We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat facility and Helpful Staff.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brewster's Red Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
La Valle
1 review
“Neat facility and Helpful Staff.”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The owner, Mark, was very accessable and always looking for ways to accomodate us. He helped repair my bike and gave us good tips on local attractions. The Hotel is pretty basic but VERY clean and everything they provided worked perfectly. My only complaint would be the pillows which were kind of 'foam rubbery' - If you're used to down pillows, bring your own. Overall ...we had a great stay and the price, as well as the location, was the best around. We're gooing back next week.
glenn

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennLaValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
15
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had a large family reunion in Lanesbooro in July. Various members rented almost everything that Brewsters offered. We all had a great time and were happy with the quality of the accomodations. The apartments, sleeping rooms and elmwood were all very good value! The stairs are definetley present but you can park on the top by the apartments for better access. The beautiful decks, firepit and sense of privacy were excellent and I would recomend hardily. The location is also central to everything Lanesboro offers! We also liked the self service nature, we came and went as though it was home, yet the the linen was changed and it was cleaned daily!
Very Good, unless you feel you must be pampered, than please stay at the Ritz!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Brewster's Red Hotel is a blast from the past...
When you check in... the key to your room is in the door. Soda and water are available for 50 cents on the honor system - you put your money in a coffee can! The vibe is easy and fun. This is my eighth year staying at the Inn. I've stayed in the cozy rooms, the 1-BR apartments(all named for species of wood!) and the cute cottage and they are all great. Be prepared for lots of stairs as the Inn is on a hill with a beautiful yard, patio, decks and garden. Loads of fun things to do in town - bike trails are excellent and the river is fantastic. Casual, relaxing and fun! Love it!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdie1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Brewster's in dead center downtown right on the famous Root River Trail. The town has been a vacation spot since the the days the RR would bring folks in. Now, the very railroad bed that brought the tourists long ago is now a paved bike and hiking trail that runs along the Root River. Lanesboro is a picture postcard of a Victorian town set between massive limestone hills. The guy who owns the place is also a fine carpenter, and he's built some rental units (apts w/decks) above the old hotel building. Our apartment was literally hand-finished in knotty pine--from the furniture to the molding is all hand made. Central A/C. Immaculately kept. Shower dispenser with shampoo, cond., and soap. Everything homey and first class all the way. Outside our apt. was a gigantic wrap around deck that looked down on the forested hill, the downtown, and was a great place to mellow out with a few beers after riding the trail all day and watch dusk settle in to this gorgeous little town. We're from Iowa City, and though it's 4 hours from home, you feel like you're in the foothills of the Rockies. Amazing. And the town has some pretty good down home restaurants and a couple of upscale ones. Pies rule. German food with home made sausages and wursts... all within a block of the hotel. What a great weekend get away, and I'll bet the leaves turning the fall would be gorgeous here. My wife and I got much more than we expected from this little town and this little hotel. Crime free and pie laden. Uffdah!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big-Steve-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We recently stayed in Lanesboro (a beautiful town) for the weekend. We had booked 2 rooms at Brewster's Red Hotel based in part, on the comments on this site. We were very disappointed when we arrived. First, the lady at check-in said the the keys were in the door. Nope. Back down many flights of stairs to go get them. Then, the room that my husband, daughter, and I were to stay in was approximately 90 degrees and there were no instructions as to how to turn the a/c on. Back down the many flights of stairs. The same lady grumbled about how "Mark" (???) wasn't there, and then trudged up the steps, complaining about her knees. Apparently, they had to go into the ANOTHER unit to turn our a/c on. She did it and said it should cool off soon. It didn't work. We went down later to ask if she could look into it and said that "Mark" was gone but that when he returned, they would look at it. All of us spent most of that night in my mom's room on ground floor that was much better in terms of temperature.

By nightfall, our room still was over 80 degrees and we ended up switching rooms with my mom (hauling baby stuff down the stairs....no lights outside..they were turned off) so that our infant daughter could sleep. The next day it was better, but my mom (now in the Pine Apt) didn't sleep well because of the heat and the loud people in the unit next to her (thin walls). In the morning, we went to the office to get the complimentary coffee and muffins, but the door was locked. The next day in the morning, no one was there and no muffins were in site. Staff was very sparse. I felt really ripped off for paying $280 for the weekend, especially since we spent most of the time in one of the rooms because the other was too hot. (And my mom paid the same as well). We will return to Lanesboro, but we would not recommend this place!

Positive about it: good location in down town

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin_family00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2009

The Red Hotel is a peaceful get-away. You don't have to "check-in".
Your key is in the door. Be sure to speak directly to someone while booking. It is a clean,quiet, hotel. There are alot of stairs. It is good
exercise. I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank suziewgarden22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

4 of us stayed for one night while riding the Root River Bike Trail. The "hotel" is what it is - clean and simple, nothing fancy - but a fine place to stop overnight. It's a small place, no staffed front desk, they actually just leave the key in your room door and when you arrive you let yourself in! Hey, it's the small town way I guess! The decor is sort of a simple country style, and the rooms are on the small side, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable so fine in our book. We'd stay again.

  • Liked — location, views
  • Disliked — lots of stairs, on a very steep hill you have to walk up and down with your luggage
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank askalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.6 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
18.1 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
#1 of 2 in Lanesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Brewster's Red Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Red Hotel

Property: Brewster's Red Hotel
Address: 106 Parkway Ave S, PO Box 196, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9774
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing