We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll definitely come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We just returned home after spending two nights at the Cliff Dweller, a modestly priced motel type facility along the North Shore. We were delighted with our stay and will definitely choose the Cliff Dweller on our next trip to this area. It is conveniently located along Highway 61 about 1 hour north of Two Harbors and 30 minutes south of Grand Marais. There are 22 units (11 upper and 11 lower) all on the cliff-side overlooking Lake Superior and all have balconies with sliding glass and screen doors. The shimmering blue lake was gorgeous, and it was very relaxing to sit with our books on the balcony listening to the breeze blowing through the birch and aspen trees, watching the geese and loons swimming along the shore or boats off in the distance. We fell asleep at night with the sound of the waves slapping the rocks below, and heard the songs of birds in the morning. Our nicely decorated room, which had plenty of space, looked and smelled clean. (Neither pets or smoking are permitted in the rooms.) The beds were comfortable, and we slept well. A nice feature was that the vanity area with sink and mirror was separate from the bathroom which included the toilet and bathtub-shower. (Warning: We discovered that if someone turns on the cold water faucet at the sink, the person taking a shower gets an extra dose of hot water!). The room had the typical furnishings, with the addition of a microwave and a small refrigerator. The television had nine channels (CNN, A&E, Discovery, Encore, CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX, PBS). There was also complimentary internet access. For those who don’t travel with a laptop computer, there is a computer in the lobby for guest use. Adjacent to the lobby is a very nice sitting area with comfortable stuffed chairs and a variety of magazines. Next to that is the Fireplace Room furnished with some tables and chairs and offering a selection of board games and paperback books along with a nice lake view. The Primrose Room, also with full lake view, is where the free continental breakfast is served every day from 7:30 to 10:30 a.m. The selections included cold and hot cereals, waffles, mini egg omelets, toast, bagels, English muffins, oranges, apples, orange juice, grape juice, coffee, and hot tea. Soft music playing in the background added to the relaxing breakfast experience. There is also a room with ice and vending machines. The new owners (as of May) live on the property and are very warm and friendly. They are responsive to the needs of their guests and have plans to further enhance what is already a very nice overnight destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MinnesotaTwinsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

All of the rooms have balconies that have a nice view of Lake Superior. The room was large with a refrigerator and microwave, but the beds were not very comfortable. The mattresses are past their useful life and should be replaced. A complimentary breakfast of eggs, waffles, cereals, bagels, fruit, etc was served in a nice large breakfast room, which was really nice since there are no restaurants in close proximity. The innkeepers are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The good news: the room was comfortable and clean; the view from the balcony was great and the breakfast was good.

The bad news: there is no laundry facility for bikers, hikers or canoeists who might want to wash a load. No hot tub and, of course, no pool. There is also no Wi-Fi. TV consists of 9 channels and NO movie or sports channels! (The Encore channel shows DISH preview continually.)

Check out the Americinn down the road -- it has what the Cliff Dweller does not. (but not the "view.")

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldGreyGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The view is lovely and the rooms are amply furnished for a very reasonable price. Parking is decent. We just found our room to be a bit less clean than we would normally like. The carpets felt a bit grungy, the bathroom floors had accumulated grunge in the corners. There was a vague scent of sewage in our room. It was by no means awful, but it did make us a bit uncomfortable. There are so many wonderful places to stay on the North Shore that we probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semele08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

we needed a room for the night on the way back from minneapolis to thunder bay and wanted to be close to the golf course. we were lucky enough to get one at the cliff dweller. this is a no nonsense little hotel on the side of the highway on the shore of lake superior. the room was simple but clean. my wife and son loved it. there was a small balcony overlooking the lake which was nice. they also offered a great little brkfst area off the lobby for the mornings. we very much enjoyed our short stay and will consider staying here again if we need to stay over. the proximity to superior national golf course is a bonus. great course btw......

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rick00001967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here to celebrate our anniversary. While Cliff Dweller isn't fancy, we found it to be clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our private balcony looking over Lake Superior. We could hear the soothing waves from our room. I was pleasantly surprised by nice towels and ecologically sound bath/body products. Our room had a microwave and mini fridge--something rare at this price point. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast, but it is served in a comfortable room overlooking the lake. The location is convenient--about 30 minutes to Tettegouche or Grand Marais. We plan to visit again!

Room Tip: The building is designed so that every room has a great view of Lake Superior and balconies are as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is one of my favorite places to stay along Superior's North Shore. I always ask for the same room. The place is spotless, the people are terrific, and the view is just spectacular!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shadowe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
3.7 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
22.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
281 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior

Address: US Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55615
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range: $81 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Dweller Inn Of Tofte Hotel Lutsen
Cliff Dweller Lutsen
Cliff Dweller Hotel Of Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing