We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid avoid avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Elia
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“avoid avoid avoid”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Would I be upset when I knew we need to hire a car and drive 30minutes from the port to this hotel ? probably not;
Would I be upset when I realise we had to leave the lovely town centre to the hotel which was actually in the mid of nowhere? probably not;
Would I be upset when we learnt the so called free SPA treatment was one hour's use of the indoor pools? ok, I was still not;
Would I be upset when I saw our room, which is even worse than a budget b&b? I was a little bit.

They only have two terribly designed swimming pool (with sea water!), with kids running around...one of the worst bar I've ever experienced by the swimming pool btw.

Basically the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere (you need to exist the hotel to go to the "hotel beach"). I was so surprised how they could even find such a rough place to build this hotel on an island so lovely. You definitely need a car to anywhere, even for a drink or a proper meal, or you have to stay in the hotel and have a small piece of steak with 30euro. But don't forget, if you drive, you can't drink. So what would be the point to go to Mykonos...

btw, the rooms were sooooo old.

Room Tip: All of our rooms are terribly designed and old
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Vivdo,

Thank you for sharing online your recent experience at the Myconian Imperial Resort. Your feedback is very important and valuable to us. We read your comments with great concern and disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you with the pleasant and memorable holiday experience you were seeking when choosing our resort.

As advertised, the Myconian Imperial resort, is a place of relaxation and a romantic retreat located 8 klm from Mykonos Town, normally 15 to 20 minutes drive just above Elia beach, the longest blue flagged beach on the island.

On a complimentary basis, we provide daily on almost hourly base shuttle bus service to Mykonos Town for those that wish to enjoy and visit the center of the island. The resort is located among 4 more sister luxurious hotels where a number of entertainment and gastronomic options are available.

The thallasotherappy treatment included in your rate is a unique program offering curative effects of mineral enriched seawater; the session takes you through 4 pools each with a different temperature and salinity content. The program is recommended for frequent use and is very beneficial for joints, back problems, arthritis, osteoporosis, water retention or for sheer indulgence and relaxation.

We have also taken under serious consideration your comments about the design and the architecture of the room s interior and the bar and pools area.
We are sorry that the location, the available facilities, hotel's infrastructure and the free spa treatment did not meet your expectations.

We truly hope that this first impression will not deter you from allowing us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and providing the high level hospitality experience that the Myconian Collection resorts are re known.

Kind Regards,
Markos Daktylides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    147
    48
    9
    17
See reviews for
110
434
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed for 7 days at the Myconian. I was a little worried before arriving as some of the reviews I had were not too flattering but I was amazed! On arrival, we had a nice pick up at the airport and the checkin process was quick and simple. The hotel is just beautiful, simple clean rooms ( mine had a small balcony with a beautiful view) and the pools are awesome! I spent quite a bit of time at the pool where there was an awesome girl named Dimetria who took great care of us each day by keeping the water and mythos flowing and even teaching us a new Greek phrase each day! The only restaurant that we ate at was the pool side restaurant, a good international section and we enjoyed all the food we tried (Andreas was helpful and friendly everyday!). Each evening we took the shuttle into Mykonos town. It was convenient and easy, maybe a 20-30 min ride but it worked out excellent for us! The only thing I would change about the Myconian is to offer beverage service on their beach. It was a nice clean beach with lots of loungers but it would have been better with a cold Mythos available! I will definitely stay at Myconian again on my next visit to Mykonos!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AliMM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is situated on Elia beach, geared towards families and those who do not wish to leave the facilities, like senior citizens. The hotel is 30 minutes by shuttle to Mykonos Town, but is not accessible to Paradise Beach where all of the bars and clubs are unless you would like to pay 25 euros one way. The hotel itself is also not a 5 star hotel as advertised. The beds are extremely uncomfortable, you can feel the matress springs and wake up with backpain. A bottle of water at this resort is $4.50 US and a roll of sushi is $30, so be prepared for the ultimate tourist trap, as there is no where else to eat around the hotel and the only other option is the 30 minute shuttle ride to Mykonos town. Also, the electricity keeps going on and off. I lost water when showering twice. The maids also start to clean at 9am, so if you like to sleep in go elsewhere as they are extremely noisy while cleaning. This is an overpriced tourist trap in my opinion. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julib168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear julib168,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Myconian Imperial Resort.
We were very concerned to know your disappointment regarding the various aspects of your stay.

Although we offered alternative accommodation at our sister luxurious property near Mykonos Town, and various other solutions we are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations.
This is definitely not the holiday experience we want to provide to our guest and not in line with our standards.

All your comments have been taken on board and corrective actions have been taken on the various issues raised by your review.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back and alter this negative experience.

Kind Regards
Markos Daktylides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I would only recommend this hotel if you plan on staying there or going to Mykonos town. The hotel is located at Elia beach which is beautiful but the shuttle bus they offer is only once per hour (6pm-12pm, they also offer one at 9am and 2pm) which makes it somewhat difficult to get around and VERY difficult to get to other beaches. You basically have to take bus to Mykonos town and then another bus to where you want to go because cabs are sparse on the island and are very expensive. It takes about 25 minutes to get to Mykonos town and sometimes the bus makes unannounced stops, like at the airport or to pick up a friend/employee of the bus driver/hotel.

There is a 'water taxi" but it only operates from 1-5 and it is totally dependent on weather and water conditions, even if the water looks calm, it may not be calm further out and we had to bribe the boat captain to take us (ended up paying 3x what it normally costs).

I will say, the hotel itself is BEAUTIFUL and the breakfast buffet is very nice, they even have omelettes, however the restaurant for lunch/dinner is very expensive. Also, if you book the rate with the Thalasso water therapy treatment, you can only use it between 2 and 3pm which is ridiculous. We did it one day and it's only OK, I would never pay 25 euros for it.

There is a small fridge in the room and they offer you some Greek cookies and wine when you check in. The customer service was very good, I was signing a rental lease and emailed the lease to them and asked them to print and deliver to my room and it was done no problem, so that was very nice.

Overall very nice hotel but just nothing else going on at Elia beach (2 crummy restaurants, check TA reviews) so unless you want a very secluded vacation, don't stay here.

Room Tip: The normal rooms have great views of the ocean. The private pool/jacuzzi pools are not worth it as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nchristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Nchristo,

Thank you for the time spent to post this review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very valuable and important to us in order to improve and excel our services and facilities. We are deeply concerned and disappointed to read that you the location of the hotel and the various transportation services were not meeting your expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide an overall memorable experience as you wished specially regarding the operations of the complimentary spa treatment.

All your comments are passed across the board and corrective action have been taken.
We hope that we will have another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back again and alter any unpleasant memories created at this visit.

Kind Regards,
Markos Daktylides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We came here after spending a few nights in their sister hotel in Mykonos town because we wanted to try another part of the island, its a little secluded but nice and quiet which is what we wanted and the hotel arranged a hire car for us so we could explore the area more which was very helpful.
We were welcomed by extremely friendly and helpful staff and shown to our room after a quick tour of the facilities. Our room was a corner room and had beautiful views over the pools and to the sea, we had a nice little terrace too. They cleaned our room twice a day which was really nice as our room was always spotless! The only bad thing about the room was the aircon directly over the head of the bed which was a little annoying but we got used to it, the bed was also not very comfortable for a 5 star.
There are two restaurants for dinner, one sushi restaurant (which we didnt try) and one other with Greek and international food which we tried once, They had a great wine list, the food was very tasty and the service was 10/10. During the day there is a restaurant by the pool which also had great service (especially from the Australian waiter) and the food was delicious, I would recommend the burger and the chicken salad there!
They have a nice private beach where you can get snacks and drinks from (although no menu which was annoying) and the pools are really beautiful especially the warmer spa pool at sunset! Breakfast was also great you can order omelettes and each day they had delicious fresh strawberry or orange juice.
I would have to say that the staff here were by far the most helpful and friendly we have ever experienced, nothing was too much for them and everybody was always smiling and happy :)
The little shop in the foyer also had some great swimsuits and the lady there was super helpful! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a sea view, the ones below us didn't have such a nice view. Might wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTBUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We spend 5 nights at the Myconian Imperial Hotel and from the moment we got there to the moment we left we were treated so kingly and warmly. I never write reviews and I stay at a lot of hotels and have worked in the business myself but this place deserves one. I have never had better customer service than here. Always eager to help in anyway they can. Each and everyone of their staff members was truly a pleasure. The front desk staff, the wait staff, the spa- All of them. We came with our 2 and half year old son and within days most of the staff knew him by name and greeted warmly every time. Don't hesitate. Book!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elanafg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our Honeymoon and even though I rated it 3 stars, the grounds the hotel is on is 5 stars. The hotel is considered a Leading Hotel of the world and from the location we can see why. Complimentary shuttle service to town, which is about 20 minutes away is a big plus. Elia beach is only a few steps away. Now as far as the opportunities the rooms are a bit out dated. Service could be much better the staff is over worked. The same staff is usually at the hotel from night and day and this reflects in their awareness of service needs. Food at the pool bar could take a while.

Room Tip: Hotel has about 5 properties connected to it, do your research on all before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myconiancollection, General Manager at Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Dusko T,

Thank you for sharing online your experience at the Myconian Imperial Resort. Your kind comments are welcomed and appreciated.

Thank you for highlighting various areas that you feel we need further improvement.
Your points have been passed across the management board and will be taken under serious consideration.

On behalf of the entire team I wish to thank you for choosing the Myconian Imperial Resort and I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Markos Daktylides
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elia
0.1 mi away
Royal Myconian Resort & Thalasso Spa Center
0.1 mi away
Myconian Villa Collection
2.8 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Myconian Utopia Relais & Chateaux Resort
3.1 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#3 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre

Property: Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre
Address: Elia 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Elia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Elia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Elia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Myconian Imperial Hotel & Thalasso Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myconian Imperial Hotel And Thalasso Centre
Myconian Imperial Hotel Thalasso Centre
Myconian Imperial Mykonos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing