We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fall Color visit and then again in late October.”
Review of Cascade Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cascade Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fall Color visit and then again in late October.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rented Cabin #2 for fall color time because it has a nice fireplace. Fall Color was excellent,
Salmon were running in the Cascade River and food was good at the Restaurant. Enjoy the evenings in the cabins as it feels historic and the fireplace is always enjoyable. The location of the resort is key for me. Near everything and hiking just outside the door. Returned again at the end of October just because it's a enjoyable time. Rented Cabin #1 the last trip because of the view of the lake.Again the fireplace is nice and there was a new hardwood floor and a rocker near the fireplace which is great. Cons? As you rent closer to the road you might get some semi truck noise from time to time if you're a light sleeper. As in most resorts you will hear
some car doors slamming from the early risers. Pro is that you can walk to the restaurant and get a excellent breakfast and have a few drinks with your dinners as you don't have to drive anywhere. Prices are good for all meals. Everything is quite good. My friend was very happy
about the Lookout Burger. I'm fond of the soups and a perfect BLT. Fish is very good!
Hike, sightsee and eat the good food. Very enjoyable overall as always. Can't wait to go back in the springtime 2013 to see waterfall season.

Room Tip: Cabins are private and enjoyable with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wesscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    107
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
87
166
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

FALL is a wonderful time to visit the Lodge and stay in one of their many cozy cabins. The cabins are "log cabin" nostalgic. They are tastefully deocrated and each has a cozy little fireplace for those cool and sometimes chilly Fall evenings. You can dine in or take a short walk down the hill to the Cascade Lodges' fine restaurant. Their award winning "Eggs Benedict" are our choice for a winning start to the day. We love to hear the sound of the rushing water in the nearby stream.Just down the road is the Cascade Falls State Park and we often take the scenic hike there. Photo opts abound....and waterfalls are a wonder. It is no wonder why we keep returning to the Cascade Lodge and environs. Owners Michael and Maureen are the best hosts!!!!! Location: Minnesota's scenic North Shore at Lutsen!

Room Tip: A cabin by the stream is not only scenic but soothing with the sound of the cascading stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Cascade Lodge. Suite 104 was peaceful and relaxing. Just what we were looking for. When we come to the North Shore in the future, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. The breakfast package was a very good value for us. The restaurant isn't fancy but is very good. We really enjoyed the happy hour. It was nice that you could get to the hiking trails right from the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmavenMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Styaed in one of the smaller rooms in the lodge. Nice place, comfortable bed, clean bathroom. Location was perfect with many hiking trails right on the premises and in the surrounding State Park. The restuarnat next tot eh lodge had good food for a very resonable price. Close to Grand Marais only about 10 min. away.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the lake, 220 seems to be the largest room on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The lodge is located right on Highway 61, North of Lutsen and 10 miles South of Grand Marais. I stayed here for 4 nights using it as a base to hike sections of the nearby Superior Hiking Trail. For hikers and nature lovers the lodge is in an excellent location, as it is located in walking distance to both the SHT and nearby Cascade River State Park. Trails on the grounds of the lodge connect to both the SHT and those in the state park. The Cascade River, with its dramatic waterfalls, is a naturalists delight and while I was there in mid-September it was possible to get up close for a view of salmon running, as they moved from Lake Superior into the mouth of the Cascade. Near the lodge is the first-rate Cascade Restaurant, which offers excellent breakfasts.
After a day of hiking, I especially appreciated the complimentary coffee, tea, and granola bars available in the lobby of the Lodge. Because I had an extended stay of 4 nights and am an AARP member, the Lodge gave me a discounted rate. I ended up paying $108/night for my room, which seems very reasonable for the touristy North Shore. One bit of cautionary advice: Try not to be booked into room 101. It comes with a nice kitchenette, but is inconveniently located right next to the communal front room which affords lovely views of Lake Superior. For anyone in Room 101, chatter and laughter from other guests playing games or having conversations nearby are likely to disturb.

Room Tip: Don't book Room 101 unless you're prepared to be disturbed by other guests in the main commu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floyd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just enjoyed four days at Cascade Lodge in Cabin #1. It is a beautiful cabin of logs which you just wish could talk as the stories they could tell would be magnificent. we have breakfast ech day at the restaurant and it was excellent. The caramel rolls are to die for! The lake was beautiful, sun every day and the Blue Moon on Friday night was outrageously beautiful! We drove to Magney State Park and my husband hiked to Devils Kettle and the pix are gorgeous. We drove to the Heritage Center at Grand Portage and was well worth the trip. We enjoyed the typical food, skizzles at the Donut Shop, Chili at My Sisters and poked in all the shops and sat and watched the ducks in the harbor. A perfect four of a weekend at Cascade. The O'Phalens are gracious hosts and the children and families and 'pets' all had a wonderful time. We fully support all lodging that welcomes pets as part of the family, it is an extremely important issue for us. Even when we travel without our pet, we still support the 'pets welcome' lodgings. I would recommend Cascade for families, groups, seniors, honeymooners or anyone interested in comfort, good food, friendly staff and ultra clean cabins!

Room Tip: For two I'd choose Cabins 1, 2, 3 and then Cabin 11 which is the original homestead is private a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

First of all, the North Shore of Lake Superior is beautiful and we had a good time. The owners are very nice, but the weather was hot and muggy and our room had no air-conditioning. Our bath tub drain did not work, the bed was way to soft (old mattress?), and the room and bathroom very small. The tough winters in Minnesota are hard on buildings I understand, but the woodwork was peeling away around the windows, etc. - I probably would try another place next time but the owners were so nice I might stay again. I don't know.

Room Tip: We heard that a couple rooms had air-conditioning, ask for one if it's hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrblumis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are always updating and working on our property. We truly hope you return. Rooms 204, 212 and 202 have had makeovers. Room 214 and Suite 104 are both air conditioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
17.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.7 mi away
Solbakken on Superior
9.1 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Property: Cascade Lodge
Address: 3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing