it's what we would call a "proper country pub" though can imagine it does get very busy in high season. All in all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately be going again next year.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank claires79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaicalightning, Owner at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Thankyou for your comments , I will pass them onto the team, and I will mention your comment to the groundsman regarding cutting the grass so close to yourselves for the future. We hope to see you again in the future, perhaps for a romantic winter break in one of our lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

A group of friends & myself stayed here for three nights in two 'Fox Lodge 6 Cabins'. The check in process was efficient and a member of staff came to visit us instantly to show us how the hot tub worked. We were all very impressed with the modern cabins. They were both very clean & had all the utilities that you could need for a self-catering accommodation i.e dish washer, microwave, kettle, toaster, huge fridge freezer & BBQ. There was a bathroom and ensuite shower room, plus adequate wardrobe & storage space in the bedrooms. We all loved the hot tub - the best thing about these cabins!
The close proximity to Alton Towers was ideal, which is one of the reasons why we picked this property. We were also close to other destinations that we wanted to visit on our trip.
We had read some negative reviews on here before we travelled, which concerned us, however we did not experience any rude staff, they all seemed pleasant. Despite the fact that we were a large group of eleven ladies, and it was mainly couples and families here, we respected the peace & quiet of the property, as requested by the staff at check in and experienced no problems from the staff here.
I would definately recommend Quarry Walk, staying in the cabins, as we all really enjoyed the peaceful setting, closeness to Alton Towers and the fantastic facilities in the cabin itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natashawalker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaicalightning, Owner at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in Badger cabin 4 from 20th June-24th June and could not fault a thing apart from the lack of dvd player in the lounge, as a family of 6 we wanted a chill out day in the hot tub then watch a dvd and were most disappointed that we weren't able to do this. The accomodation was the best I have ever experienced anywhere before and the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Our hot tub was cleaned and filled daily and Andrew and Angela were most helpful in our enquiries about how long the children should stay in and at what temperature. We had no phone signal as we were quite far down the park but we actually found this added to our relaxing break as we werent at the beck and call of people back at home. The welcome pack in the lodge was very helpful and we used the local takeaway from Cheadle and ate out at the Raddle Inn twice which we also highly reccommend. We will defo be returning again and my parents have just booked for a week in September. Ignore the negative reviews and try for yourself, you wont be disappointed. Thank you Andrew, Angela and staff for giving us a holiday we wont forget. :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoskinhouse166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaicalightning, Owner at Quarry Walk Lodges, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freehay
1.6 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
20.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,128 reviews
11.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
3.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Walk Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Walk Lodges

Property: Quarry Walk Lodges
Address: Coppice Lane, Freehay, Cheadle ST10 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle > Freehay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Freehay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For self-catering accommodation near Alton Towers, the Peak District, our lodges are set in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the Staffordshire Moorlands. Quarry Walk with its luxurious new Log Cabins each with there own Hot Tub is the ideal base to take a break with the family or for the romantic getaway to stay in a cabin complete with a four poster bed. This quiet, secluded area of woodland, grass and heather has a variety of woodland trails within its 46-acre boundary allowing you to fully appreciate the surrounding scenery and is home to an abundance of wildlife including rabbits, squirrels, woodpeckers, badgers and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Quarry Walk Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarry Walk Hotel Cheadle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing