We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brewster's Red Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very nice hotel in a convenient location. It was recommended to us by some friends and did not disappoint us. Look out for the resident cat who will keep you company during your stay! The staff were helpful and booked a taxi for us, and they offered us a drink on arrival which was a nice personal touch.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HKG_MFM_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Earth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We LOVE the Brewster ! We have gone there for almost 20 years. We have stayed in almost every place there, including camping. I'd take The Brewster over any place we stay. Any level, Mr. is very kind & (the cat) mouse is very friendly. We love sitting on the 2nd level porch any season. I'd live there or work there in a snap! And right across from our Fav. restaurant the root river!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyons4Lanesboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

5 STAR STAY with Mark and Nancy at Brewster's - Loved the Aspen Suite- it has everything. It was clean, modern (NO dried flowers and knick nacks) room for your stuff, right in the quaint town with wild flowers all around. From our deck we could visit, listen to the birds view the deer in the evening and decide where to go for dinner. Mpls MN

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwren4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

If you just need a basic place to bed down and hang out, this is a nice option. We were rained out of camping so used grill to cook our food and hung out around fire at night. If you want something more lush or for special occasion, look elsewhere.

In short, the good: location, laid back atmosphere among guests and staff, access to gas grill, fire pit with wood, very clean updated bathrooms, fabulous mattresses, and deck overlooking bluffs.

The bad: the decor of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired. Lighting over bed was a light you would have found in a dorm room in 1980's, glared, drooped, and made it hard to read/relax. Not enough pillows for propping up in bed to read. Chair in room an antique, scared to break it and no light to read. The water is HARD!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trufflesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last week and were very happy with the rooms and service. The innkeeper was very helpful and the rooms were spotless. Compared to other accomdations in the area, the price per night was fantastic We definately plan to go back!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EPTraveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Valle
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The owner, Mark, was very accessable and always looking for ways to accomodate us. He helped repair my bike and gave us good tips on local attractions. The Hotel is pretty basic but VERY clean and everything they provided worked perfectly. My only complaint would be the pillows which were kind of 'foam rubbery' - If you're used to down pillows, bring your own. Overall ...we had a great stay and the price, as well as the location, was the best around. We're gooing back next week.
glenn

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennLaValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had a large family reunion in Lanesbooro in July. Various members rented almost everything that Brewsters offered. We all had a great time and were happy with the quality of the accomodations. The apartments, sleeping rooms and elmwood were all very good value! The stairs are definetley present but you can park on the top by the apartments for better access. The beautiful decks, firepit and sense of privacy were excellent and I would recomend hardily. The location is also central to everything Lanesboro offers! We also liked the self service nature, we came and went as though it was home, yet the the linen was changed and it was cleaned daily!
Very Good, unless you feel you must be pampered, than please stay at the Ritz!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
18.1 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
17 reviews
13.6 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster's Red Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Red Hotel

Property: Brewster's Red Hotel
Address: 106 Parkway Ave S, PO Box 196, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9774
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing