We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very helpful.

We traveled to Lanesboro during the Covid crisis. Although Bluffscape wasn't doing any tours, Joan... read more

Reviewed July 1, 2020
623donaldp
,
Anoka, Minnesota
Very Informative

There were a group of five of us, who all enjoyed the tour very much. Lots of information about the... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2019
tinc82
,
Tucson, Arizona
Read all 64 reviews
  
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
55
5
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
55
5
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide amish tour amish families three hours their lives amish shops old church the owner interesting tidbits all ages joan bakery farms culture knowledge homes van
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 64 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really learned a lot about Amish culture as we traveled from shop to shop. The group had fun getting to know each other. And our guide/driver was very accommodating. Well worth it!

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank GrammaMiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

While staying in Lanesboro for a week I took this three hour tour one afternoon and was very glad I did. The tour cost $30.00. The tour is such a fascinating look into the lives of the old order Amish who live in the environs of the town of Harmony, perhaps a 20 minute drive or so from Lanesboro. The drive itself is nice, passing through pretty scenery of farmlands. The van was comfortable and our tour guide, Joan did an excellent job of describing the life of the Amish and answering any questions we had. When someone requested that we stop at a farm that had animals we could see, Joan made the change to the itinerary and drove to the farm. We visited five different Amish farms and one non-Amish farm which featured Angora goats and mohair products. (I loved seeing the little, friendly goats and the items in the shop made from the mohair). All of the stops were very interesting and allowed us to walk around briefly in the yards and shop for products made by the families. The shops where the products are sold are quite small and very simple and typically included the same kinds of items; canned goods such as jellies, jams, relishes, pickles, vegetables, honey, candy, basketry, candles, soaps, etc. Our first stop also featured a furniture maker and he had some beautiful items in his shop for sale. Our last stop featured quilts and quilted items such as placemats, pot holders, etc. At this stop we were able to look inside the living room/sitting area of one of the homes, the only brick home on the tour. Our tour guide noted that usually they take groups inside the room, but the owner has serious health problems and therefore is often not well enough for visitors. A simple bakery with homemade items such as cookies, bread, bar cookies, rolls, fruit turnovers was also a featured stop. It should be noted that there was a sign at the shops that the food is not federally inspected since these are home enterprises. Although this tour centers on shopping for Amish products, we were not pressured by anyone to buy any items. Our tour guide did note as we drove that the Amish have difficulty supporting themselves with just income from their crops and farms, so they are involved in home industries or hire themselves out to work crews such as the building trades. This explains then why the Amish welcome "Englishers" to come to their homes so they can sell their products. We were allowed to take pictures at all but one of the farms as long as there were no people in any of the pictures. The Amish do not accept photographs of themselves because the bible prohibits graven images. At each of the farms we were able to see the families including some children. At one stop, we were met with a picture perfect moment as we drove down the driveway. Three little Amish boys (all the same size) with their straw hats were sitting together on a porch swing holding some toys. Would love to have had a picture but of course I respect their beliefs. It was really a precious moment. At this stop, we also got to meet the lady of the house who was busy washing sweet potatoes. She was very friendly and full of much laughter. Enjoyed asking her questions about her garden and work. As we drove along the roads we were able to see two Amish one room schools but did not stop as school was in session. We also saw a number of Amish buggies being driven along the roads. All in all, a fascinating look into the lives of the Amish in southeastern Minnesota. I was captivated and would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I think Bluffscape used to be called Flaby Tours. We toured with them in 2009 in a nice van. We visited an Amish bakery, house and barn where baskets were made. The baskets were of the same quality of a Longaberger basket. Each basket was signed and dated...the only difference...cost. The Amish were high quality and affordable price. Flaby did a good job of taking us to the different Amish homes and stands. We would not have been able to find these homes by ourselves.

Date of experience: July 2011
2  Thank MomofSix94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffscape, Owner at Bluffscape Amish Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thanks for coming along on a Bluffscape Amish Tour in Lanesboro, MN! We purchased Flaby's Amish Tours in 2007. Bluffscape continues to provide a quality, educational, and fun tour by stepping back in time with the Amish of SE Minnesota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Please note that Flaby tours is now Bluffscape Amish Tours. They are the the supreme
Amish Tour out of Lanesboro. Joan and her guides are very good friends with the Amish and know first hand how to answer all of your questions. The tour is done professionally and with great respect for the Amish Community.

Date of experience: May 2011
4  Thank YellowPansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

This was worth the money! Go and do not hesitate. The tour gude will take you to places that the usual sightseer will not be able to find. A great bakery (excellent treats for sale) run by Amish and a basket making farm. They look like Longaberger baskets but for half the price. GO GO GO! Nice air-conditioned van and knowledgeable tour guide, you will not be disappointed. We actually went into a Amish home with quilts and potholders and jellies for sale. The woman in the home was nice and not reserved. Go!

4  Thank farmerswifeof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews