We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's must and you should buy a combo pass tram-alpine slide”

Lutsen Mountain Tram
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: You won't find a better vantage point from which to view the Sawtooth Mountains and Lake Superior's dramatic coastline. This aerial gondola is one of the North Shore's most popular attractions, taking you on a scenic ride to the top of Moose Mountain, rising 1,000 feet over Lake Superior. The gentle ride at treetop level is an experience not to be missed if you're visiting the North Shore, here's why: It's the only transportation of its kind in the Midwest: ruffed grouse, eagles, pine marten, deer, bear, timber wolves, and moose have all been spotted from the tram; ride over the cascading Poplar River and up Moose Mountain for unbelievable views of Lake Superior and the surrounding area. Stop at the Summit Chalet at Lutsen Mountains, a beautiful mountaintop chalet welcoming guests for gorgeous views, relaxation, or for lunch, snacks, and beverages. Inside and outside deck seating is available overlooking Lake Superior. The Summit Chalet at Lutsen Mountains also hosts our Summit Chalet weddings, our premier destination wedding facility. Enjoy the mountaintop hiking trails, scenic overlooks, and fresh air. The Mountain Tram makes Moose Mountain the most accessible year-round mountaintop destination in Mid-America.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's must and you should buy a combo pass tram-alpine slide”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

You must buy a combo pass Tram- Alpine Slide. Your kids will have a blast. Very Family friendly, great views, the observation deck on the Moose Mountain is cool. take deep breaths and enjoy the nature. Have lunch at the top.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FelixCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice View Of the North Shore”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our group of five, including one 9-year old, enjoyed our ride up to the top and loved the view. We couldn't all share a gondola, so we were split up 3 & 2. It was a beautiful, clear day and we could see forever across the low-ish mountain, and Lake Superior. There's a large seating area at the top in addition to a snack bar/grill & the requisite gift shop. It was a little over-priced, but when you're on vacation, who's counting. :) The attendants were very friendly, and our visit to Lutsen was made more enjoyable by the tram ride. Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjhc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gotta Do This”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Check local information tables for coupons to save a couple bucks. This is a fun little trip with incredible views. I wish we would have known about the grill on top because it would be a great place to have lunch, but we'd already eaten somewhere else. If you are not a hiker, this is the perfect way to see the beautiful area from 360 degrees. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank berly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
271 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Who woulda thunk it??”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

While it ain't the Tetons or the Swiss Alps, it's pretty awesome to ride a real ski resort tram in the Midwest.... Definitely worth a few hours of your day (if the weather is clear)....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
308 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Well worth it for the panoramic views!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The tram ride was $12 per adult. The gentlemen that were running the tram this particular day were really kind to my mother who is terrified of heights. The ride was smooth all the way up. Once we got to the top, the views were spectacular. I imagine this would be awesome during the fall! Well worth it, especially during the off season, as it was not very busy on top of the mountain.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lutsen Mountain Tram also viewed

 

Been to Lutsen Mountain Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing