We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing North Shore Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at the Lutsen Resort for 4 nights at the end of June'09. There are several accommodation choices at the resort, including the Main Lodge, Poplar River Condos, Townhomes, Log Cabins and the Sea Villas down the road from the main lodge. We opted for the Poplar River condo's, which are newer and really beautiful. Our room had a gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, large windows overlooking the trees/river & Lake Superior and a small deck off the room. We got the special which included breakfast and we had the breakfast buffet each morning which was pretty good (other than the pancakes seemed to always be burned but we would wait for the next batch and that was generally much better). The resort includes many free activities, including kayaking lessons, guided hikes & morning yoga (as well as many others). Take advantage of these. There are also fire pits right on the beach so you you can have a bonfire in the evenings - free marshmallows at the check-in desk and then they'll sell you the graham crackers & chocolate for smores - YUM! The North Shore is a really beautiful place to visit and the Lutsen Resort is very relaxing place to stay, with a long history. We would definitely go back there.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank oneworldmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 452 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

Although we thought we were heading to Duluth we were pleasantly surprised two later when we arrived at the Lutsen Lodge. We began our stay in the lodge but moved to the Sea Villas because here the deal - the lodge has great kids and family activities but the villas offered more spacious rooms right on the lake. The staff here are BEYOND Minnesota nice. Andy makes an amazing maple syrup latte, Jen and Darell gave us great trail run locations and Nick did an excellent job guiding us down the lake. Make sure you go kayaking and don't leave without enjoying a meal at Papa Charlies.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed in a three bedroom townhouse with beautiful views of Lake Superior. There is a lot to do, a large beach, campfires, great pool, hot tub. Trails nearby for hiking and even a nice walk on the property. Cute par three golf course that the kids played over and over. Frisbee golf too but we ran out of time for that. Lots of stairs to get to different levels of the resort but not a problem for us. Beautiful! Canoeing trip to Sawbill Lake was a highlight!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veldfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

In March of 2009, my fiance and I started at one end of the covered bridge (over the Poplar River) as single people and got off the bridge on the other end as a married couple. The food that was served for our meal (37 total guests) is still being raved about as with the friendliness of the entire staff and the accomodations. If we talked about all the beauty and excellence of this trip, we would run out of room. Lutsen is higly recommended by all that attended this wedding, even the warm blooded folks from Arizona and Florida loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaliceMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We spent the weekend at the cozy, northwoods lodge during a wine and food weekend. The food was fabulous and the wines were memorable. Everyone was courteous from the reception desk to the waiters. The atmosphere was relaxed and casual. This was a great place to unwind and slow one's pace from a hectic life!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walkerDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I brought in a large group of friends (adults) and their kids for a big meal at their main lodge and restaurant at 5:30 pm on a Sunday night. There was NO one in the restaurant when we came and maybe 4 or 5 others were in the place. We called beforehand and had it approved, BEFORE we arrived, that we could order off their lunch menu as well as their dinner menu--they fully agreed. Therefore we came to dinner at their Resort. I would guess that 8-10 of our group ordered a full dinner off their evening menu and maybe 6 other ordeded off their lunch menu and the kids ordered off the kids menu and many ordered dessert as well.

Their waitress was not only condescending but made it clear to ALL that she did not like the fact that not all of us ordered the dinner menu items. She was rude, angry and condescending and the management did not care either.

We planned to eat there the next two nights but canceled as a reslut of how poorly we were treated!! There was no apology or any sense of being sorry for the quality of their food or for terrible service. Be careful in going to this lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HLICguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Exactly what you'd expect from the North Shore! We had a nice, clean reasonable room in the main lodge. It was warm and comfortable and we lacked for nothing. If you're looking for a modern hotel room this might not be for you as it is a historic old Lodge and should be appreciated for that aspect. We enjoyed some cribbage in the main lodge in front of windows providing a view of our beloved Lake Superior. We had a very nice breakfast and were well attended to in the dinning room. We were completely satisfied with a brisk walk along the shore looking for agates. We plan to return and rent a Villa for the Holidays.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akkamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
19.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
7.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
19.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
1.6 mi away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
1.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Address: 5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range: $92 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutsen Resort On Lake Superior Hotel Lutsen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing