We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed in a Sea Villa Condo with loft which was about a mile from the main lodge and its rooms. The Sea Villa Condos are all clustered together on the shore of Lake Superior and have their own indoor swimming pool and rec area nearby. The condo was 'compact' in a nautical sort of way. Getting to the loft was a ladder rather than stairs but the kids really liked it. The appliances all worked and there was nice kettle charcoal barbecue outside the sliding door to the deck. Every morning we woke to hear the crashing waves and the beautiful lake sparkling away into the horizon. There may not be another place like this in the United States. There is lots to do nearby including fishing trips, an extremely challenging but beautiful PGA grade golf course, and little slider cars in chutes at the ski resort. You could also drive to the Lutsen resort building and check out clubs to play their little Par 3 pitch and putt course (very rough but playable and fun with the kids). We also went on a kayak trip out onto Lake Superior which was a thrill but also difficult due to weather conditions. Not for the weak-hearted, that!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 459 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

I am reviwing a 1 bedroom sea villa at Lutsen resort. We usually stay at the Poplar townhouses, but decided to try the sea villas with our baby girl. The room had a loft which would be great if you had 3 kids that were old enough to clime up the ladder on their own. The villa was too small for our pack n play though, so I would head back to the poplar townhouses next time (which are also newer and nicer, though farther from the water). These are great, but not right for our family yet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Our stay at Lutsen was the MOST PERFECT FAMILY BACATION (as my grand daughter would say). This resort is situated on Lake Superior with magnificent views.
We stayed in the Cliff Townhomes on the hill. We were so pleasantly surprised how cozy, clean and spacious the townhomes were and the magnificent view from the windows.
The first day we arrived a little late in the evening, so we enjoyed the walk down to the beach and sitting around the resort's bonfire; great way to relax; stopped in the resort's restaurant to eat a little something before retiring.
The days following were wonderful. We had a delicious and fulfilling breakfast at the restaurant consisting of pancakes and bagels and lox. We took a several hikes around the resort area; the secenry is beautiful, enjoyed the pool, played a little shuffle board, took the gondola up Moose Mountain, rode down the one mile slide, drove up to Grand Marais which a quaint town down the road, shopped, ate at the Dockside restaurant situated on Lake Superior, and so many other things. Looking forward to going back and taking up kayaking, and the rest of the activities the resort has to offer.
The staff was expecially pleasant and helpful in answering any questions we had.
We cannot wait to go back.
MY #1 VACATION PICK!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpr2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I recently travelled to Minnesota's North Shore and chose the Lutsen Lodge as our lodging. The place is old (the current building was built in the 1950's) but maintains the charm and ambience of another time. We stayed in a lodge room, which was small and older, but perfectly in character for the lodge. The bathroom was tiny by modern standards, but adequate. The great thing about this place is the public rooms and the location. It's right on Lake Superior and the lobby and dining room are perfect, with beautiful lake views. Excellent place to get away from the world, though there are telephones and TV's in the rooms. Great trails for hiking right on the property. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggcuplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We ended up here completely by accident as we weren't happy with our proposed accommodations in Two Harbors. It looked nice so we popped in. It reminded me of places we stayed at when I was a child. Just a nice, authentic, charming place with shuffleboard, bon fires, game room, etc. The restaurant had better food than we expected, and all the desserts were homemade too. The pub was nice too, and had an outdoor area with live entertainment. They didn't have a room availbable for us at the actual resort, so we stayed at the sea villas cottages, but spent time at the resort. The cottages are rustic, but great views of Lake Superior, and you can sit listening to the waves hit the shore.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Having a family owned business and needing to travel across the nation for work we value the time we can take for family vaction/trips. When we decided to go for a long weekend we felt that Lutsen would be a good choice. We rented a Sea Villa.

What we liked:

The view was everything we hoped for, relaxing and peaceful.
The pool area was clean.

What let us down:

The bed was worse then what you would get in a Super 8, and the price was greater then a Hilton.
The bathroom smelled horribly of urine.
The shower doors fell off.
The refigerator was broken.
The picnic table on the deck was dry rotting.
We were told by the front desk a rate that was $80.00 per night cheaper then what we had booked for and they would not honor the lower rate.
The Villa looked like it was a college party type hang out, yet it was extremly expensive.

Do not stay here, there are a lot of facilities to choose from that will give you the same view.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1man4girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We arrived at Lutsen Resort for our 5th anniversary after leaving another resort disgusted and desperate for a room on a holiday weekend. The desk manager Bob was extremely helpful and let us look at each of the rooms that were available and we were interested in. We choose a room in the Popular Condo's that faced the lake. The room was similar to a studio hotel suite and was extremely clean and welcoming. The large whirlpool bath tub and shady back deck was the weekend extremely relaxing. The cost of the resort was offset by the many activities that were available to guests to take part in, sea kayaking, fly fishing, and beautiful bonfires on the stone beach at night . We only had one meal at the pub, the staff was extremely friendly and laid back, the food was good, beer was cold. We will definitely return with friends and family to share our experience and look into one of the large master lofts that Bob had originally tempted us with at check in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBittick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
7.3 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
19.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
19.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
1.6 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
1.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Address: 5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutsen Resort On Lake Superior Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing