We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is that smell?”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Luverne
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My company booked me here because Sioux Falls was packed. Located 30 mins west of Sioux Falls. I get there, check in, get to my room and BAMM!, I'm hit with what I can only describe as very bad BO, like teen boy "I firgot to put on underarm stuff" and have been cutting down trees all day BO. I go back to the desk and ask for another room. The only one available is a "pet friendly" room. We go check it out (it's only 3 doors down from the first) and it has a stench too, but not near as bad as the first. I go get some Frebreze and promptly spray EVERYWHERE but it's no good. I never did get use to that smell and was there all weekend. Breakfast was preformed "eggs", instant bacon, and your typical hotel breakfast fair. Some restaurants are in walking distance so i didn't starve. Over all not a bad place, but I'd suggest asking for something on the second floor on the west side to avoid that smell.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikStrieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL419, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Please accept my deepest apology on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations of our hotel.
We have taken your feed back very seriously and have taken steps to ensure this doesn't happen again.
We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Luverne.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our second stay at the Comfort Inn, and found it changed ownership in the last year. There is new carpeting which makes a world of difference. However, if you're going to spend the money to update the carpeting, they really should have done the same with the comforters. It's the first thing you see when you enter the room, and ours were the same 1970's mustard yellow splattered with stains that were there last year.

Other than that, the rest of the hotel was clean and exactly what I expected. The kids enjoyed the pool, but it doesn't open until 10am. That's the latest I've ever seen in a hotel, and because of that the kids had limited time in the pool. They were disappointed, and for that reason we would consider other hotels in Luverne in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awe_heck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL419, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Im glad you noticed the begining to our upgrading. And I assure you since you were here we have done more than just the carpeting.

We have added refrigerators to every room, new beds, new bedding and new breakfast set up.
We are also continuing the upgrade process with all brand new in room furniture which is now on order and should arrive with in the next couple months. We still have some expanding to do in our breakfast are which we plan to do very soon as well.

We have taken into consideration about opening the pool sooner and I do believe we will begin doing that as well our pool hours will be 9:00am to 10:00am

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After a miserable experience the previous night in another city, our family (two adults, two children under 11) was looking for a good night's sleep. We found it with this Quality Inn (no longer a Comfort Inn). The rooms were clean and well kept, the beds were comfortable and reasonably firm, and the air conditioning was quiet. A refrigerator in the room kept our food cold without freezing it. Our children were especially taken with the cozy pillows on the beds and wanted us to buy some of the same sort.

The shower was very nice, although the water could have drained a bit more quickly (it wasn't bad, just a little slow). When we mentioned that to the manager, she apologized and told us she had just that morning reminded the cleaning staff to wipe out the drains daily. We appreciated the fluffy bath towels; so many hotels in this price range have towels that are threadbare.

The breakfast was the usual for this type of hotel: hot and cold cereals, pastries, bread, yogurt, waffles, fresh fruit, apple and orange juice, coffee and tea, and milk and hot chocolate (the latter from a mix), with the nice addition of bacon and hard-boiled eggs.

The swimming pool was small but pleasant, and the tiles forming the deck and pool are among the more attractive I have seen anywhere. A hot tub sits next to the pool. There is a guest laundry with a single washer and dryer. The washer costs $1.00 and the dryer 50 cents.

We found all the staff we encountered to be friendly and helpful. They seemed proud of the hotel and tried hard to give us a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjam68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL419, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.


We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team.
we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the newly re-done Quality Inn that used to be a Comfort Inn in Luverne, MN. We were looking for a nice motel in a smaller town where we would feel safe to park our vehicle and move back and forth. Luverne is a lovely smaller town with everything we needed - a nice family diner, several name brand fast food options, and the new Quality Inn. We were so happy to have found THIS motel in THIS nice town. The night clerk was helpful and friendly, the room was spotless and all nice and new. Even the carpets in the halls were new and clean. The morning hot breakfast had everything we would hope to find at a more expensive name brand motel. We visited with the new manager and told her our impressions. I'm sure that this hidden gem will become a favorite stop for travelers going east or west on I-90. Another nice factor is that the distance from the highway was just right - easy to find, but not too close to the noise.

Room Tip: We needed a pet friendly room, and were given a very nice room that was convenient to parking and th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthDakotaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL419, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Management
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Not a pleasant experience. Nearly missed hotel as sign had not been turned on. Pool and hot tub both too hot - thought dirty but turned out to be rusted. No hot breakfast - ran out. Tried to add a charge to my bill that did not belong. Next time will pass it by on purpose.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jph265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL419, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is most important to us. We will be using this feed back in hopes to provide guests with a better experience. We will do everything we can to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional stay for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a wedding in town, we checked in and brought our stuff to the room before heading to the reception. When we got back to our room that night it was very obvious that someone had been in our room. Our bags had been gone through and there were used towels in the bath room, obviously we hadn't used them since we dropped our stuff off and left. We went to the front desk and they did NOTHING...so we left, and drove home. We were told that the manager would call the next day, they never did. We called the next day and spoke to the manager, she made it sound like we were making it up and did nothing. They wouldn't give us a refund for anything on the room and we didn't even stay. I hope they lose more money off of bad reviews than if they would have refunded our room and we wouldnt have shared this with everyone! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL419, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We have the capability within our hotel key system to run a report that showed ALL keys made for a room. Time, date and number of keys made. This report showed the only keys made were issued all at the same time & only to the guests that checked in together that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luverne
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Luverne
Super 8 Luverne
#5 of 6 in Luverne
139 reviews
24.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Pipestone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
24.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Pipestone
18.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in Brandon
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 801 S Kniss Ave, Luverne, MN 56156-2225 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Luverne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Luverne
Price Range: $67 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Luverne
Luverne Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing