We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected”
Review of Lutsen Mountains

Lutsen Mountains
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: World class scenery and terrain. The ancient Sawtooth Mountains rise 1000 feet above the coast of Lake Superior-topography unlike any other Midwest locale. And that brings more of what you want in a ski trip. More runs. More elevation. More epic days. You'll find the very best Mid-America has to offer-the highest mountains, the most snow, and the breathtaking beauty of the North Shore. Lutsen offers 95 sweeping runs over four mountains with a lift-serviced vertical rise more than double that of other regional resorts.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We live equally as close to Lutsen Mountain as we do to the Colorado Rockies so it seems a bit crazy to choose Minnesota for skiing. We found Lutsen Mountain to be a nice size. In 2 days of skiing we never ran out of runs or challenges. It was wicked cold but we had lots of snow. We went over President's Day weekend. On Friday we had our run of the place, on Saturday is was busy.

We were able to bring our cooler into the Chalet at the base of the mountain for lunch. There is also food to purchase. The Chalet was a zoo on Saturday. Everyone is trying to save tables for people who aren't there so those who are actually there end up standing to eat.

We rented our equipment from Lutsen Recreation Inc. which is in a blue building on the left as you drive in on Ski Hill Road . Very nice, helpful people there. Rates are very competitive and I believe a little easier to use than the one associated with the ski mountain.

The best thing about Lutsen Mountain is the views! Spectacular views of Lake Superior as you ski. We had a beautiful sunny day and it was breathtaking. If you don't want to ski you can ride the gondola to the top of the mountain for $12 and hang out at the upper Chalet.

The ski runs at Lutsen Mountain aren't as long as in Colorado and there's a few that have spots without any slope - had to do a bit of cross country. Overall it's a great place. Lots of other things to do in the area for a varied trip. Some in our group tried snowboarding.

Thank AdventuresinOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM_Customer_Service, Customer Services at Lutsen Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us here at Lutsen Mountains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 228 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was a fun mountain to ski on. There were three main mountains to choose from. The lifts were a little difficult to get to, but they were fast once we got on. The gondola was very convenient when it was running. One of the days it was too windy for it to run safely. It was a fun experience!!

Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM_Customer_Service, Customer Services at Lutsen Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip here with us and look forward to having you back with us for another ski trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Place is totally packed, absolute horrible experience. Spoiled snow boarder brats all over the place destroying the hills scrapping them down to bare ice. Extremely over priced, terrible customer service. Crowds, crowds, crowds

2  Thank Adventurerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM_Customer_Service, Customer Services at Lutsen Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We really value our customers and strive for excellent service and are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. If you would be willing to email us at customerservice@lutsen.com we would be happy to discuss the details of your experience with us. Thank you, Lutsen Mountains Customer Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Have been here for an annual trip two years in a row now. I am a new skier and have taken advantage of lessons both years- hit or miss depending on instructor but still quite helpful. Lots of variety of greens and blues for new skiers with enough tougher stuff to keep my more experienced husband happy too.

1  Thank MNJenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM_Customer_Service, Customer Services at Lutsen Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your experiences with our ski school staff here at Lutsen Mountains! Thank you for taking the time share your experiences. ~Lutsen Mountains Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The only day worth skiing is Saturday. Otherwise you can expect the absolute bare minimal of chair lifts running and forcing you to get off, halfway up the hill. Ski in ski out? Only if you feel like walking or skating 1000 yards at the bottom. 1 chair lift for Moose Mountain is horrible and not having a person on top of mystery mountain is a joke.

Thank SRH-1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM_Customer_Service, Customer Services at Lutsen Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent trip to Lutsen Mountains. Customer feedback is very important to us as we strive to provide excellent customer service and apologize that your expectations were not met. If you would be willing to email us at customerservice@lutsen.com we would be happy to discuss with you your concerns and our midweek operating schedule. Sincerely, Lutsen Mountains Customer Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lutsen Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing