We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Superb!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wembdon, Bridgwater, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sueandbet...
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly Superb!”
Reviewed June 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 5 have just returned from a lovely long weekend. Jeremy was amazing after a very long drive Jeremy had already taken in our Tesco’s delivery for us as we were delayed and was there waiting for us, he was incredibly welcoming and very informative. Jeremy left a welcome hamper full of local produce which was amazing...
The property catered for literally all our needs, my 9 year old daughter just loved everything, from the hot tub, beautiful garden, the cows opposite would come and say hello and there were even water guns there! To be fare the water fight in the garden was so much fun... the garden was amazing it is totally enclosed and our dog just loved the freedom and was able to roam around at his leisure..we took our elderly parents, 75 and 85, they both loved it too commenting of how well equipped and comfortable the house was. Large lounge and kitchen, brilliant seating area outside near the hot tub and bbq.. superb views overlooking Durleigh reservoir, so peaceful... Endless towels and bathrobes .. honestly literally everything you could need or want was at the cottage, my only regret was we didn’t stay long enough and that you are fully booked for the summer holidays .. thankyou so much ... Sue

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elliemeg
warks
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic long weekend to celebrate daughters 18th”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here at the wkend , 9 of us 3 birthdays including my daughters 18th on sat , we had a wonderful time , beautiful views , great hot tub and sauna, everything you can think of is included , loads of towels , dressing gowns for hot tub , kitchen very well equipped with even a steamer, loads of pans , crockery etc , outside warm laundry room with toilet , Jer was very nice and helpful , he left us a big box of food and small gifts and cards for the 3 birthdays , highly recommend this house for a quiet getaway , bridgwater about 1 1/2 away , nothing was too much trouble for Jer . Back and front gardens fenced in ideal for a dog, surrounding fields for walks , we were lucky we had really lovely weather , we were amazed that we didn’t need heating on ,house is very warm and extremely well insulated , end of Oct didn’t need heating and had doors and windows open , we were all impressed and noticed how cold our houses are when we got home yesterday. House was a good size , big lounge with log fire, decent size kitchen fully equipped with large table ,2 double bedrooms 1 with ensuite , bathroom off hallway, small thin staircase up to 2 single bedrooms , all rooms have tv. Our family group was ages 3 to 79 and everyone loved it , my 2 young grand kids wanted to live there they loved it so much . WiFi was fine , big car park , can’t think of anything that needs improvement, all 9 of us would return and recommend, thx for a great stay Jer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma R
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect week”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Absolutely fantastic stay. 9 of us and the dog visited for a week and were very happy with our stay. Jer was very warm and welcoming and we arrived to some lovely little goodies. The place was well equipped and cosy. The hot tub and sauna really made our stay, particularly at night when it's quiet! Beautiful views on the decking and from the bedrooms. A big thank you to Jer & Mer for a wonderful week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda f
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a fantastic stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house was lovely, very clean and well equipped. The hot tub was great and we thoroughly enjoyed it and purple bathrobes were supplied for each person. The log fire was easy to light and so cosy. We all had a go in the sauna which was fun. Jeremy was a great host and showed us how to use everything. A lovely hamper was supplied on the first day with all the essentials for a first breakfast. We stayed for my Dad's 80th birthday and he loved it. The views over the reservoir was superb and we could find no faults with the lovely weekend we had. Thanks very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
193Mugs
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful find and the best holiday let to date .....”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived Friday 15th April, cottage very easy to find and Jer was kindly waiting for us. A hearty welcome and a very generous welcome hamper which was gratefully received after a 5 hour journey with two dogs. In fact, as we took two dogs, Jer had even included a box of gravy bones in the hamper - a lovely touch.

Views across the resevoir were stunning, hot tub was fabulous and the gardens were all completely enclosed so we didn't have to worry about the dogs at all. We were in fact the only people in the lane which was lovely too. We had plenty of room (party of 5 plus dogs). Kitchen had everything required and more (even plastic glasses for use in the hot tub or picnics). I would recommend this place and will definitely be booking again soon. I did read a recent review and took a couple of carving knives and chopping boards but that is nothing. I asked Jer if there was a slow cooker (which there was) but he had replaced it with a brand new one for our visit. If only all owners could be like that. Thank you again to Jer and Mer (although didn't meet Mer), see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lounge sofa beds as seats
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Jer & Mer's Place. The welcome you received sounds fabulous, how thoughtful to include your dogs in the arrival treats too! We will certainly pass your compliments along to the owners. We are so pleased that you had everything you could need to hand there, as well as that hot tub which sounds like such a treat! We certainly hope you return very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris D
Port Sunlight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely New Year Stay”
Reviewed January 24, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place was fantastic. Jer and Mer gave us a warm welcome upon arrival and showed us around the place. There was a fantastic welcome basket with lots of fresh local produce. The house is a good size for a group; we had some lovely meals around the kitchen table and some lovely evenings around the log burner.

The house was easy to find and the location is pretty good too (not far from the big supermarkets in the car and there are a few pubs a short walk away). The kitchen has lots of pots and pans although we could only find one tiny chopping board and not many kitchen knives (this made large meal preparation quite difficult).

There were lots of board games and a selection of dvd's and books to keep us occupied as well as a docking station to play music through.

Overall my friends and I had a great time at this house. With the weather being terrible the log burner in the front room was utilised pretty much non-stop! I can imagine this place would be fantastic in the summer when you can make proper use of the hot tub.

Thanks very much Jer and Mer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, house, log burner, welcome pack!
Liked least: Lack of good knives or chopping boards in the kitchen
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carly g
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely home from home”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A really enjoyable holiday, the personal touches in Jer&Mer's place were fantastic made settling in very easy. Provided a very good base to explore somerset and for the relaxing days the hot tub was fab even on the rainy days! Plenty of space for my 22month old and 7 year old to play which could also easily accommodate, larger groups of family and friends of all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing