We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The view is spectacular, and you could't be much closer to the lake. We slept with the door open, so we could hear the waves from the lake, hit the shore. The rooms are small, and beds, just OK. The balconies were fine, but I don't think the railings are safe. They are short and sort of wiggly, which is scary if you are on a cliff. The prices are OK considering the location. Great place to stay if heading into the BWCA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LChapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    61
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
38
71
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

OK, we all agree that the view from the rooms is wonderful. But after a few ohh-h-hs and ah-h-hs, you're left with the rest of the place.

The balconies are not "private" as advertised. They are all part of a connected deck that runs the full length of the back of the motel, divided by low wrought iron railings -- not even privacy screens. So if you have noisey or nosey neighbors you're just out of luck. And I sure didn't feel safe leaving the sliding door open for the night. (And with the door closed the only water sound you have is the bathroom in the room above you.)

Bed was acceptable, but chairs were uncomfortable and way too low for the table.

Every electric plug was taken except the one by the sink, but it turned off anytime the sink light was off. So there was really no place to recharge phone or laptop. And the advertised internet service is so weak and slow that it's almost non-existant.

There is no restaurant. No coffee in the room. Breakfast is all carbs and things don't appear to be refreshed during the serving hours. Get there early or go without.

It's ok for a one-night stay if you are just on your way somewhere else, but I wouldn't actually plan to spend a few nights there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I were regulars at the Cliff Dweller for several summers in a row. A couple years ago we went back for our usual July visit, only to discover that the wonderful manager had resigned, and the Cliff Dweller was simply not operating up to its usual high standards. I'm happy to report that it's back to its previous excellence, thanks to the new owners.

If you're looking for a motel with lots to do on site, this is not the place for you. But if you want a peaceful place to relax in the evenings after exploring Minnesota's North Shore during the days, this is the best. The Cliff Dweller is situated right on the cliffs with a fantastic view of Lake Superior. Many times in the warm months, it is possible to leave the balcony door open and be lulled to sleep by the sound of waves on the rocks below. And the breakfast is amazingly good for such a small motel.

We look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie
Level Contributor
209 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband found this place, while I had picked a chain accommodation; we had planned to split our time, three nights at each place. When plans changed and our time on the North Shore had to be shortened, he kept this place and cancelled the other. Am I glad that he did! Every room has a balcony overlooking Lake Superior, it's right there. When they say "continental breakfast" they are being modest; there are eggs, and other protein options available. I hope that we have the opportunity to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, which seemed optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank texaschic987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We checked into room 107 and it smelled like a dead body had been stored in the room for months. A live large cockroach was lingering nearby the fridge. The high speed internet was so slow we finally cut our losses looking for another suitable hotel and left. This one is definitely worth taking a pass on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

What an unexpected find. If you are looking to get away from it all and enjoy the serenity and beauty of Lake superior, this motel is a must. If you want all the amenities of a chain hotel it may not be for you but it has all the basics at a fair price. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, with great themed décor for the type of motel. The continental breakfast was very good and the breakfast area was great with the same view as the rooms. The hosts/owners were amazingly helpful and friendly. Now the most amazing feature of this place is the VIEW. Every room has a balcony facing the rugged shoreline of Lake Superior. Laying in bed listening to the waves, or sitting on the balcony having a glass wine and taking in the breathtaking view is beyond compare. Right outside your motel door you can step onto the Gitchi-Gami state trail for an incredible stroll/jog or bike ride along the shoreline or hike up along Onion River. Cannot say enough about this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NORTHERNGIRL588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

All rooms at this overly expensive spot have okay balconies that face Lake Superior. They serve a decent breakfast, but their WiFi was on the fritz ... we'd read that it's always that way. At $123 per night it's way over the top, but many of their competitors charge more. I think if I was travelling this way again, I 'd stop and do the Cascade River hike, which is very special, and right by the side of road, then climb into my car and drive right on through this Lutsen, Tofte area. P.S. There is no fitness centre or swimming pool. I pushed those buttons in error.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
3.7 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
22.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.6 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior

Property: The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Address: US Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55615
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Dweller Inn Of Tofte Hotel Lutsen
Cliff Dweller Lutsen
Cliff Dweller Hotel Of Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing