We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What an unexpected find. If you are looking to get away from it all and enjoy the serenity and beauty of Lake superior, this motel is a must. If you want all the amenities of a chain hotel it may not be for you but it has all the basics at a fair price. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, with great themed décor for the type of motel. The continental breakfast was very good and the breakfast area was great with the same view as the rooms. The hosts/owners were amazingly helpful and friendly. Now the most amazing feature of this place is the VIEW. Every room has a balcony facing the rugged shoreline of Lake Superior. Laying in bed listening to the waves, or sitting on the balcony having a glass wine and taking in the breathtaking view is beyond compare. Right outside your motel door you can step onto the Gitchi-Gami state trail for an incredible stroll/jog or bike ride along the shoreline or hike up along Onion River. Cannot say enough about this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NORTHERNGIRL588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

All rooms at this overly expensive spot have okay balconies that face Lake Superior. They serve a decent breakfast, but their WiFi was on the fritz ... we'd read that it's always that way. At $123 per night it's way over the top, but many of their competitors charge more. I think if I was travelling this way again, I 'd stop and do the Cascade River hike, which is very special, and right by the side of road, then climb into my car and drive right on through this Lutsen, Tofte area. P.S. There is no fitness centre or swimming pool. I pushed those buttons in error.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

By far an AMAZING place to stay! Don't be alarmed by the location it is a great get-off stop. Near Lutsen, near Temperance River , near Grand Marias many many breath taking views. We also slept with the screen door open and listened to the waves all night, the room is a bit smaller thatn your big fancy motels, but the views and hospitality makes up for ALL that!! Great breakast, very clean room and very helpful owners! No pool but walking distance to a neat jump in spot on lake Superior. The room comes with a microwave and fridge be sure to plan ahead as there are not many late night options to dine, but there is roon to BBQ here in the parking lot along with picnic tables. Make this a stop along your trip you will not be unhappy.

Room Tip: We styed on the ground floor near the lobby and our room was newly remodeled, but I heard from other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank b-rad6672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My sister & I stayed the weekend at the Cliff Dweller on July 12th & 13th 2013, & what a great hotel this was. Our room was newly renovated (201) & we had a very comfortable stay here. The room is just a bit smaller than your typical hotel room, but when you walk out onto the deck, you will have a million dollar view of Lake Superior!!!! Wow!!!! This is a very clean hotel & they serve a breakfast in the morning that is also a wonderful extra. In comparison to the hotels in Canal Park in Duluth, this hotel is a fantastic alternative considering the prices they charge in Duluth. You will love your stay here, as the owners go out of their way to make sure you are happy while staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 63moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We used this motel based on other positive Trip Advisor reviews, and people were spot-on. It's a very comfortable place with a few choice amenities when you're visiting the North Shore. It's a motel and the rooms were smaller than we're used to, but we still fit a family of 4 comfortably. They had a nice table and we were able to build a puzzle, and a microwave and fridge, and a wonderful balcony with a view of the lake. Best of all, your price includes a very substantial breakfast, which really helps save bucks. The owners are a family and clearly work hard to make this a lovely place. If you're used to high end hotels, you'd be disappointed in the room size, double vs. queen beds and older fixtures. But if you just need a good room as a jumping off point for other Northshore activities, you'll be pleased with the central location, Lake Superior view and breakfast included.

Room Tip: Pick a ground floor room so you can pull your vehicle right up to the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StillLoveMNbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I'll break down the pros and cons.

Pros:
The AMAZING view of lake Superior
Refrigerator and microwave in the room
The view
Good breakfast in the morning including eggs made by the innkeepers
Friendly staff
Did I mention the view???!!!

Cons:
The beds were uncomfortable, very "springy" but that's just me, I'd rather have a firm mattress
A little isolated, although Grand Marais was about 25 minutes away, if you are looking for a quick dinner out, you won't have many options
Wi-Fi was non-existent. The only time I got any signal was when I was sitting right next to the computer in the lobby area.

Overall, I would stay again. All rooms have either a balcony or patio overlooking lake superior. The water is right below you. Having the microwave and fridge in the room was convenient. The room wasn't very spacious and the issues with the Wi-Fi and very few cable channels was frustrating on rainy days when we had downtime. But overall, a pleasant stay and would consider staying again if in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room 202 which was close to the lobby and jutted out further than most of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

When you stop at a local hotel, you're never quite sure what you'll get - but we found that we were very pleased. The room was well sized and well arranged, lighting good, clean, bed comfortable, breakfast area neat and tidy with a good variety of the normally available items (at most motels). And an extra was the view of Lake Superior. Also they're hiker friendly.
Note: though this is listed under Lutsen, technically it's a few miles west in Tofte.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank DonWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
6.1 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
13.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
282 reviews
5.8 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
5.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior

Address: US Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range: $77 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Dweller Inn Of Tofte Hotel Lutsen
Cliff Dweller Lutsen
Cliff Dweller Hotel Of Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing