We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST part of having to return to Mayo Clinic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Romeo, Michigan
1 review
“The BEST part of having to return to Mayo Clinic!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have had to travel to Mayo Clinic often from Michigan. Once my health began to improve, I wanted to enjoy my trips to the clinic. I was informed about Lansesboro from my doctor at Mayo when I told him I brought my bike along with me. When he mentioned it was a popular B&B stop, I had no interest in spending the night there. I travel a lot and stay in very nice hotels and value my privacy, so I figured I'd stop in Lanesboro for the bike trails and stay elsewhere at night. I often say everything happens for a reason, and I believe this is one of those times. My appointments got changed at Mayo causing me to leave later in the day, so I could not ride my bike until the next day. I ended up calling the Stone Mill Hotel & Suites just to check availability, and did I ever luck out that they did. This lead me to one of my favorite places I've ever been to. I can not say enough great things about this place and the people who work there. The rooms are adorable, clean (with wonderful soap and lotion provided), and the breakfast was perfect before hitting the trails. Another bonus is that you don't need to drive to get to the trails. They are right there. I went from a person who did not want to stay there, to a person that added on nights until they were full. I have an annual appointment at Mayo this upcoming June, and I can hardly wait to be able to go back and stay at the Stone Mill Hotel & Suites. I will plan my trip so I can stay there on my way to the clinic and on the way home if at all possible. In fact, I have to go back this December, and am going to check availability after writing this review. That speaks volumes of how wonderful this place is due to the fact that I won't be able to take advantage of riding my bike in December, yet I am making every effort to stay there anyways.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    72
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
61
263
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in the brand new feed mill room, and it was awesome. During the day, it is not very private because you are located literally just off the lobby and there is about 2" of space under your door. You can hear every conversation, so I assume the people milling around (pun intended) can hear yours. But at night, you have the whole building to yourself, so it makes up for the lack of privacy during the day! We loved biking in the area, and the food was pretty good. Nice shopping, too. I would highly recommend the theater a block away. Overall, the accommodations were amazing and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. Slow pace of life, very relaxing!

Room Tip: Choose the feed mill room for a unique experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaGirl2009038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a very enjoyable time at the Stone Mill. We got to meet several people who were also staying there at breakfast. This is a very cozy place. We had a jacuzzi suite which was very private. Excellent staff, very warm and welcoming. We went for our anniversary, no kids!! It is a very quiet, quaint town, not a lot of traffic. We felt very relaxed drinking our morning coffee on the outside porch. We left this weekend feeling refreshed!! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We had the Crate Room which was on the bottom floor of the Mill. Very quiet, roomy, jacuzzi suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the second time my girlfriend and I have stayed at Stone Mill, and again it was everything we were expecting. Rooms are very very clean, staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and at home. The themes of the rooms are simply awesome! Can't wait to go back. Also the town of Lanesboro is very unique and interesting. Lots of fun things to do, especially in the summer months. Our favorite is an afternoon tubing down the root river. Very relaxing and provides some amazing scenery.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dranesnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean as a whistle.
Pleasant local staff.
Comfortable bed and futon mattress.
Delicious continental breakfast.
A couple of quirks- no hair dryers in the rooms, 7 remotes for one room.
If you are a light sleeper or are planning on sleeping in, ask for a room/suite upstairs not next to the breakfast/lounge area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Stone Mill Hotel & Suites. The area seemed to be winding down from a busy Fall season and we loved that it was quiet and not busy. Some of the stores and eating establishments were not open in the town but the weather was beautiful and we really enjoyed taking a walk on the nicely paved trails and taking in the wildlife and crisp fall air. As for the Stone Mill Hotel, it was lovely. Our room was perfect for relaxing and enjoying each other's company. I had the opportunity to have a massage by Crystal and it was one of the best massages that I have ever had. I had just completed a 1/2 Marathon the day before and spending a day in Lanesboro and at the Stone Mill Hotel was the BEST way to celebrate. Thank you very much for the wonderful time.

Room Tip: I would probably rent one of the rooms that had a desk and lounging chair(s) next time. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Beautifully cared for and well thought out. Suite was very clean. Management was flexible with our specific needs. We stayed in the Boat Room, which has a 2-person jacuzzi next to the bed. Comfortable bed, good service. Massage was great. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: We were able to look at many rooms. All seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50David62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.5 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
17.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Property: Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing