We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficult To Find, Fantastic Ribs, Hole In The Wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smokey River BBQ

Smokey River BBQ
Ranked #11 of 16 Restaurants in Lanesboro
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Difficult To Find, Fantastic Ribs, Hole In The Wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had the restaurant all to ourselves on a rainy day in Lanesboro. Didn't know what to expect for food quality. The half rack of ribs was over the top! No fat and smoked just right. The $12 meal was rounded out with cornbread and two sides...chose potato salad and baked beans. YUM! I've been to the "famous" bbq joint in the Twin Cities. Smokey River has them beat to pieces. Plain Jane furnishings...appropriate for a bbq joint. On a nice weather day, I picture the outdoor seating riverside as being a great option. The proprietor said they have bands that play. Kept comparing other meals over the weekend to this one and they did not measure up!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lholmberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just an average kind of BBQ joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

You get 2 choices of beer and limited choice of BBQ items. We weren't super impressed with the food. The sides were all just average. There is very limited seating inside so have to sit outside or take it with you. I would not go out of my way to go there, but if you are in the mood for BBQ this is the best place to go in town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahW109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Brisket Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We happened to stop in on a Saturday night and we were amazed! The meat had very little fat and was perfectly smoked. The sides were homemade and delicious. Even the buns were fantastic. The meal was so good we came back on Sunday for breakfast. That was amazing too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieWI-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satisfy your barbecue cravings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great food in an unpretentious place off the beaten path. Head to the end of the main drag, take a left, and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parrotworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brett has done it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Brett knows how to cook and bake and now he's proven he's an ace at barbequing as well. Funky location, but then, that's Lanesboro. Don't we go for the unique experiences?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gopackgomaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey River BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Smokey River BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing