We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed our idea of a B&B”
Review of Habberstad House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Habberstad House
Ranked #2 of 17 Lanesboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2012

First off let me say, we do not typically stay at a B&B. Previously, we had stayed at five different B&B's, 4 in Scotland, and 1 in Hastings, MN. We were not impressed by any of those B&B's. Our whole view changed this weekend. We stayed at the Habberstad House for the weekend and were WOW'd. A beautiful house, wonderful breakfast, and close enough to downtown Lanesboro that we could walk to dinner. The hosts are very gracious, and so welcoming. They have a complimentary wine & cheese party on Friday nights (during season), which is wonderful for meeting the other guests in the house. We biked the Root River Trail, and truly enjoyed our weekend. We will return to Lanesboro, and the Habberstad House!!

Room Tip: We got a chance to see many of the rooms, they are all great. We were in the Orchid room, and woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a marvelous time with great accomodations and meals . Could not have had better hosts . THe location was very convenient and the room was really nice . Beautiful gardens surround the property and they were kind enough to allow us to store our bikes in the garage.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Habberstad House while spending a week-end in Lanesboro for the first time! We booked it totally based on the reviews read on Trip Advisor. We couldn't have made a better choice! The room, the grounds, the breakfasts, and the owners were superb! I can't even think of a suggestion to make that would have improved our experience! We will return to Lanesboro and of course, The Habberstad House!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mkbeerwdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Bed and Breakfast was very clean and well maintained. Hosts were very personable and helpful. Delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We booked our three night break at Habberstad House after reading many positive reviews on this site. We were not disappointed.
The well maintained & historic building provided us with a very comfortable home from home. The house was stunning & our room, ( The Scandinavian Room), was very well designed with an extremely comfortable bed and an enormous jacuzzi tub to help de-stress after a tiring business trip to Minneapolis. We appreciated the well stocked coffee/tea maker in our room and made good use of the private balcony overlooking the immaculate gardens.
The thing that distinguishes Habberstad House from other quality B&Bs we have stayed in is the friendliness, helpfulness & attention to detail shown by the owners Nancy & Dave. Nancy provided good restaurant & sightseeing recommendations and helped by making reservations for us. We cannot speak highly enough of the quality of the breakfasts. They were creative, delicious & enormous! We really enjoyed our chats around the breakfast table in the morning & we left with the overwhelming impression that the owners are successful at what they do because they take pride in their home and genuinely love meeting people.
Finally, as an example of their service & consideration for their guests, I would like to mention the unexpected breakfast 'to go' that Nancy prepared for us when we had to leave very early for our flight home to the UK. Chilled boiled eggs, yoghurt, fruit, muffins, coffee & even a little labelled paper twist of salt for seasoning was provided for us. It is this willingness by the owners to go the extra mile for their guests that make Habberstadt House a place I would highly recommend to anyone wishing to visit the lovely town of Lanesboro. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. The hosts are very nice and the house is very clean. We loved sitting on the porch, visiting with some of the other guests. I wish they allowed dogs in their "carriage house" however as we can never go anywhere with our dogsitter in the Peace Corps now.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chante26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was curious how a B & B could get so many consecutive 5 star ratings. Well in the case of the Habberstad House, Nancy & Dave did it by hitting on all cylinders of a Bed and Breakfast. They have a gorgeous inn and gardens, spacious rooms, pleasant and helpful hosts and sending off their visitors with an absolutely gourmet breakfast. We stayed in the Carriage Room, compared to your typical B & B room the Carriage Room is incredibly spacious (see partial picture). I can’t speak for the rest of the rooms but the Carriage Room was beautifully outfitted with wood floors an inviting Jacuzzi and state of the art electronics, two Sony stereo systems and a large screen Samson TV. The Carriage House might seem a bit much for some, but if your budget can afford it, it is worth treating yourself.

When we arrived Nancy asked if we had dinner plans, we told her no, since we had tried to make reservations at the OVH but it was closed on Mondays. She recommended a couple of other places and when we indicated that one sounded good, she called down to them and made reservations for us. Her recommendation was super; the Quarter/Quarter was a fantastic restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crescoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Habberstad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habberstad House

Address: 706 Fillmore Ave S, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9744
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lanesboro
Price Range: $115 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored, historic 1897 Queen Anne Victorian home with beautiful landscaped yard in a quiet neighborhood six blocks from the Root River Bike Trail and downtown. Balconies, A/C, WIFI, whirlpools, full breakfast. Come and visit Lanesboro, MN, recently voted the #3 best Midwestern Small Town in 2017. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing