We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Shore Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solbakken on Superior
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
“North Shore Weekend”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had booked a room in the motel at Solbakken on short notice for Memorial weekend, but got upgraded to a two bedroom cabin at no request. We were right on the big lake, spent our early mornings drinking coffee and watching the birds, and our evenings around a campfire on the rocks and watching the kids do their mountain goat routines. The days were spent hiking and picnicing in Cascade and Temperance River State Parks - great to be outdoors from early until late, but still sleep in a bed and put the dishes in a dishwasher! Beautiful weather - Sunny and 50 degrees on the shore, 80 inland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLL155715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie D, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for letting us know that you had such a great time! We love to hear the stories of what people do when they are here. Hope to see you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
36
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Warmly welcomed at check-in.Prior to coming we called about conditions for skiing they were totally honest that the trails were bad. Cabins spotless,new beds sheets/towels, great old Lodge! The owners are incredible made us feel at home immediately, Debbie found out it was my birthday and brought out a truffle with a candle in it while I was reading next to the fire at the Lodge! I am very picky about customer service, cleanliness and they exceeded all of my expectations. When the weather was bad Doug even offered to walk me back to cabin. I was fine with the flashlight I borrowed. Be sure to check out Solbakken's now that it is under new ownership you will love what they have done!

Room Tip: Darling two bedroom cabin overlooking the lake. We also toured the Guest House on Caribou Trail and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolbakkenResort, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We are happy that you appreciated our renewed focus on cleanliness and customer service. It was nice to meet you and we look forward to your visit in October. The Guest House is a wonderful place with fabulous views that I know you will love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Amazing weekend with Family at Solbakken in the Jonas House! The home was very accomodating and worked perfect for our time there. We had 22 people at Solbakken with 10 of them kids. It was a great space to spend time in. The Motel rooms were perfect as well for getting away from it all! The resort came by every day to make sure we had everything we needed and offered more if it was necessary.

The home had everything we needed. It was wonderful to be right on the lake, hear the waves crashing along the shore. We will definately be back again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swilson2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolbakkenResort, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
It was fun to have your family here and we enjoyed meeting you! Thanks for the review. Hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed in Cabin 5 and it was very nice. Enjoyed the fireplace. Free cross country ski and snow shoe rental was awesome. Staff was very nice and helpful. Great view of the lake. Comfy and cozy. Would like to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolbakkenResort, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
It was so nice to have you stay with us! Please do come back any time. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We'd stayed here previously and really like it. When I heard that the water problem had been fixed I thought it would be the perfect place. However, the water system is still not working. The water is very salty and you still have to use bottled water provided by the resort. When checking in I had to initial that there would be a $25 fee if the dishes were not cleaned and taken out of the dishwasher. Since we usually leave early in the morning, waiting for the dishwasher to finish is a big inconvenience. Also, housekeeping did not show up while we were there and we had to go get towels from the front desk. Previously, the roads and walkways have been plowed and sanded early in the morning. When we went to drive out his week after about two inches of snow, we couldn't get out without pushing because the driveways were super slick with no sand, salt, anything. When we got back from skiing late afternoon, they were just getting going on the sanding. Walking to the lodge at 4:30PM the walkway had still not been shoveled and I slipped and fell hard.
The gentleman manning the front desk was very helpful, but the customer service at this place has slipped since the owners took over. I've never stayed at a condo/lodge/suite that required you to put away you clean dishes before leaving and never have I had to request housekeeping.
Time to look for a new place on the North Shore.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolbakkenResort, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our water is softened, so yes, in heavy use times it does have a salty taste. Unfortunately, it is very challenging to solve this problem since the solutions are in the 6 digits, but we have not given up yet! In the meantime, the bottled water we provide free of charge is excellent.

Daily housekeeping is a new service here since the new owners took over in June 2013. They make their rounds between 10 am and 2 pm daily, but did not enter your room because one of the doors was deadbolted. It is not a problem for us at the front desk to attend to your needs anytime. Your room was just down the stairs and we really didn't mind.

Shoveling, sanding and salting is done regularly from 8 am to 9 pm by our diligent staff. At times it is difficult to keep up with rapidly changing conditions. I'm sorry that you had a problem during your stay. We were not made aware of your difficulties until after you left, so had no chance to address them during your stay. We are very willing to bend over backwards to ensure our guests have a good time.
All the best for your future visits to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent the last week of February 2014 at Solbakken, during an extremely cold week - and loved it. Our cabin (#6) was cute, cozy & comfortable. If we opted for the one bedroom cabins again, we'd choose cabin #5. The entire staff was very nice during our stay. Dale was very nice & gave us keys to view several different motel rooms & cabins for future stays. Margie allowed us to view a couple of the lodge suites & suggested some great snowshoeing areas. The best visit was the opportunity to check out the Guest House. It was BEAUTIFUL & has an amazing view! We very much enjoyed the use of the snowshoes & the park/trail information. We relaxed, made great meals & enjoyed the fireplace & accommodations. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: For 1 bedroom cabin, opt for Cabin 5. For 2 bedroom cabin, liked Cabin 4 best. The Lodge Suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie D, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We really enjoyed having you. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I spent a winter weekend at Solbakken Resort. We loved our room (#12) with a kitchenette. Cozy room that was so comfortable. Nice having the kitchenette and an outside grill where we did our dinners. Nice view of the lake and the little cabins along the lakeshore. The log lodge was lovely, and people there were so helpful. Loaned us snowshoes to walk along the Cascade River. Have already recommended Solbakken to friends, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margie D, Front Office Manager at Solbakken on Superior, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear that so many people enjoy our hospitality and our beautiful neighborhood! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
3.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
11.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Cascade Lodge
Cascade Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lutsen
330 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
3.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solbakken on Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solbakken on Superior

Property: Solbakken on Superior
Address: 4874 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solbakken on Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solbakken is a hidden gem in Lutsen on Lake Superior's North Shore. We provide home base in our cabins nestled along the shore as you experience the Northwoods. Solbakken is situated on seven acres of very special property with over 600 feet of Lake Superior shoreline for guests to enjoy! Our cozy accommodations feature an option for all budgets ranging from economy style units to luxury cabins with fireplaces. Enjoy a variety of activities including canoeing, kayaking, snowshoeing in winter and barbecuing in summer. Welcome to your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Solbakken on Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solbakken Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing