We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic North Shore Lodge- very nice”
Review of Cascade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cascade Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here while sking 2 days at lutsen. Loved the classic historic lodge feel, the main floor has a huge sitting room with lots of comfy furniture- bookshelf games and a fireplace and wonderful piano. in the lower level is a fun game room with pool table pingpong and many other games very quaint. rooms pretty good sized and very clean. staff was very friendly and owner was great. Had very nice shoreline on lake superior. place has a lot of cool factor.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank drake r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thanks for your great review and Email! It was nice meeting you. Hope to see you again sometime. Michael-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Cascade Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 364 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked a 2 night special that included a breakfast for 2 for $119 and felt it was a very good deal. We stayed in room 202 in the lodge which overlooked Lake Superior...very scenic. The room had a newer king bed and a mini fridge. The room was very clean and comfortable. The resort does not have many amenities but does have a kid play area. It is adjacent to Cascade State Park with numerous skiing/hiking trails. Very very beautiful area. Check-in was quick and friendly. The first floor is one large sitting area with a piano. There is a game room in the lower level with pool, table tennis, foosball and some video games.

They have wifi but it did not work very well in our room. Also the resort was not in a coverage area for our cell phones. Not that it matter that much to us but something worth noting.

The resort is 7 miles from Lutsen and 15 miles from Grand Marais. If you like the north woods you will like the area.

I would not recomend this resort for families with teens unless they ski or like to hike. It was very nice and was a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Room 202 is in the corner and has a great view of the lake
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks for your great review of Cascade Lodge on Lake Superior. We take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of our facilities. Perhaps you did not notice our game room in the lower level of the Lodge with a combination of free games like pool, ping pong and video as well as coin operated games. Teens and adults alike spend many hours playing games after they enjoy the great outdoor amenities we have surrounding our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was married at the Cascade Lodge this year! It was the perfect location for us. We are relaxed, outdoorsy, and wanted a small, North Woods cabin style wedding. My mom did the majority of the communication with the staff, but only had good reviews and reports. When I initially contacted the lodge about the wedding, they responded very promptly. The weekend of the wedding, the staff were more than happy to answer any questions or help us with whatever we needed to do. The groom's dinner was catered by the Lodge Restaurant and was delicious. My favorite part about the lodge is the amazing view of Lake Superior. We were able to also take photos down by the lake, and they turned out phenomenally well! For those looking for an intimate, classy-yet-still-Minnesota-North-Woods style wedding, I'd highly recommend Cascade!

One downside was the fact that the Lodge required a two-night weekend stay. For most of our guests this was not a problem, but it might be a slight inconvenience to the bridal party -- we had to creatively book two cabins for the guys and gals, figuring out who needed one and two nights up north. The good news is, the North Shore is home to many beautiful lodges and hotels, so our one-night-only guests were easily able to book accommodations nearby. Just an FYI!

Room Tip: I stayed in Cabin 6 with my bridesmaids. The view in the morning was spectacular. There is a LARGE w...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

We appreciate your great review of Cascade Lodge on Lake Superior. We work very hard at preserving the heritage of this historic piece of property and we LOVE when people like yourself take notice of it. Hope to see you again! Michael, Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The O'Phalen's and Cascade Lodge provided the perfect wedding venue for our daughter this February (2013). The Living Room was charming for the ceremony; the restaurant provided a delicious and hot brunch fare, along with waitstaff that went above and beyond in caring for us during the reception. We couldn't have asked for a better "Up-North, charming, classy and cozy" place to have our daughter's wedding. Thank you to Cascade Lodge for providing wonderful, life-long memories.

Room Tip: We love Cabin 11 - we also found Motel unit 5D to be a perfect fit for 6 of us. (The full kitchen in...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizHolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks Liz! We really enjoyed hosting your family's wedding and appreciate you noticing the extra effort we put into making your experience an unforgettable one! Michael-Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is our second trip to the lodge, same motel room both times by chance and we love it. Small, functional, clean and with a great view of the lake. Easy walk to both the great trails as well as to the bar/restaurant. The snow conditions were poor but we made some nice hikes in it, along the Superior Hiking Trail as well as a local group trail. We made it up to Lookout Mountain, what a great view. We got there on Friday, parked the car and didn't use it again until we were leaving on Sunday.
The food was well priced and very tasty with nice choices, the bar was nice with a great happy hour and nice music both Friday and Saturday night. The help was friendly and helpful. Weak link is the WIFI, but then again we were on vacation so not really a problem.

Room Tip: We like the motel, 5A, sparse but good value.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

While we did find ourself envying the large cabins nestled in the woods, our stay in the motel-style 5A with our two dogs was well-worth the Living Social deal. With included snowshoe or ski rental, we were able to explore the surrounding area with what looked like nearly new rental equipment. Just 10 miles south of the adorable town of Grand Marais, don't miss a stop at The Gun Flint Tavern up there.

Overall, the room was small - cozy for the four of us - but clean, and the staff was great. The bar and restaurant next door is a great way to wrap up long days trekking in the woods. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent the long weekend in cabin 12, it was a really comfy and cozy cabin, overlooking the frozen creek. Fireplace was great as it was below 0 most of our stay. Jacuzzi tub was huge and great for after a long day skiing at Lutsen mountain. We went to the restaurant 3 times. Once each for dinner, dessert and breakfast. Service is good, food is good and they had live music. Don't miss the Carmel rolls, yum. We will definitely stay again, maybe in the summer or fall. Great that you can take your pet, we have an elderly dog and she was very comfortable. Speaking of comfortable, the king bed was great, slept like a log! Could use some minor updating. Overall no complaints, you can tell the management and employees care a great deal about guest experience.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank lupyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
17.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
9.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
5.7 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: 3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range: $84 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing