We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!”
Review of Habberstad House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Habberstad House
Ranked #2 of 17 Lanesboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stay in a number of B&B's in the US and Europe each year. This one is a gem. Wonderfully friendly innkeepers, great breakfasts, comfortable room. The only thing that marred our trip was the thoughtlessness of people who chose to walk on the freshly groomed xc ski tracks ruining one of MN's greatest classic ski trails.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuincyPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Habberstad House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

Dave and Nancy are perfect hosts to make your stay in fun, beautiful Lanesboro complete. The accommodations are modern, cozy, and comfortable. The unique and wonderful breakfast caps off a relaxing and charming evening. Don't miss the Habberstad House when in Lanesboro.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiddler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My family and I have returned several times to this exceptional Bed and Breakfast. Upon arrival we are offered a complimentary glass of wine by Nancy and Dave Huisenga, the owners/operators who are very congenial as well as helpful about how best to enjoy the Lanesboro area. We have stayed in various rooms in this historic "painted lady". While each room is quite unique (the rooms span the gamut from modern to very traditional), we have found the atmosphere to be relaxed and welcoming while the furnishings, decor, mattresses, linens and bathroom facilities are at a very high standard. The grounds are well maintained and attractive - there are plenty of areas in this large corner lot to to sit and relax, watch and listen to the water fountain and the many birds who lodge at Habberstad House gratis. But the highlight of our stay continues to be the mouthwatering abundant breakfasts which include homemade baked goods straight from the oven. We always leave feeling completely rested, satisfied and eager to return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndigoPerth_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Our autumn trip to the charming southern Minnesota town of Lanesboro was made perfect by our stay at the Habberstad House B&B. Nancy and Dave are wonderful hosts and their attention to the details of hospitality are evident everywhere: restored Victorian home, impressive gardens and delicious food.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrluckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Quiet, relaxing, clean, and homey! Habberstad House is a wonderful get-away with the charm and comfort everyone wants. Breakfast is outstanding with more than enough to fill you up for quite a while. It's beautifully restored and meticulusly maintained. You will want to go back to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

This is the 2nd B & B that I have stayed in, in Lanesboro, and it was the best. The accommodations are wonderful, the atmosphere is warm and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Don't plan on staying on a diet while eating breakfast; it's too good to miss.

My friends and I stayed for 2 nights for a school reunion and we had a great time. There were 7 of us staying there. A friend shared the Carriage house with me and it was wonderful. It is a separate building from the main house with a kitchenette, gas fireplace, TV and a large bed. It was so much fun. I felt so spoiled, I could have moved in. It's not inexpensive, but it is worth every penny.

Nancy and Dave, the owners, were great. I have to admit that I knew Nancy in another lifetime (we went to school together about 32 years ago), but we have not kept in touch. It was fun catching up on old times and staying in such a wonderful Bed & Breakfast. I am anxious to get my husband to go for a romantic weekend soon. I didn't get a chance to use the large Jacuzzi tub that time, but maybe next time?

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank geeknurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

The Habberstad House is a "cut above the rest" when it comes to Bed & Breakfasts. Dave and Nancy are not only fun hosts but hold high standards in many ways. The main house and all rooms are beautifully decorated, every room is spotless, the beds are very comfortable and breakfast is a gourmet treat. The home grounds are absolutely gorgeous; a great place to relax. Whether you have been to Lanesboro, MN before or not - Dave and Nancy are very knowledgeable of the town and the surrounding areas. They can direct you to a nice meal, great shopping, country side tours and all kinds of outdoor activities.

The Habberstad House is the best Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed at and I will continue to go as long as the sign says "open"!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rachelmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
14.1 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
9 reviews
8.6 mi away
Andor Wenneson Inn
Andor Wenneson Inn
#1 of 2 in Peterson
54 reviews
18.6 mi away
White Valley Motel
White Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
24.6 mi away
Super 8 Cresco IA
Super 8 Cresco IA
#1 of 2 in Cresco
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habberstad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habberstad House

Address: 706 Fillmore Ave S, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lanesboro
Price Range: $115 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored, historic 1897 Queen Anne Victorian home with beautiful landscaped yard in a quiet neighborhood six blocks from the Root River Bike Trail and downtown. Balconies, A/C, WIFI, whirlpools, full breakfast. Come and visit Lanesboro, MN, recently voted the #3 best Midwestern Small Town in 2017. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing