We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep the secret!!”
Review of Embudu Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embudu Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Keep the secret!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We really should not be telling you how wonderful Embudu is! - but here goes - This is truely paradise....the bungalow was spotless & had verything you needed (how they keep the shower glass so clean I never know - & we showered after every snorkle!) - We had room 80 & the position was perfect with just a few metre walk into the sea....& out over to the teaming reef! The bar & restaurant staff could not have been more happy & helpful - our waiter kept us entertained with ever inventive origami!! Fish was cooked specially when go on the fishing trip & we were taken through the kitchen to view the catch - this area was 'sparkling', all the staff were imaculate in their chef whites & everything was clean & tiday.....their are far more luxurious islands but Embudu retains the feeling that you are truly on a tropical island - with no-one hastling you! - adviced to take a lilo as the beach seats are hard!!

Room Tip: Room 80 faced out to sea & not looking over to Male.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard_Vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    321
    70
    16
    8
See reviews for
124
482
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed at the resort for 4 nights during May 2011. We found the place to be nice and comfortable. The staff was very cheerful, friendly and helpful. Especially the restaurant staff was always willing to go the extra mile to serve us better. Thanks to their efforts that we didn't face any difficulty with meals even though we are vegetarians.
The resort also offers activities like Snorkeling and Scuba for water adventure lovers, though we missed activities like para-sailing etc.
The resort also has a Spa and a small but very nice Souvenir shop as well.
Overall, an excellent experience for us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkshayDhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've just returned from this incredible bit of paradise where we celebrated our 25th anniversary. We stayed in room 46, a deluxe bungalow which was spotlessly clean and had everything we wanted including air con, a ceiling fan, tea/coffee facilities, fridge, hair drier and lots of 3 pin plug sockets! (No adapters needed here) Room was cleaned daily to a very high standard with clean towels and bedding each day.

Resort itself is absolutely beautiful. Very unspoilt with white coral sand beaches and excellent snorkelling around the inner and outer house reefs. We've got literally 100s of pics and hours of video of the incredible sea life around the island including black tipped reef sharks, sting rays, turtles and a pod of dolphins that visited whilst we were there, not to mention the unbelievable variety of fish that live in and around the reef....! We don't dive but our friends do and tell us that both it and the Dive team are excellent. Island is small, with lots of places to sunbathe and when it gets too hot swing seats, benches and of course the bar are available to grab some shade. Lots of peace and quiet - weekly low key entertainment in the bar area. Note that there isn't a pool but why would you want one when the biggest one ever surrounds the island!

We were all inclusive and found that excellent. Large bottles of mineral water are included along with beer and the usual other bits. Food choice was varied with different menus each day of the 14 we were there. Excellent puds as well!

Weather wise it was as you'd expect - hot! We had a couple of rain storms but that didn't affect our holiday in the slightest... You just go snorkelling instead of sitting in the sun!

Must make special mention of our waiter Fatu (apologies if that's spelt wrongly). He was with us for the whole fortnight and was an absolute star - we nicknamed him 5 star but he became a 25 star by the end of the holiday! Had a really good giggle with him about 'Peter' (Fatu probably thinks we're nuts!) Amin was with us most of the time as well - he made a beautiful display in our room the night before we left of local flowers which moved me to tears! Thank you so much to all those who made our trip so special and unforgettable for all the right reasons.

So all in all would we recommend - absolutely... ! Would we go back - definitely! We love the Maldives!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Lincsradioam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is a gorgeous place, with splendid views and lots of peace and quiet for those of you who really really want peace and quiet.
On top of that, the opportunities for diving are simply wonderful.
I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed on Embudu for two weeks in a beach bungalow. Whilst it was basic, it had everything we needed and was clean.

The beach and reef were very good and the food was a good standard also.

The island is small and you can walk around it in 15-20 minutes which we liked. There are rope swings dotted here and there and lovely for spending a while sitting on during the evening with only the waves making a sound.

Most people have to share a table in the restaurant which can be great, or really uncomfortable, dependent on who you are sitting with!

Our waiter was very attentive and we found all staff very helpful and polite during our stay.

We really enjoyed our stay on Embudu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayHappyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We flew Independently into Male from Kerala which cost c£500 return for two people. On arrival we learned that all of the 'budget' accommodation options were full and by far the best value deal was at Embudu Village. We had previously prepared a short list of recommended hotel/island option from a book that we picked up in India and given that Embudu was on our list we paid the man and boarded his boat. The transfer is only c60 minutes and we were both given a really warm welcome on arrival. Room 32 is in an excellent spot and we enjoyed every minute of our 8 night stay despite suffering poor weather for the first 3 days. The highlight is the reef which encircles the whole island and is home to almost everything that you could ever wish to see including Manta Rays, Shark, Turtle and more. I understand that many of the reefs belonging to other islands are a short boat ride away and the fact that you could simply swim out to the reef at Embudu has got to be an advantage. Food was excellent throughout the stay and the climax was on Christmas Eve when the most unbelieveable banquet was prepared for us all to enjoy [without extra charge!!]. If you can't afford to join The Beckhams on one of the 7 star islnads then we recommend that you give the Embudu a try!!

Room Tip: room 32 right by the sandbank!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GilandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Been to 3 different islands within the Maldives, and this is by far the worst. Came for a day trip to see if it would be worth coming back for longer, but I definitely won't be back. A relaxing day was quickly turned in to a bureaucratic storm by the staff who seem to love their pointless rules and procedures, chatting behind the bar to their colleagues while paying customers wait for them to finish chatting so that they can be served, and then speak rudely to their customers. It is the polar opposite of Chaaya Island which is fantastic in every way and highly recommended.

To add to that, the beaches are not overly extensive, the facilities clearly aged/not well maintained and the lunch was somewhat limited.

Some examples:
1. I asked reception if I could borrow a beach towel for use on their beach. "No we don't provide beach towels". What? An island resort which advertises beaches but doesn't supply beach towels? Right.

2. Went to have some lunch, was told that we could not sit indoors due to tables indoors being reserved for guests only (I.e. not day trippers). So, we were the only people sitting outdoors while there were dozens of free tables indoors. Not a big deal, but felt awkward being segregated when it seemed we didn't need to be.

3. Bar attendant was about as useful as a one legged man at kicking competition when it came to ordering a counter meal and paying for it. Too busy chatting to his friends.

Don't forget to pack some patience and scissors to cut through their imposed bureaucracy. I've renamed it Inconvenience Village.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Aussie-in-the-desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embudu
16.4 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
11.7 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
5.8 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embudu Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embudu Village

Property: Embudu Village
Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Embudu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embudu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embudu Village 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embudu Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embudu Village Hotel Emboodhu Finolhu
Embudu Village Male
Embudu Village Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing