We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Hanlontown
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! The location is PERFECT, the staff is so kind, and the rooms are fun, clean and comfortable. They provide an excellent breakfast with delicious local pastries being a favorite. We especially enjoyed the free local wine tasting they had the night we arrived. As I mentioned, the staff is awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    69
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
61
256
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at Stone Mill was fabulous! From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and right at home! We were three couples enjoying an extended weekend and we all had a wonderful time. Our rooms were very quaint and VERY clean. The common areas made for great gathering and socializing time for our group and other guests. Love Lanesboro! We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Once again we enjoyed a lovely stay at this Inn. You never have to move your vehicle again to enjoy the small yet full of options of things to do town of Lanesboro. The breakfast was fresh and delicious ... Inn & rooms spotlessly clean and well appointed ... like stepping back in time. We enjoy the glider chairs/table on the front deck for visiting, sipping wine and just relaxing and enjoying the sights. The live Theater is just across the street and the winery only a block or so away. There are many excellent dining experiences to enjoy from casual like the diner on wheels to fine dining right across the street. The staff are very accommodating and pleasant ... all of our needs were well met. We will visit many times in the future, and continue to tell others about it.

Hope to see you again soon,

Cliff & Wendy
Waverly, MN

Room Tip: The Forest room is a favorite ... if you require a King size bed then we like the Garden Loft Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duskebrosfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnells, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stone Mill Hotel & Suites is a great place to stay and relax at while visiting Lanesboro MN. I stayed there while on a biking journey as it is very close the the trail. Friendly staff, great rooms and an excellent breakfast made the trip so enjoyable. A great biking trail and a great place to stay, can't beat Stone Mill Hotel & Suites!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at StoneMill Suites for our 36th wedding anniversary. The Inn is very nicely done with unique rooms. IT is centrally located in downtown Lanesboro which made our getting around so easy on our two feet! The Inn was helpful in obtaining reservations and making sure we had everything we needed during our stay. It was a nice break!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjkahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

A lovely place to stay that is near everything to make your trip a success. Staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay. The bike paths in Lanesboro are incredible so highly recommend bringing your bikes. The theatre in Lanesboro is of the highest quality. Overall, a wonderful place for a fun weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Stone Mill Suites. We came to bike and enjoy the beautiful town of Lanesboro. We enjoyed our room, very clean, bedding a little tired looking, but acceptable. Nice continental breakfast. Friendly staff, wonderful, central location. enjoyed a massage at the Lanesboro Day Spa. Would recommend for anyone wanting to travel to Lanesboro.
If you bike the trails and see what you perceive to be a "lost" or "stray" dog, or dogs, don't, don't try to rescue them, we discovered they really DO belong to someone. Funny story for us, but not so funny for the dogs or their owners!

Room Tip: If you don't like basement rooms, do not choose the Crate Room. Although we didn't mind it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.5 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
17.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Property: Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing