We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Riverside on the Root
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the Root River and right next to the Scenic Bike Trail. Because the ambiance is so great this is a very relaxing atmosphere. Riverside provides a full bar menu specializing in our martini's and house in-fused Vodka for our Bloody Mary's. All of our food is house-made and we offer a very diversified menu. Deep fat fried foods are not an option as we choose to stay on the healthy side. When in season we use fresh vegetables from our gardens and locally that are chemical free or organic. There are vegetarian options and of course if you have special needs diet be sure to talk with us as it is easy to prepare something that may not be on the menu.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The prime rib was great and we had a nice table on the patio. They have a quite a large martini selection and the menu is decent with different specials every day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CNLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    94
    55
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable bar and patio”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great place to catch a game (our B&B had no TV) and the patio has live music. Ask for a blanket if it gets chilly...they have them and they are great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank J-DA-Hut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
598 reviews
456 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Awesome in every way!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This place was wonderful! We didn't arrive into town until around 8:00pm due to a very long drive, and were very happy to see this place was still serving food, as others had already closed up for the evening. We sat outside on the patio, and really enjoyed everything here. Our waitress was very friendly, and attentive. My son devoured his fettuccini Alfredo, and ate half of my mother's Reuben sandwich. I had the stuffed portobello mushrooms, and absolutely loved them- they were stuffed with pesto and roasted red peppers, and topped with provolone cheese. The veggies of the night were plentiful and tasty. My daughter ordered a hamburger, and loved that. We wouldn't hesitate to come again! Great atmosphere, food, and service that can't be beat!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Open till late”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Pizza, appetizers, drinks served till late. Front and back patio on 2nd floor. Outdoor seating. Good restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SomeGirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, awesome food!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very flavorful food, and excellent, friendly staff! Great atmosphere, overlooking the Root River. Patio eating, if you prefer, right next to the river.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside on the Root also viewed

 

Been to Riverside on the Root? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing