We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed, remove the word Royal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Myconian Resort & Thalasso Spa Center
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Elia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I arrived on Mykonos for a two night stay from the 19th August 2013, On first impressions we found the hotel miles from the main town, we were transported on a hotel bus that clearly needs its front end repaired, every corner on the tight roads was a load creak or bang.

On arriving in the hotel the foyer lobby looked exceptional, a 5 star appearance. That is were the five star finished.

We were escorted to our room which over looked the swimming pool, once in the room we immediately sat down on the outside chairs to admire our view, what a nice shock to find both cushions full of water, a call was made to the reception to have the cushions replaced, this never happened.

After that debacle we decided to go out to the pool and relax and maybe have a swim, well its a nice area, if you can get out of the wind, if you need a towel you need to go to the Thalasso Spa reception to collect one. Every towel must be returned to the spa area or you get charged 10 Euros.

On trying the pool we found the water temperature ridiculously cold, apparently 21 degrees is suitable, No its to cold with the wind blowing. We only saw three people swim in our stay there.
Of course the access to the pool is of concern also as the slotted grate around the pool has gaps as wide a 200mm around the pool where the grates are broken.

On our second attempt to access the towels on our second day we were told no towels were available and to return in 30 minutes, when looking around the pool we noticed several people sitting or using up to 4 towels each,

As the outdoor pool was too cold to use we tried the indoor pool and spa, of course we were then told to pay and additional 15 euros each to use this area. Once inside we asked to use the swim jets that was attached to the indoor pool, our answer was given that its too noisy and we need to keep the ambient noise down as the ladies having massages need quite. We accepted this answer and continued to use the pool to find the area was available for all the resorts children to run freely through the area making as much noise as they wished, so much for quite ambience. Apparently each child also paid 15 euros extra, of course they didnt, no one policed the area.

To breakfast, learn how to make tea please, it is made with boiling water not lukewarm water. furthermore your head person in charge of breakfast needs to learn customer service skills, it is not appropriate to walk around the room at 10.20am and tell all your guests to hurry up as breakfast finishes in 10 minutes and you need to clean the room.

It should be noted that the Lobby bar hours are sadly lacking, why close at 8pm when your resort is so far from town, we would have loved to have had a relaxing drink looking at the views.

In summary, you resort is called the Royal Myconian Resort and Thasslaso spa, I am afraid the wording Royal does not befit your resort. I will concede your bar staff around the outdoor pool are very polite and are a credit to your hotel, along with your reception staff, the rest is sadly lacking the money we paid and the expectations we have something called Royal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter4213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myconiancollection, Deputy General Manager at Royal Myconian Resort & Thalasso Spa Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Mr Peter4213,

We would like to thank you for your stay at the Royal Myconian Resort and for taking the time to express your comments online. Your feedback is appreciated and gives us the opportunity to increase the level of our services.

Please allow us to make a few comments on your raised points.

Concerning the free shuttle service that we offer, please note that our buses are checked and serviced on a very regular basis. The noises you were hearing were created due to the bad road condition.

At this point we would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the cushions and for the failure of our front office to follow up your request. Please be assured that this issue has been brought to the attention of the responsible managers and immediate steps are made.

Concerning the towels and the charge of the 10 euros in case they are not returned, please note that this is an internal procedure we have in order to control the massive loss of the hotel towels and to avoid incidents like the one you have experienced the following morning where you couldn't find an available towel.

In all our pools we only use sea water. The outdoor pools are not heated, so the water temperature is directly affected by weather conditions and outside temperature.

As concerns the children on the Spa Center, you are right they did not pay but neither had access to that area, though when children are running they need only a couple of seconds to snick in an area and make noise. Our Spa team is always there to prevent incidents like that and to inform immediately their parents.

Regarding the buffet breakfast the opening hour is 07:30 and the closing 10:30 but we always keep it a little longer for our delayed guests. Please note that the person in charge passes from each table to inform the guests that the buffet is about to close in the next ten minutes but without mentioning any particular reason.

Finally, our lobby bar is open daily from 18:00 up to 03:00 or more...

We are sorry that our resort did not meet your expectations but we hope to regain your confidence in a future stay.

We remain at your disposal should you have any further inquiries.

Best Regards,

Ioannis Stefanidis
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great hotel in a beautiful area of the island, perfect service, very helpful staff, clean with great breakfast variety! We've enjoyed an amazing vacation there! This partucular area is more suitable for tourists who are looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation than for party life. However, the hotel offers a hugh variety of activities, like horseback riding or water sports can be orginized easily organized with the help of hotel staff. And the next party area, e.g. Super Paradise, is just about 10 kilometers away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldemar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Amazing service Amazing location Amazing Staff

It was heavenly experience can't wait to go back :)

Private pools on the mountain edges over looks the blue sea. Endless pictures were taken but still cannot describe half of the feeling there

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed as part of a wedding party from August 27th to September 1st. We stayed in the Utopia higher up on the hill. The complex opened only on August 6th so it was brand new and it showed.
The Utopia is designed and built to imitate or emulate Mykonos town and it does that job very well.
From the restaurant where we had daily breakfasts, if you go back to the rooms it is like going through the clean and narrow streets of Mykonos town. The architect has painstakingly created the right atmosphere with the white walls and grey round stones on the paths.
Breakfast was elaborate though not quite in the continental style, but was enough to satisfy any appetite.
After the first couple of days we got the wait staff to work to our liking and the young waiters responded very very well.
We learned how to say Kali Mera and Kalispera among other words.
The pool bar staff were good and attentive too.
The rooms were large and clean though I was not thrilled with the all black shower on account of visibility. View from the room balcony is breathtaking. Vistas of ocean.
The room was cleaned twice a day so was always immaculate.
We walked elevatored down to the beach and that's a chore for sure. The trek up is also arduous. The beach is not much. The terrain is rocky and it seems they have brought coarse brownish sand and created a little patch of it to be able to put lounge chairs and straw umbrellas for the sunbathers. But the jet ski owners were all helpful and eager to serve.
Since we were all part of the wedding party, special food arrangements had been made in the vegetarian style and their soups and pizzas were delectable.
I learned from the wait staff about an after dinner liquor Mysthika (?) and had it during dinner !
Very nice.
Ouzo became my friend too.
Utopia provides a shuttle a few times a day to go to Mykonos town and the service is overall good though you have to stick to the times.
The manager a young gray haired gentleman and Costas always helped with everything including any special requirements and have to be thanked here.
The girls at reception too warmed up after a couple of days and became familiar with us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randhir111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nicely situated, offering great landscape facing the gorgeous blue sea. Excellent and very nice staff, especially the bartender at the lounge bar (reception level), who was really making you enjoy every drink in his bar. We were welcomed by Natalie, who presented us all the areas of the hotel and detailed us the services we can make use of, depending on our interest. Had a gorgeous room with sea view at the 5th level. Rooms were perfectly cleaned twice a day. Delicious and diverse food from breakfast to dinner (I loved the sea bass tartar with caviar!). Spa was also very nice and the staff very friendly, having all facilities you may need after.
I would come here again anytime!!! We had such a nice and relaxing stay. WE almost forgot we were on Earth!
As experienced travelers I would say that the services you get depend on the relation between the hotel and the corresponding agency at the destination of your trip. At the same number of starts we have had a terrible stay in Tenerife (Gran Tacande), place where I won't come back again in my life. Still, in this hotel I was amazed since I first walked in and it was like this till it ended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OvidiuZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the hotel (1.9.2013 - 5.9.2013).
It was everything I've expected...and more.
I came to do nothing and managed (totaly) to do so!

Bedroom's balcon: Magnificent view from our room - realy breathtaking!
Beatiful sunrises and sunsets.
Had no Jaccuzi in our balcon (next time I'll order a room with one!), but the view was more than enough.
Bathroom - clean, and well supplied.
More towels were offered each late afternoon by the room maids.

Wonderful seaside - quiet and not crowded.
Towels taken from the hotel spa, tanning beds spread in the hotel's beach, while 3 young assistants attended to our needs.

Breakfast: very good, nutrient and colourful, excellent late, mediocre espresso...
The strawberries juice was so good!

Attentive service (hotel's reception dining room pool's bar beach).
There weren't any major disappointments.

Transportation:

1. Shuttles to the beach: every 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel to the beach (and back) - very convenient because the hotel is located on a very steep slope
(only 2 minutes ride).

2. Shuttles to Mykonos Town: Saved us money and time.
Fixed & variable hours, again very convenient.

There are 4 things that I think could and should be amended:
a) No kettle was in the room (as should be in a 5 star hotel! ), so we had to ask
for it, received one and then had to supply ourselves with tea and coffee
(bought in town) and sugar ( taken from the dining room).
b) Neatness - the bedroom and bathroom were very clean, yet not meticulous.
(I'm aware that this remark is a subjective one).
c) Towels: there was an endless supply of clean towels to the bathroom (and
pools/beach). Yet the towels were stiff. I would suggest a softener which
actually works...
d) Bed: Huge but not comfortable!! Too soft!
The only major thing that realy bothered me!

Bottom line:No doubt - I'll be back!

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a mountaun's slope. Floors 4 and above have a marvelous view of all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Royal Myconian is situated perfectly just above the Elia Beach in Mykonos. First off, the hotel is put as a five star but I fell that it just misses the mark. We were part of a huge party that stayed in the Myconian while the other half stayed in the Utopia hotel above. The Myconian is a very old hotel and may need a little bit of refurbishing with the hotel and the staff. Some of the employees were rude and some areas of the hotel were looking a little drab. Apart from that the rest of the hotel was quite brilliant, there was a shuttle service into town every few hours along with guides and cars available for rent. The food was very good with a vast breakfast buffet and lunch and dinner all serving greek food which got a little repetitive. The majority of the staff were very polite and smiley barring a few and the rooms were nice and spacious. The bathrooms along with the spa were also very clean and all in all it was a good experience. There are four hotels up the hill owned by the same family, so I strongly suggest staying at Utopia above, it is brilliantly different and a lot nicer.

Room Tip: This is not for a good room, but please remember all the pools are saline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex1539712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elia
0.1 mi away
Myconian Imperial Resort
0.1 mi away
Myconian Villa Collection
2.8 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
914 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Myconian Utopia Relais & Chateaux Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Myconian Resort & Thalasso Spa Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Myconian Resort & Thalasso Spa Center

Address: Elia 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Elia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Elia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elia
Price Range: $209 - $1,426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Myconian Resort & Thalasso Spa Center 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Myconian Resort & Thalasso Spa Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Myconian Resort & Thalasso Hotel Mykonos
Royal Myconian Resort And Thalasso Spa Center
Royal Myconian Hotel Thalasso Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing