We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Mountain Skiing in the Midwest!”
Review of Lutsen Mountains

Lutsen Mountains
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: World class scenery and terrain. The ancient Sawtooth Mountains rise 1000 feet above the coast of Lake Superior-topography unlike any other Midwest locale. And that brings more of what you want in a ski trip. More runs. More elevation. More epic days. You'll find the very best Mid-America has to offer-the highest mountains, the most snow, and the breathtaking beauty of the North Shore. Lutsen offers 95 sweeping runs over four mountains with a lift-serviced vertical rise more than double that of other regional resorts.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big Mountain Skiing in the Midwest!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is as good as it gets in the Midwest, and it's really good. Huge area with great vertical. On top of all of that we also got 6+ inches of real powder and were still carving fresh tracks well into the afternoon. Definitely worth the drive from Chicago.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    73
    19
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My second visit to Lutsen in 6 years. The skiing and snow boarding at Lutsen Mountain was wonderful; snow was mostly man-made, yet in good condition. My son (experienced boarder) and his girlfriend (beginner) had a great time! The only draw-back was the limited number of green runs for the beginner...and, we stayed off-mountain (will not do that agian). My 7-hour drive from the flat plains was well worth it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beatkeeper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Summer or fall destination too!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

There is an alpine slide that is super long and fun! You can purchase individual ride tickets, a booklet, or get a wristband and ride for hours. The ride up the lift to the top of the hill is fun all by itself. Great views of Lake Superior!

The mountain tram departs not far from where the slide ends and the gift shop is. You can buy a combo slide/tram ticket if you'd like to do both, which I recommend! The tram takes you across a rocky stream bed and through the trees until going straight up the mountain side. Eeeek! Exciting and fun! Once you get to the other side you can grab a snack or beverage at the new chalet or hike around the trails. Beautiful!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzette38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thanks for nothing!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Drove 140 miles to take the gondola ride and check out the view at the height of the leave turning. Woke up early, checked the lutsen website and saw that they were open daily (including the restaurant) through October. So off we go. Imagine our surprise when we get there only to find the gondola closed for maintenance and the restaurant not open till 5:00pm (website said it opened at 10:00am). There was nobody around except for a super rude gal at the gift shop. Yup, we really enjoyed our Lutsen experience. I especially appreciated not receiving a response to my e-mail about our experience. Yup, when I tell my friends about our North Shore vacation, Lutsen is a key talking point. So, thanks for the customer service! You guys and the Cable company rock...NOT!

Helpful?
8 Thank stony651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poplar townhouse”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

quiet, real wood fireplaces; problem with one of the toilets which was an emergency with immediate response/service and discount on room for our trouble. Leaves hadn't really turned yet and snowed the saturday after we leftg; very responsive staff; townhouses are smaller than it looks in pictures but nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hanaalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lutsen Mountains also viewed

 

Been to Lutsen Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing