We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel, but don't expect too much from staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lino Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I'm not usually one to write a bad review. We were staying here in a large group for a youth hockey tournament. We were invited last minute to this tournament, so we booked late, the hotel wouldn't honor the group rate. By its self, not a big deal, but, my line of thinking is that with this large group of hockey families had filled their hotel, I would think that they would be interested in helping us out a little bit. There were plenty of rooms left, just didn't seem to care.

Next issue, we were given a smoking room which would normally be ok, but the odor was pretty strong, the people before us must have been smoking cigars in the room. Our youngsters asthma acted up pretty bad. We brought it up at the desk, apologized, and asked what could be done, because the room wasn't going to work with the asthma, so I asked if i could pay for a room upgrade. The hotel clerk didn't say a word, she walked away, came back, and handed us a can of febreze. I couldn't even get enough of a conversation to get the room upgraded, so I walked away from the desk, and called the hotel by phone, then I was able to pay another $20 on the rate to upgrade.

Lastly, The last night, we were discussing the extra 45 bucks on the room rate, and we were told that there is a discount advertised right on the website for 20% off for US Hockey Team members. I brought this up to the clerk, in front of several people, she giggled about it and said, "I know its on the website, but we just don't honor that offer"

I after interacting with several staff members, I got a feeling that they just didn't care too much.
So I did some digging, and I found on some other sites, reviews that consistently said similar things, that its a nice place, but if any issues arise, don't count on any interest in the staff to help you out.

with the large number of hotels in the immediate area, I would have to suggest finding a different one. The service issue really turned me off, and i would especially think that might be a little too much of a risk to take with large groups such as ours.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommyj62983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes, we are grateful for your feedback. I was disappointed to hear that you experienced such poor service while you were here, as we strive for 100% satisfaction. If you would be so kind as to contact me at your earliest convenience, I would appreciate an opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay.

Warmest Regards,

Scott Grell
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes MN
763-746-7999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 419 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is another amazing Hampton Inn! We have never been disappointed. We were able to have an early check in since we are silver Hilton Honors members, which was nice since my husband had just had outpatient surgery and needed to rest. The staff was helpful, making sure we had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet, ensuring a good night's rest. Breakfast was very good. I would stay here again and will definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Rooms are very spacious. I did not eat breakfast but grabbed a breakfast bag to go.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaSueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a well-managed Hampton Inn. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished - it is one of the newer Hampton Inns. The free breakfast is especially good, with waffles, another hot dish every morning (French toast, omelets, scrambled eggs), plus cereals, hot oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, juices, coffee & tea. The staff is professional and attentive. We plan to stay here again when in the area visiting relatives.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank storkonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Rooms are large and come with refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker, Ironing board and iron. Botique hotel feel with walk in shower and extra comfortable bed. I was in the area for business purposes and the sfatf was extra helpful in trying to accomodate my late check out needs. I particularly enjoyed the sound of croaking frogs in the field when pulling into the parking area, and the do it yourself waffles in the breakfast area. I received a business rate which made the experience the best value I've had in years. Will definately reccomend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in December for two nights and had a great experience. Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable, and really topped off the wonderful time we had here. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, property all together was clean, breakfast was great, and hotel was very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0ve2Travel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Amazing service, amazing breakfast, amazing staff. Gorgeous rooms, beds were super comfortable. Pool and whirlpool area was very relaxing and enjoyable. Room was exceptionally clean, as were the hallways and dining area. Smoking and non smoking rooms. Smoking room we had smelt very good and not like stale smoke. The only two problems I had was completely resolved and my stay was completely refunded, and they let us stay the next day until check out completely free. Unbelievable service. Hampton Inn sets the standard for hotels. It was amazing, beyond anything within several miles that isn't 300 dollars a night.

Room Tip: Choose Hampton Inn, thats the best tip I know of. Sure you may pay 20 dollars more but at least you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bradleyp138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lino Lakes
8.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Chisago City
9.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul Northeast
9.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Paul Northeast
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Paul ...
#2 of 3 in Vadnais Heights
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes

Address: 579 Apollo Dr, Lino Lakes, MN 55014-3005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lino Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lino Lakes
Price Range: $102 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes Hotel Lino Lakes
Hampton Inn And Suites Lino Lakes
Hampton Inn Lino Lakes
Lino Lakes Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing