We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine slide rocks”
Review of Lutsen Mountains

Lutsen Mountains
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: World class scenery and terrain. The ancient Sawtooth Mountains rise 1000 feet above the coast of Lake Superior-topography unlike any other Midwest locale. And that brings more of what you want in a ski trip. More runs. More elevation. More epic days. You'll find the very best Mid-America has to offer-the highest mountains, the most snow, and the breathtaking beauty of the North Shore. Lutsen offers 95 sweeping runs over four mountains with a lift-serviced vertical rise more than double that of other regional resorts.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Alpine slide rocks”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Alpine slide is a must, especially if you travel with children. Also, the tram to the Moose Mountain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FelixCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    73
    19
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FUN FUN FUN”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Alpines slides, hiking and beautiful views make the Lutsen mountains an ideal vaction spot no matter what the season. The area could use a few more restaurants and maybe another resort too! Would be nice to have a few more options to choose from.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mmhhiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Alpine Slide-Love, LOve, LOVE IT!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I have been going down the Alpine Slide for years--first with little ones in our laps, and now it's just us in our 50's. Such a super fun experience. Those who are a little timid can go slower (and will likely see wildlife on the way down) and those who love a fast, furious sliding ride will blast down the mountain. Even the chairlift ride up is beautiful & relaxing with outstanding views of the mountains and Lake Superior. Any and every age will love this ride.

NOTE: It is a bit challenging for my slim 6'6"-tall husband to fit on the sled. He has to be careful not to go too fast or he can crash his knees into the concrete slide. But even he can go down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MNAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Summer family Get-away- Caribou Highlands Resort”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family of 15- 7 grandchildren- 8 adults just returned from a great vacation in northern MN.at the Caribou Highlands Resort in Lutsen. One would normally think to go there for winter skiing but we found it to be a fun summer vacation as well. We stayed in a four bedroom Poplar Ridge home. We had plenty of space, a fully equipped kitchen, deck with grill, etc. Although the weather didn't completely cooperate, there seemed to be plenty to do. The kids loved the indoor/outdoor pools, Alpine Slide, canoeing, Gondola ride to the top of Lutsen MT., hiking along the Superior Hiking Trail, golf ( with wonderful views of Lake Superior), and many other family events.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“alpine slide simple fun”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went with the family to Lutsen and rode the Gondola and went down the alpine slide. The Gondola was fun although wished you could get better control of the windows because the day was hot and having the bottem window shut was stuffy.

the alpine slide on the other hand was great fun. I went down with my 3 year old between by legs and he enjoyed being able to tell me to slow down and speed up. Because he could slow it down at times he totally enjoyed the ride and so we rode it 4-5 times. My oldest of course loved the experience trying to go faster and faster. One other perk was see a gopher one time by the side of the slide while going down. Another time saw a snake skin. There is not much of a view otherwise but the mountain flowers were in bloom and that was lovely to see as you coasted down the mountain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Didi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lutsen Mountains also viewed

 

Been to Lutsen Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing