We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true gem! Great for a ladies' weekend, a family...”
other travelers have booked this property
Snow! Cozy, warm winter getaway. 10 min from ski hill and snowmobiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snow! Cozy, warm winter getaway. 10 min from ski hill and snowmobiling
View from deck Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Snow! Cozy, warm winter getaway. 10 min from ski hill and snowmobiling
View from deck
Master bedroom
Bunk bed room
Second guest room with queen bed
Attached master bath with claw foot tub
Fire pit
Hammock over lake
View of bay from dock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lutsen, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TFritsma
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true gem! Great for a ladies' weekend, a family vacation, or a romantic getaway!”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Casabella is just the most wonderful cabin, right on Caribou Lake in Lutsen. It has absolutely everything: three comfy bedrooms (plus a "secret" loft! -- for kids maybe?), two nice bathrooms, a beautiful and cozy family area, complete with fireplace, and a cook's dream kitchen. Not to mention the hot tub! :) And that's just the inside. Outside, you have immediate access to a private dock, with a pontoon and two kayaks! (Or a hammock, if you just want to relax in a peaceful, private little backyard area.)

We had such an amazing weekend there in mid-October. The cabin and surroundings couldn't have been cozier. This was my second stay at Casabella and the accommodations were lovely both times. I can't wait to come back!

The cabin is only about a 15-minute drive to Lake Superior, along with the Lutsen gondola ride and the big slide. Lots of gorgeous hiking nearby.

I didn't see Gator, the caretaker, this time, but I remember from last time that he's a sweet guy and extremely helpful.

I couldn't say enough good things about Casabella, and Cindy and Harvey as hosts. I can't wait to come back again! Thanks so much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2017
Thank you Teri! We are glad you are a repeat customer. Makes us happy to know others are enjoying Casabella like we do! Until next time...... Be well
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan L
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pine Paradise”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our family needed a vacation! We drove up from Southeast Wisconsin about 9 hours and when we arrived we were all very surprised. This little piece of paradise was perfect! The view of the lake, the cozy and comfortable furnishings and decor, All part of an amazing experience! We utilized every amenity. When it rained we stayed in, built a fire in the fireplace, watched movies, baked brownies and cooked dinner. When it was sunny we fished off the pier and made a fire in the fire pit! We were able to explore the lake, the surrounding towns and waterfalls!!!! We went to the ski resort and we spent time in Grand Marais. FYI there is no accessible internet. Phone service picked up on the pier and the landline was not working so we drove up the hill to make phone calls. We didn't really mind but for safety/ medical emergency reasons I think a phone/internet access is a must. What to bring: Bug spray, rain gear and good hiking shoes, dress in layers. Just bring your own food, snacks and toiletries everything else is available. Truly a lovely spot to relax and unwind. For all seasons, not just June.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you Joan... What a great gang you brought. Please come back again (we hooked up the landline again!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twincitie...
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sweet spot on Caribou Lake”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this cabin home just after peak color on the North Shore. Still so much beauty, and near to the Superior hiking trail and Grand Marais.
Six of us were comfortable here with 3 bedrooms and two baths.
It was chilly and rainy, so we used the fireplace and cooked and started and finished a 1000 piece puzzle.
All the amenities of home, plus some! We will definitely come back to Casabella

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
So happy you enjoyed yourselves! Bring yourselves and your instruments any time!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best friend & I needed a time out.”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My best friend & I both needed a time to refresh...get back to nature & spend quality time together. This was the absolute best place to do it, sitting on the dock doing yoga meditation in the mist, taking a long bath in the hot tub upstairs, cuddling with our two dogs while sipping wine in front of the fireplace & letting it all hang out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Had all the comforts of home plus some & the benefit of being entrenched in nature.
Liked least: Weather was a little rainy
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Thank you! While we don't typically allow dogs we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Casabella!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
We are so happy that you have enjoyed both of your stays. We honestly love the thought of other families enjoying Casabella. (It just doesn't seem right to leave it empty!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joy H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casabella was the perfect place for a multi-age family gathering.”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The setting was not only beautiful, but the lake offered a variety of activities including fishing and kayaking. We loved the firepit by the lake! The home was comfortable and roomy enough for private sleeping quarters. The views from the great room and master bedroom were fantastic. The kitchen provided everything we needed. So much so, that we ate all of our meals at Casabella. The loft offered a seperate area for movie watching - a hit with our grandson. The location was perfect for visiting the various state parks along Lake Superior. We are already talking about a future family gathering at Casabella. We all left wishing we had a lttle more time to enjoy everything Casabella had to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and everthing we needed was provided.
Liked least: A little difficult to find the first time due to windy gravel roads.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthomp195...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reconnected with our Minnesota roots!"”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay fully met our (very high) best hopes. The home is spacious in all the right ways, very functional, and well-appointed with everything we needed. And we appreciate the free satellite TV and internet, and, of course, it was an idyllic setting.

An unexpected highlight has been the quietly attentive care that Gator (a local handyman who watches over the house) has provided. He is a character, to be sure. But he is also wise, gracious, and helpful. And with his local insights, we are now catching fish! We are very glad about that!

We had not been back to Northern Minnesota in 30 years! This was a wonderful renewal of our love for Northern Minnesota. And Cindy and Havey (the owners), and Gator, made the trip easy and everything we could have hoped for.

It was PERFECT!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet qnd beauty of the setting!
Liked least: Fishing was a little tough, but we figured it out!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing