We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa(Emboodhu Finolhu)
$801
$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $726/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Adaaran Prestige Vadoo(Vaadhoo Island)
$544
$530
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Velassaru Maldives(Velassaru Island)
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Champa Central Hotel(Male)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Octave(Male)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Unima Grand(Male)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveler rating
418
365
78
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
365
78
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomour waiterwater bungalowother islandsfishdive schoolsmall islandoctopusroom boybeach towelsmarine lifeasian nightbudget resortdifferent themecoral gardensper dayeagle rays
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 887 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I just spent 4 days at Embudu. I'd heard good things about the dive operation there and also I wanted somewhere that wasn't too far from the airport and was reasonably priced for a solo travellers. Embudu didn't disappoint.

The boat transfer from the airport took around 30 mins. This is not the most luxurious resort in the Maldives but the standard was more than adequate. I had no complaints about the accommodation; a big comfortable double bed, hot water and air conditioning.

The food was plentiful and varied. The barbecue night on the Sunday evening was excellent. I paid an additional $29 per day for all inclusive drinks, although as you have to pay this for the full duration of your stay, it's only worthwhile if you are going to drink alcohol every night.

The diving was exceptionally good and efficiently managed. Most days there was 1 boat dive in the morning, and 1 in the afternoon, with a choice of 4 different sites, plus diving on the house reef. On the Saturday, we went on a full day trip to a more remote location in the south of the atoll. The unlimited diving option for EUR340 is a good option for people who are going to do more than 10 dives.

My only criticism of the dive centre is they insisted I did a check dive even though I had dived the week before I arrived. Still, I would add that some of the dive sites they use have extremely strong currents e.g. Embudu Express, although they always offer an easy dive at another site for people who don't fancy the more extreme diving.

The house reef is quite pleasant and I saw manta rays, sharks and turtles while snorkelling. Note that on this island there is not much else to do except dive, snorkel, eat and sleep. There is no swimming pool.

The only thing that disappoints me about the Maldives generally is that everyone is given bottled water to drink and the amount of plastic waste this creates is horrendous. Clearly it's not an easy issue to resolve, but they could maybe start by giving people bottles that can be refilled from a water dispenser.

Overall, an excellent place to stay for people who don't want to pay the earth and are keen on diving.

Room Tip: They were all close to the beach!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dxb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

This was our 4th visit to the Maldives but first to Embudu,and it really is a gem.
As others have said if you are after luxury this is not the place for you but for peaceand simplicity it is perfect.
We travelled with Thomson ,the flight was fine apart from a 4 hour delay! transfer was smooth.
We were allocated room 39 which in my opinion was one of the best locations.right next to the sand spit which is incredible.The sunsets from here were the best I've ever seen,
The room was "tired" but clean and air con was fine.Very comfortable patio furniture.
The bar and dining room were just a couple of minutes walk away.
They have both been recently refurbished and were cool and modernThe bar staff were terrific and always ready for a laugh.
Food was excellent veg and salads very good,however I didn't find some of the dining room staff very friendly,this could be because there was only 6 English people there the first week.The snorkling is very good and the coral garden was good for nervous snorklers like me!
My husband went on 3 snorkling trips and swam with Mantas every time.
All in all Embudu is relaxed and unpretentious.I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank louci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Arrived new years eve 2010 fast boat trip15 mins,quick checkin,rooms small clean but basic (we had room 28) so called superior ,on other islands this would be the budget rooms.
small beach area outside of room not sand but broken up coral so mind your feet steps down to sea broken in parts beach shallow so safe for kids.
food super i cant eat tuna as soon as the chefs found out, at every meal time if tuna was on i had a different fish,on my birthday a nice cake was presented this is the norm ,the new years dinner was out of this world over 101 dishies .
island is very clean so is the sea ,snokaling is a must not the best in the maldives but near the top( this was our 7th island).diving good well organised and frendly also not as expensive as other islands in other reviews people have said they saw bored guests if you get bored easily go to a very large island or dont come to the maldives!
as a final noteyou wont find friendly staff any where else in the world!!!!!!!!!
would we go back yes.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diversussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We have traveled to the hotel with a 3 year old. First of all, you need to understand what you are getting - the island is small -it will take you 15-20 minutes to go around it. There are no extra things, no pools, no TVs, spa services were below average, you have to take upgraded room only to have hot water and a conditioner in your room! BUT, knowing that, and accepting it, everything else is great - the views, the territory gets cleaned every morning, the food is included, but served within certain periods of time. Wasn't a problem for us, even when smb was sleeping during a food time, we packed a sandwich and brought it home. Another plus was reasonably short sail from main island, which can make a big difference, if you had a long flight before that. The food wasn't smth extraordinary, but OK, with at least two choices of main dish, vegetables, so we were not hungry. You could order fish and chips, ice cream or other treats any other time, when you felt hungry. One big problem, that we saw there was boredom, there were couples that came for their honeymoon, and were bored to death by the 3rd day. As for my family, we found this a great time to read, and enjoy each other, our beach felt like a private beach, and we could stay inside, with open door, while our child played outside in the sand. Priceless...Being there in the beginning of august,every other day we had a rainstorms, but they were warm,,,again, for some could be a problem, no for us. Water stayed gorgeous, warm, transparent, and there are little sharks all over.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richbostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Just got back from spending our second visit to this Island (Have also been to Five others) over the New Year period. As before the staff were very friendly and helpfull, our waiter in the restaurant was Moosa (may not be spealt correctly) who was exceptional.
Bar staff were very much on the ball as well making sure your glass was always full. New Year Gala food was out of this world, and the celebrations went well even though Rain tried to ruin things. All Inclusive is very good and 1.5ltr Bottled water is included (Some islands AI doesnt), Plugs are 3 pin round although the Air Conditioning unit in our room was 3 pin UK style. We stayed in room 31 which is ideally placed near a sand spit which now has a mini lagoon making a safe area for children to play. There are two main beaches and some land rooms have to make do with smaller parts of the beach, would reccomend taking Lilo's or Beach towels as sunbeds were in short supply near our room just to be safe. The land rooms (Superior) are looking a little tired now and could do with being updated (the island is very busy making this quite hard to achieve) although they appear to have two (Rooms 58-59) which have been updated to a high standard from what I can see although the down-side is the Generators are behind so not sure of noise in the rooms. The Snorkeling is very good here with a good drop off from left of the jetty by the Water bungalows and a good coral garden to right of the Dive jetty. You can technically snorkel around the island but not attempted by us. We dont dive so cannot comment of the dive school but it always appeared busy which must be good. Overall this is a very good Maldive island at a reasonable price and would reccomend as somewhere to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cturnerNewhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews