We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
270
141
43
16
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
270
141
43
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant next door grand marais hiking trails front porch north shore fall color view of the lake base camp stayed two nights mini fridge short drive lodge fireplace cell stream accommodations firewood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 486 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2020

After driving by this place numerous times over the years we took the opportunity to stay at Cascade Lodge on a last minute, spur of the moment trip to the North Shore from Central MN. It was nice that they had a room available on very short notice on Memorial Day weekend! We stayed in 5-A. This motel room was cozy, clean enough and while not fancy, comfortably met our expectations. It also has a lovely view down to the lake and a private deck to enjoy it from. The lodge and grounds were intriguing with a lot of history evident. The lakeside setting is beautiful and trails lead directly from here to several back-in-the-woods waterfalls in Cascade State Park, right next door. The adjacent restaurant looks very inviting but was unfortunately closed to dining due to pandemic restrictions. We did get a couple of "to-go" meals that we ate in our room and which while not particularly gourmet were certainly adequate given they are doing their best to adjust and continue to provide some type of service during shutdown orders.

Overall we really enjoyed our time at Cascade Lodge. The only thing from our stay that keeps me from giving them a top rating is a couple of maintenance/ infrastructure issues that are often an ongoing challenge for these types of facilities.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global147824
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded May 2, 2021

Hello Global147824,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate your business and hope to have you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2020

Thom, Jelena, and the entire staff are friendly helpful folks dedicated to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing! I try to get there at least once a year to enjoy the Gemutchlichkeit, (Gemütlichkeit is a German-language word used to convey the idea of a state or feeling of warmth, friendliness, and good cheer) Grand Marais nearby has numerous attractions for you when you go for a short drive. The Cascade Lodge property has great views of Lake Superior so you can watch its ever changing personality.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank RayM399
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded March 23, 2020

Hello Rw M,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We can't wait to welcome you again at Cascade Lodge.

Jelena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2020

Made a reservation and this place has a 2 week cancellation policy. Apparently an illness isn’t a good enough excuse, manager won’t even hear you out. Shady business, will never stay here in the future.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KyleG962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded February 25, 2020

Kyle, the cancellation policy is not shady. The policy is well documented, clearly listed on the website, attached with all confirmations and communicated verbally with every phone reservation. We are sorry that you were unable to visit us. We are a small family owned business and when someone cancels, especially within 24 hours like you did, we essentially have no chance of reselling the room that we held for you in good faith that you would show up. While the room was held for you, after you reserved it and paid a deposit, we turned other guests away from booking it. Then when you cancel, those guests have already booked elsewhere and our market for rebooking the room has disappeared. Cancellation policies are standard in this industry with some small properties even having a 30 day cancellation policy. We strongly encourage trip insurance for all guests. We do wish you happier travels in the future. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2020

Great place for a cold beer and bite to eat, Staff where great and very frendly, fast service , no complaints! A must stop if your traveling along 61 on the north shore ! Well worth the senic drive if your coming from either direction.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Wintertravler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2020

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your kind words and review. Please come and stay with us again. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2019

We expected more from this storied North Shore lodge. We have fond memories from thirty years ago. Were excited to return. What a difference 30 years make!
Very disappointed! Room was dark, dated, broken furniture. Serious deferred maintenance. Icy walk way to door; snow plowing just enough for vehicle; you step into 8" of snow. We expected three queen beds as advertised; got two doubles and a futon. Lodge under construction, so difficult to use for ambiance, games, relaxing, etc. It looks like what it is -- a construction zone. This is not disclosed on web site, nor is a discount given for reduced value. Your $200/night will get much more value elsewhere!

Room tip: Avoid this property...stop at Lutsen Resort or check out better options in Grand Marais.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2019

Charles, I’ll now respond to the third review you’ve made, perhaps there will be more? It is clear you were not happy with your experience but you are not being honest. The beds in the bedrooms are indeed queen sized beds, this is not up for dispute. You did not step into 8” of snow as the walkway was clear to your unit and your parking spot is only one car wide with plenty of room for walking, why would it be plowed any wider?
I am truly sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience, however many others do and have enjoyed their time here. While it is true we have been remodeling all 12 bathrooms in the main lodge there is no reason to offer a guest staying in an outside unit with kitchen and living room a discount because of remodels in an entirely different building.
The pictures on the website are all taken within the last 12 months and many improvements continue to be made.
I wish you happier travels at other locations in the future. Thom McAleer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews