We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant riverside seating”

Riverside on the Root
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Lanesboro
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the Root River and right next to the Scenic Bike Trail. Because the ambiance is so great this is a very relaxing atmosphere. Riverside provides a full bar menu specializing in our martini's and house in-fused Vodka for our Bloody Mary's. All of our food is house-made and we offer a very diversified menu. Deep fat fried foods are not an option as we choose to stay on the healthy side. When in season we use fresh vegetables from our gardens and locally that are chemical free or organic. There are vegetarian options and of course if you have special needs diet be sure to talk with us as it is easy to prepare something that may not be on the menu.
Orange City, IA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant riverside seating”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our hosts recommended this restaurant, so we tried it out. The riverside seating is quite pleasant. We came on a Wednesday "live music" night and were glad we chose to sit on the deck, somwhat removed from the sound system. Food was good, wait staff attentive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DisplacedColoradan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    89
    54
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Higher end for Lanesboro”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good food and very friendly staff. Wonderful out door seating area. We had the pork chop dish. Flavorful, moist, and tender...not always the case.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gringrinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spendy and Unimpressive”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went here while we were in town this past weekend with our family. The service was EXCELLENT but the quality stopped there. I ordered their special, a BBQ sandwich, which was pretty flavorless. Luke warm sugary ketchup & pulled pork on a huge crumbling bun. My brother and sister in law ordered a burger and chips and guac on the side and got... potato chips and guacamole? Um, I know we're in Minnesota and all but I believe tortilla chips are customary with guac. The coffee was decent and my husband ordered a side salad that had excellent cherry tomatoes and was otherwise fine. All in all, prices were about 30% high for a "meh" dining experience. Once again though, our waitress was excellent and was the best part of the visit! Being next to the water was also fun, but the food quality was a little distracting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cartwheel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eric & Shelia's trip!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our second trip to Lanesboro and our second time to the Riverside on the Root & we were again able to set outside on the second story! We love this place!! The food is to die for, as well as the service!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“idyllic setting on the river”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The menu/price/setting are a part of a great evening on the Root river. Lanesboro is a wonderful small town with a "big" heart and it shows in the entrepreneurs that have chosen to ply their "wares" in this sleepy little town in SW Minnesota. I highly recommend Riverside when you are in Lanesboro.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank duke-duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside on the Root also viewed

 

Been to Riverside on the Root? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing