We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of Habberstad House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Habberstad House
Ranked #2 of 17 Lanesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Habberstand House is a destination all in and of itself. The house is charming and very well kept. There antiques and furnishings are meant to be used, not just stared at. Dave and Nancy make you feel welcome from the minute you step up on the beautiful porch, complete with swing and sitting areas. You are greeted and given a glass of the beverage of your choice - I had a lovely glass of wine. The rooms are spotless. You never run out of hot water. There are plentiy of towels and the beds are very comfortable. You are given a key to your room and a key to the front door. All is very secure. This B&B is located in Lanesboro where you can easily get on the Root River trail and bike to your hearts delight. If biking isn't your thing, Dave and Nancy can give you plenty of ideas of what to do and where to eat. Now, if that's not enough, you must stay here just to have breakfast. How can you turn down breakfast that starts with dessert? I will definitely be going back and I live in TX! Thanks Dave and Nancy for a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
105
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Habberstad House (a group of six adults). While I'm not really a "B&B kinda guy," our stay changed my opinion. Dave and Nancy made the weekend enjoyable, entertaining and worth every penny. The room was excellent and the home is beautiful indoors and out (and super quiet). Everything about this 100-plus year old home feels modern, updated and in perfect condition even though it's filled with antiques and history. The separate Carriage House room is amazing. Dave and Nancy whip up delicious and filling breakfasts served hot - along with offers to book dinner reservations or guide guests to local tours and other points of interest. The helpfulness and easy nature of the husband/wife owners is appreciated. We'll go back to Lanesboro and when we stay overnight, it will be at the Habberstad House.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The facilities and the hosts were wonderful at the Habberstad House. The hosts were accomodating to our needs and let us be as private or social as we wanted to be. The yard areas and landscaping are beautiful with multiple areas to sit, relax, read or just be. We enjoyed playing cards at a quiet table in the backyard and our breakfast in the courtyard. The food was unique and delicious. We felt well taken care of and that our hosts were sincerely interested in our comfort. Our room had everything we needed and was well furnished and maintained. We plan to stay at the Habberstad House again.

Phil and Holly
Lakeville, MN

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband and I had our first experience at a bed and breakfast this summer. The Habberstad House in Lanesboro was a great experience. The home and grounds are beautiful, comfortable and cozy. There is a lot of history to be shared and is tastefully decorated. Dave and Nancy couldn't have been more cordial and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious, a real treat. The company along with breakfast was fun and interesting. I would definitely recommend The Habberstad House to anyone visiting visiting the beautiful Lanesboro area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol3Waseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

From the spaciously manicured grounds to the intricately themed rooms and topped with a breakfast that would put Rachael Ray to shame -- the Habberstad House is beyond compare! It raises the bar in the hospitality industry!

This past summer our extended family spent four days in Lanesboro biking, shopping and canoeing. We were scattered among various B&B's, but with the spaciousness of the Habberstad House we were able to play cards, games and relax in style.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dws78582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Last January, we began searching the web for a nice place to bike and stay in Minnesota. We discovered the Root River trail and began to identify B and B's as which one might accomodate our group of 12 people. We found the Habberstad house has it all. We wanted a safe place for our bikes, they had that, we wanted a place to gather to talk and visit, they have lovely porch and outside areas. And we each wanted separate rooms insuite and that was definitely a nice touch, with several rooms having nice spa's.
I would highly recommend this to all who wish a lovely place to stay, with the best breaksfasts we have ever encountered and the nicest hosts, Dave and Nancy. This B and B is definitely a 5 star establishment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galway12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Habberstad House and were very pleased with the lovely accomodations and even more impressed with the hospitality of the owners Dave and Nancy. We stayed in the Scandinavian Room with a private jacuzzi tub, our own private deck and beautiful furnishings. The breakfast was wonderful. And the special touches throughout our visit made us feel welcome. We enjoyed the community of Lanesboro with its historical main street, shops and restaurants, and particularly the production at the Commonwealth Theatre. We hightly recommend the Habberstad House.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
14.1 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
0.7 mi away
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
#1 of 2 in Lanesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habberstad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habberstad House

Property: Habberstad House
Address: 706 Fillmore Ave S, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored, historic 1897 Queen Anne Victorian home with beautiful landscaped yard in a quiet neighborhood six blocks from the Root River Bike Trail and downtown. Balconies, A/C, WIFI, whirlpools, full breakfast. Come and visit Lanesboro, MN, recently voted the #3 best Midwestern Small Town in 2017. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing