We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I loved that the place was clean-especially the bathroom. We stayed in the Crate Room. This is way over-priced---your view out the tiny window is into a cement block retaining wall 2 feet away. Just sayin' if you want a view of the world-this isn't your room. Also, the room is very damp since it's on the lowest level-or basement. No way we could have used the jacuzzi-it would have been like the tropics. I wish the toilet had a lid---you can't set anything on top of the toilet without risk of it falling in. Speaking from experience on this one. As much as they want to keep the "integrity" of the room-I think they should close up the holes in the ceiing where the old junction boxes were--for those of us that have experienced bats or mice--this was too creepy. The continental breakfast was hohum-and shorter time than a traditional hotel-but I guess if you want better, a true B&B is the ticket. The staff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Try anything on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoddyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    72
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
63
266
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We happened upon the Stone Mill as it was the site of the Amish tour we were taking. It had the perfect room situation for my daughter and I and a foreign exchange student (the Bicycle room) and we booked it sight unseen. The woman at the front desk was extremely helpful, low key, and most kind. She also had the kind of refinement I associate with the British, which was delightful. Our room was immaculate, the sheets were of very high thread count, and all was comfortable. I loved the outside seating as it allowed us to visit with other guests and enjoy the view. The flowers and hanging baskets are exquisite. There is a shed available for safe bicycle storage.

Room Tip: The rooms directly off the main street are accessed by steps and are probably not appropriate for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holdingford, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in the Amish Room and it was adorable! It was clean, cozy, and a very nice room. We loved the street access from the room and the secure storage area for our bikes. We were impressed with the service and personal care given by staff. Some of the best bike trails we've been on...HIGHLY recommend Stone Mill if you are in town for trails or just to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geriann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stone Mill is exceptionally clean, unique and charming. The owner and employees were very friendly. Breakfast was also very good. The beds were comfortable and it was pretty quiet for sleeping. We enjoyed our stay very much and will likely be back for a third time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

delightful, friendly staff with clean Inn. purpose of trip was to bike and the Inn kept our bikes in a safe, secure location on the property. Easy access to dining/theatre in downtown Lanesboro. Stayed in the Garden Inn Suite that had generous space for two adults.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12rosyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites while in Lanesboro for golf and bike riding. Stayed in the Crate Room which we found to be charmingly decorated and comfortable. Rick showed us to our room giving us a history of the building and showed us the vacant room next door. The Stone Mill was convenient located to the bike trails and downtown which made for a nice stroll in the evening for dinner. The Stone Mill will be on our list of places to return too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Caught in dismal, rainy weather on bikes, we needed lodging in Lanesboro. What a treasure to find the Stone Mill - we enjoyed the peaceful room in the Mill itself - the place to ourselves after closing. Impeccably clean, comfortable, amusingly interesting with the theme, and a wonderful compliment of historical and modern touches.

Room Tip: The themed rooms are all roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.5 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
17.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Property: Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing