We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Store & Cafe - CLOSED

Highland Store & Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Closed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

FYI, this wonderful place has closed indefinately. Major loss to the community and visitors, but best wishes to the owner and her family. Her kindness and warmth are a gift to all she comes into contact with!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

You walk in the door and are always welcomed with friendly smile. The tables are retro 60's all different colors with chrome, really fun. The food is delicious with lots of choices. My husband is gluten free and they made everything to his specifications, so nice!.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LLeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious and healthy slice of the past!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The 114 year old store is a quaint yet quirky atmosphere, and the staff are friendly and fun. The food is fresh and healthy, much of it grown right there. The smoothies are made with real fruit and veggies--no sweetened juices. The food is amazing and well worth the (scenic) trip out there!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My friend who owns the diner in Lanesboro brought me here a couple of years ago. What a neat place. Old 1950 dining room/kitchen tables with matching chairs, and simple home cooked food. Not a lot on the menu for lunch, usually two lunch specials and a few staples. Usually the lunch special is fantastic. I finally had breakfast at the place in the spring and it was good too. The owner tries to keep the food healthy with whole wheat pancakes and the sort. Another place worth a visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetrista, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good service and food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We found this place last year and enjoyed the owner and the food, it is a mother daughter small town restaurant that serves good breakfast and lunch, worth the trip in a beautiful country, wish I could bike there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 80Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Store & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing