We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Scanlan House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Lanesboro B&B and Inns
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average B&B”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Scanlon house in Lansboro, MN is a beautifully restored old house. I have to agree with the other reviewers though; just too much stuff. Every table/surface is covered with draping cloth, plastic flowers with a few beautiful antiques mixed in . Our room was very large and comfortable. The bed linens were so wrinkled and loose on the king size bed, I was afraid they had not been changed from the previous occupants. That kind of creeped me out. The towels are old and need replacing. The breakfast was very good, 3 courses including dessert. There was plenty of food. The coffee was awful; could hardly call it coffee, more like flavored water. The hostess was very pleasant and helpful. All in all, the experience was ok but would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1234wny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our second anniversary this June. The staff was friendly. We stayed in the Masquerade room, which was lovely and very cozy. We loved sitting out on the private balcony at night, beautiful trees and water running sounds from the fountain. There were a couple of strange things about staying there, including that one of the four poster bed's posts nearly fell off when I put my hand on it. Reported it to the staff, so hopefully that was fixed. :)
The two person tub in the bathroom was definitely the highlight of our evening. It was relaxing, they provide candles and a lighter to make the atmosphere a romantic one.
Overall, not the best B&B I've stayed in, but I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTecken91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Attractive Victorian house, and from the looks of things, the nicest in Lanesboro (a great little town where we thoroughly enjoyed our time). But in our experience as regular B&B-ers, it is overpriced. We stayed two nights, and the breakfasts were almost identical. Hospitality was minimal (we barely saw the staff, but some people like that). We booked the largest suite, which was supposed to come with complimentary champagne and a fresh fruit platter in the evening --but it was only provided one of the two nights. The "champagne" was two little single-serving bottles (no romantic pop), and the "fruit platter" was a dessert size plate with three strawberries, a couple of truffles, and some antipasti. Like the B&B as a whole, it was nicely presented but didn't live up to the hype.

Room Tip: Choose one of the less expensive rooms (not the Safari Suite) and only stay one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a lovely home, and we were perfectly pleased with our room, the Masquerade. The double whirlpool tub was the biggest we had ever seen.
The reviewers that indicate that there is a lot of "stuff" in the house, that is very true. It's a unique home because there is a living room and a sitting room available for guests. These rooms are both a bit overwhelming in their decor...Victorian antiques EVERYWHERE, including a cabinet full of dolls. Just know that when you go.
As for the breakfast, we were disappointed. We read reviews from a few years ago and we can honestly say that this was the smallest breakfast we have ever had at a B&B, and we aren't "big" eaters by any means. A photo on this site shocked us...we had the same breakfast, but the egg dish was much smaller, we had a mini muffin, as opposed to a large one, and we had much less fruit. No other bread or pastry on the tables, which is really unusual. We've never stayed at a B&B and then actually had lunch...but we did both days we stayed at Scanlon. (One last "picky" thing -- the woman that served us breakfast on Sunday morning was barefoot...I found that odd and a bit unsanitary.)
It was a "Living Social" deal that brought us here, but we will not return, and would have been disappointed paying full price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedrestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Historic Scanlan House. Very cozy, very clean, lovely large room - Steeple Suite, a warm welcome by Mary with a nice overview of all the available treats and comforts of the house, a hearty and delicious 3 course breakfast, and many kitties in the garden. We were there celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary for on a two day visit which included a bicycling day along the Root River Trail. Had noce meals at the Old Village Hall and at Pedal Pushers in Lanesboro and at Los Gables for lunch in Fountain during the 35 mile biking day. The 9 am sit down breakfast can be a bit much for those who don't like to make small talk with strangers like my husband, but I enjoyed the opportunity to visit with others and hear about their travel experiences. Thank you, Historic Scanlan House! Hope to return some day for a GirlFriend's getaway with my Mom and Sister.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CariocaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous gardens, not just at Scanlan House, but throughout so much of the town of Lanesboro. The bicycle rentals are so easy with their connection to Little River General Store. Love the location being just a couple blocks up from the main part of town, so it's not on too busy of a street. We love the new guest pantry area that was put in, where we can serve ourselves anytime with hot chocolate, tea, coffee, sodas, popcorn or other snacks. The breakfast is amazing every time! We stayed in the Safari Suite this time and couldn't have been happier with our splurge. Our own private sitting area, private porch and entry, and parking space. We just love coming back, and Scanlan House keeps getting better and better!

Room Tip: Largest rooms are the suites. They have a separate bathroom with shower and a wonderful good sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here at least 3 times and it would be our first choice in
Lanesboro if we go back there again. Victorian decorating is over the top and the antiques in this place alone are something to see. The three course breakfast did not
permit us to eat lunch. Sure breakfast is at 9 so I got up and biked 20-30 miles before breakfast. I love this placeA!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laid_back_cycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
14.0 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
18.6 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
#1 of 2 in Lanesboro
417 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Historic Scanlan House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Scanlan House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Historic Scanlan House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 708 Parkway Ave S, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9733
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loose yourself in time! A fully restored 1889 Queen Anne Victorian Mansion that appeals to the romantic in all of us and gives the peace and quite that we all desire. All guest rooms and suites have a private bath with two person whirlpools and/or fireplaces. All are decorated and furnished inn Victorian with modern day amenities. Rates include a full gourmet breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing