We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty, Over Sprayed when cleaning!”
Review of Super 8 Luverne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Luverne
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Luverne
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was so disappointed in this Super 8. Upon check-in, which went well, we were assigned our room from our reservation. That is when it started to go wrong, strong musty smell, chemical smell from over spraying to cover pet smells, and it was a queen size room, reservations asked for King, told that the management would not allow pets in their only King room...hummmm.. I check out the bathroom and found that the toilet paper unit was hanging off the wall, the switch plate for the light was not mounted, and the sink had a huge chip out of the basin, with rust in it. Now back to the smell, The window thankfully opened, so we let the room air out for 3 hours...we closed up when we went to bed, at 1 my asthma kicked in thanks to the chemical smells...terrible trying to sleep after that, with the window wide open to clear the smell. Very disappointed in this facility! Normal Super 8 Breakast, however there was a bright spot to this day, the restaurant next door, The Bluestem was awesome, definately a 5 star chef, dinner and staff.

Room Tip: If you have health concerns or breathing problems and are travelling with a pet, give this motel a m...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCAF831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DakotaSky, Manager at Super 8 Luverne, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could
have been.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its staff for your stay.
Our standard procedure in this event would be to offer an upgraded
room to you so your stay would have been more comfortable, however, because
of the policy at our hotel, pets are allowed in designated pet rooms only.
I would have been happy to move you to a different room had I known that
you were having the problems you had posted to see if that would have helped.

You may be interested to learn that just this past year we have started
a updating our guest rooms and lobby with fresh coats of paint. Also included
in this update are new mattresses and hall carpeting. There are still a few things
that still need attention and I thank you for bring it to our attention. I would take pleasure in
welcoming you back after our renovations are completed so that you can experience our
hotel as it is meant to be. Please feel free to contact us @ 507-283-9541 if
you are traveling in our area again so that we may personally take care of
you and your next stay.

Once again I would like to thank you for your concern and please do accept our apologies
and I do hope that the remainder of your trip was enjoyable for your and your 4 legged family member.


Sincerely,

Front Desk Management Staff
Super 8 Luverne, MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Luverne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 139 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SuperEight L, Office Assistant at Super 8 Luverne, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had 2 rooms Musty smelling & cold!
Checked in 2 pm room still not warm at 10 pm
Needs updates badly!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank BMJ629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEight L, Office Assistant at Super 8 Luverne, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. Please accept my deepest apologies on failing to exceed your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is most important to us and we will use this feedback in hopes that it will provide guests with an exceptional experience.

Again thank you for leaving feedback and we apologize for the mustiness of the room. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Amanda, Office Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SuperEight L, Office Assistant at Super 8 Luverne, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were just driving through on our way back home, got in kind of late, and were planning on leaving early the next morning to get back on the road. When we stayed here in July 2012, it looked as if they were sprucing the place up a bit with some painting and what not. Just what you would expect from a good budget hotel. Beds were comfy. Room was a bit dated but clean. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast is included and is what you would expect from a Super 8, not terrific but not horrible either. There are not a lot of frills here, but you aren't paying for frills.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawni_and_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEight L, Office Assistant at Super 8 Luverne, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We would like you to know that we have been upgrading our hotel. We have added new beds, new bedding, and new flat screen TV's. We have also upgrading our breakfast area and have added new breakfast items including our Simply Super Cinnamon Rolls. We have new carpet installed in the hallways and have more upgrades planned. We value your opinions and will pass your review onto our staff for encouragement.

Again, thank you for leaving a review and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that you can see all of our new and coming upgrades.

Sincerely,
Amanda, Office Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank JOANN H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We felt that this Motel was a great value. Although it is definitively "no frills", the rooms were clean, the coffee was excellent and the front desk very friendly, even at 11:00 at night when we arrived. The beds were extremely comfortable and the water pressure for morning showers, excellent. The rooms are a little dated with the wallpaper trim, but that is really no big deal, and that was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank CYNTHIA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luverne
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 6 in Luverne
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Super 8 Sioux Falls
Super 8 Sioux Falls
#19 of 53 in Sioux Falls
504 reviews
18.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in Brandon
49 reviews
25.0 mi away
Cloud 9 Motel
Cloud 9 Motel
#43 of 53 in Sioux Falls
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Luverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Luverne

Address: 1202 S Kniss Ave, I-90 & Highway 75, Luverne, MN 56156-2253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Luverne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Luverne
Price Range: $48 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Luverne 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Luverne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Luverne
Luverne Super Eight
Luverne Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing