We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hanging out in Lanesboro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Runnells, Iowa
2 reviews
“Hanging out in Lanesboro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I spent a couple days in Lanesboro riding the Root River Trail. My stay at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites was excellent as it always is. The place is always clean and the people working there are very nice and willing to help if anything is needed. If you are going to stay in Lanesboro definitely check out Stone Mill!

Room Tip: I have been in several rooms and they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    69
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
61
256
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a wonderful bike trip with friends to Lanesboro. Our stay at the Stone Mill Hotel and Suites enhanced the experience greatly. The location is very convenient, the staff was extremely helpful, and the rooms were very clean. The Hotel had many nice amenities for guests located in a central location such as wine glasses, extension cords, irons, etc. It was also nice to have some breakfast food available, although The Pastry Shop just up the street is a wonderful place for breakfast. Our only complaints about the room were that we only had 2 small bath towels in our room, and there was very limited counter space around the sink for toiletries (we stayed in the Fishing Room). Otherwise it was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BikingCellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second time at Stone Mill and it was as good as we remembered. Very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Has a great staff that are very friendly and make you feel at home. Love the front sitting area and beautiful views. We had a very positive experience and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhabs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our first visit to Stone Mill. It was perfect. We stayed in the Amish Room. The room was large and comfortable and nicely furnshed. It was also a great value. Everything was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here when we return to Lanesboro. Loved the location with the close proximity to the restaurants and shops. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seekingRandRmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The building is beautiful. The bedrooms had the minimum of only 2 bathtowels for 2 guests and no 'extra' blankets. Stairs are steep due to age of building. Good location on main road with choice of restaurants over 3 blocks and bike path entry within a block.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoneMillSuites, Owner at Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello,

We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy our building and experience our small town hospitality. Our rooms are equipped with towels enough for our standard 2 people in the room. Jacuzzi Suites have 4. We are more than happy to provide extra towels, blankets, and also offer wine glasses, corkscrews, hairdryers, and other amenities upon guest request. Our after hour numbers are posted for your convenience and we are happy to assist at any time.

Our stairs are original to the building and although a bit narrow, they do confirm to MN State Code for buildings over 100 years old adding to our theme of History Combined with Modern Convenience.

We hope you return to Lanesboro and enjoy more of what our little town, nestled in the valley has to offer.
Colleen - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwinner, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our first stay at the Stone Mill, but it will not be our last! Where else could 10 friends gather for "catching up", biking and relaxing and have such an enjoyable time. Everyone was so accommodating! Doug is a wonderful example of someone who loves his job. He was so pleasant and friendly in the morning and a wealth of knowledge about the area and the Stone Mill. And being located so close to the bike trail was great also. All of the rooms were so unique and so cozy. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great, but the garden suite is so cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our first visit to Stone Mill Suites and we couldn't have been more pleased that we chose to stay there. The location is excellent - an easy walk to all the restaurants and shops and right on the bike trail.

The building itself has so much history and has been meticulously converted into individual suites. We stayed in the Amish Room, which we loved. With it's private exterior entrance and close proximity to the bike storage and breakfast area, we felt it was an ideal room.

The staff was very friendly and very helpful for first time visitors. We'll be staying at Stone Mill Suites every time we visit Lanesboro!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.5 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
17.9 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Property: Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing