We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cascade Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feather Nest Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
203
120
41
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
120
41
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorgrand maraishiking trailslookout mountainnorth shorelake superiorfront porchstate parkcozy cabina couple timescross country skiingfall colorwe loved our stayeggs benedictrocking chairsview of the lakeget away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 388 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed in Cabin 12 overlooking the creek. Was absolutely fantastic to sit on the deck and hear the quiet water going over the rocks. The cabin was very clean and the staff friendly. The Restaurant food is excellent--best food we had during our stay--they had fresh trout out of Lake Superior available.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northtothelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We rely on TA for the majority of our vacations or mini vacations. We did not have a lot of time or options when booking our stay “Up North” for two nights on 12/30 & 12/31. We booked last minute and the following day we checked the TA reviews and were a little hesitant since we booked cabin 11. All our worries were set aside once we stepped foot into our cabin. Even though the reviews on cabin 11 were not the most appealing, the guest book dating back years had quite the following of happy guests.

Granted, this is not a modern atmosphere but filled our needs nicely. It is a wonderful “old” log cabin, with a lot of charm. Yes, it could use a couple upgrades but still quite quaint. There is a cute bridge over the Cascade Creek which brings you to your cabin. As of December 2008 it has a new queen size mattress, but the bed frame squeaked a bit, but was comfortable. You can get a virtual view of this cabin off their website.

Cascade Lodge is in the midst of the Cascade State Park so you literally can hike, cross country ski, etc. right outside your front door. The Cascade Falls are within easy hiking distance from the lodge. Even though they were at full vacancy we never felt overcrowded during our stay and hikes.

Breakfasts were great. The staff was awesome as they were truly multi-taskers as they had a hand in all the service facets at the lodge.

Tips:
Although we were very happy with the lodge food, we do recommend the Gunflint Tavern in Grand Marais. As one gentleman mentioned “they have the best Bloody Mary’s in the state of MN”, we tend to agree. Their food is equally worthy and only 9 miles away.

During the winter I am glad I brought my slippers as the floor gets a little chilly.

For the firewood it is up to you to gather. From our cabin it was only about 40 yards to gather. When you get the firewood to the cabin bring it in to dry out first.

If you are an “outdoorsy” person or remember how your grandma’s cabin was you will be happy with the accommodations. If you need modern facilities, this particular cabin may not be for you.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mngolfergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Our first night was spent in unit 11. Very dark and unclean. Floor in the cabin was not level. The head of the bed was well below the foot.
Furniture was very old and tattered. The cabin had a fireplace but no wood was supplied. The woman (owner, I think) at the desk first told us that wood would be broght to the cabin soon. Later she said no wood was available except in the woodpile which was a good distance away.

We asked to move and the next night we stayed in cabin 6. It was much better but still not very clean.
The entire experience was not satisfactory.

The cancellation policy is very unforgiving. Read it carefully!! Certainly not up to AAA standards. We will no longer trust AAA recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveler0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Cascade Lodge is an historic old lodge on the north shore of Lake Superior. It is rustic and has a lot of charm. I stayed in the lodge, so cannot comment on the cabins, but they are scattered about the property and look inviting. The lodge is very clean, rooms were small, but well kept.
That said, there are a couple of reservations. The lodge is right on Highway 61, the only through route from Duluth to Canada, so there is a lot of traffic. (Including track traffic.) If you get a lake view room you are going to have a lot of noise. It may be better in the back, with a woods view. The service leaves a bit to be desired. Our room was not even serviced on the day we were there. We didn't bother to complain, since we got back from our day trip around 6pm and didn't want to be bothered at that point. The bed was weird. It seemed comfortable, but was on strange springs, so that if one person even twitched a foot the bed shook. That and the noise were not conducive to a good sleep.
It just depends on what bothers you. If you love the rustic, you will like it. Just take it for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanhjerpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Cabin 9. We certainly wouldn't be staying at this particular cabin again. Let me list what was wrong with the cabin first:
1) Bathroom floor was wet with water from a leak coming out of the toilet.
2) Bathtub was clogged and water collected around my feet as I showered.
3) Large stains on the bed covers. It was disgusting.
4) The room was poorly decorated which is not a big deal except that it gave off the impression that the owners did not care much about guest comfort. Sheets were old and needed replacing. You could find better art at a garage sale than what was in this room.
5) Room service did not include cleaning out of the coffee jug

What was good about the place:
1) One staff member (Canadian guy). Took care of the leaking toilet and was very nice.
2) Had a hair dryer to lend us when we asked for one
3) All staff in restaurant were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank anteres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews